We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening”
Review of Grapes Wine Bar

Grapes Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 158 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$33
Cuisines: Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Description: Savoury charcuterie, fine cheeses and award-winning wines are showcased nightly at the cozy Grapes Wine Bar. Sample from a tempting menu of tasty gourmet favourites made in-house, including cured meats and pates, candied salmon, freshly baked breads and delicious pickled vegetables. This historic, charming room was originally established in 1926 as a writing room and a place for people to gather their thoughts, share experiences and converse with family and friends. Enjoy the entertaining, interactive atmosphere of Grapes Wine Bar, a dining experience like no other.
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Been there for dinner. The place is very small wine and deli bar inside Banff Springs Hotel. To reach the bar go to the main entrance and ask for directions. The menu includes a selection of smoked meat, cheese and fish with a very wide wine list. The service was attentive, the food and the wine were very good and the prices were high. Reservations essential.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nasuella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Grapes Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018

Very small restaurant in the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. As with all their restaurants reservations are highly recommended. Small intimate area with great service. My husband was very skeptical of this type of meal, but was very pleasantly surprised in how much he enjoyed it. We had the Chef Medley with a bread basket. It was superb! Highly recommend Grapes.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 363lauried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Grapes Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We were thrilled to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Banff.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We enjoyed an early dinner of well presented cheeses, meats, pate, and olives with several different wines by the glass. Very pleasant servers. Actually found the prices reasonable for high season.
In a grand, very large hotel, it was fun to find a small cozy place with personalized service.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NSBbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Grapes Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

It sounds as though you had quite the memorable visit! We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our cozy little corner.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We really loved this little place tucked inside the Fairmont. It was charming-we ordered the chef’s selection, bread basket and pickled vegetables. Very good! It’s not cheap though-especially when we had to add $40 for valet parking to eat there. Maybe they don’t really want non registered guests to come here? Be prepared if you’re not staying at the property.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mamat122963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Grapes Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It was wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your meal and our charming environment. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We loved the attentive service, great wine selection and fun menu. This was our date night and we could not have asked for a better experience. The two young servers were quite knowledgable (one chap from the UK) who brought this experience from the vineyard to the table! We will return and recommend!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BIGtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Grapes Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. Our team was so happy to hear your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grapes Wine Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grapes Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing