We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Spaetzle and Pork”

Waldhaus Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 158 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Reviewed 1 October 2018

You'll find the Waldhaus Restaurant in a separate out-building on the grounds of the Banff Springs Hotel. You need to find your way to the lowest 10th level of the Gatehouse, go out the backdoor, and then locate the long multileveled stairway that takes you down to the restaurant elevation. I strongly recommend that you take advantage of the free shuttle service that will take you back to the main entrance of the hotel instead of hiking back up all those stairs.

The Waldhaus building is the former clubhouse for the golf course and it is showing its age. The carpet on the stairway leading from the restaurant down to the lower pub is filthy and worn. And frankly, the pub itself is no great shakes. The Waldhaus dining room is decorated like a hunting lodge with animal trophies on display.

Fortunately, the food can be good and hearty. We started with a three colored beet salad including red, yellow, and red/white bullseye Chioggia beet. Very nice.

My sweetheart ordered an double cut roasted pork chop, topped with an apricot chutney, and accompanied by mixed veggies. This turned out to be an enormous 16 oz slab of perfectly cooked and seasoned pork. She also ordered a side of classic german spaetzle which was delicious.

My 1/2 roasted chicken was perfectly cooked with crispy skin and served with roasted vegetables.

Waldhaus has a very nice wine list including German, Californian, and local wines. They also stock imported German beers.

Since this is a German/Swiss inspired restaurant, you'll also find that a big pot of bubbling fondue is a popular choice at many tables.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It was wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit. Our culinary team always loves to hear such encouraging feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Banff.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018

The Fairmont is truly spectacular, its' Waldhaus Restaurant not so much. My mouth had been watering for the classic schnitzel. What I got was a dried out slab that more resembled a roof shingle. Very little attention from our server who had to be summoned if we wanted (or needed) something.
I make schnitzel at home that is a lot better.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment with the schnitzel. I have shared your comments with our culinary team as they are always looking for ways to improve. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Banff.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This was my second time visiting Waldhaus and it did not disappoint. I visited 2 years ago and decided to have my family welcome wedding party here for my this September because of how memorable it was! The staff is incredibly attentive and the food is top notch! FYI Fairmont offers a shuttle bus from the hotel to the restaurant!

Thank nicole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We were thrilled to welcome you back. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your second visit as much as the first. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was included as an option in our Scenic Tours (Aust travel company) Canadian/Alaskan tour, we selected it because I loved the quaintness of decor. We took the stairs down from the Fairmont but the courtesy car back up the hill after dinner. Great location to have a drink while overlooking the golf course. The pub has a great atmosphere. Restaurant wait staff were a bit ‘unhelpful’ and borderline rude when we first arrived but we were on the holiday of a lifetime so no cranky old waiter was going to ruin our night. We ordered the cheese fondue which was very disappointing, however the boar entree and the Black Forest dessert were absolutely fabulous. Others in our dining party ordered the pork and it was spectacular.

Thank TDK_Coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We love welcome Scenic guests! It was wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the Boar and the Black Forest cake. I am sorry to hear about the service you encountered, I have shared your comments with our team to follow up. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time exploring the Canadian Rockies.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

If you are looking for an upscale place to have dinner while in Banff, this is the spot. Located at Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel - just a short walk from the hotel. Charming German atmosphere that includes German favorites along with other options. Great service and just a nice dinner overall.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KBTGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. It was wonderful to hear that you were able to join us during your recent visit to Banff.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing