We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, central location”
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
High Country Inn
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A short walk from the centre of Banff this rather beige hotel has good parking, a reportedly excellent albeit slightly expensive family run restaurant and a pool to keep the kids occupied. I think this hotel could do with a little bit of TLC. The entrance is quite drab and the staff seem to lack somewhat in the art of customer service. I would avoid using the lift which became stuck between floors several times during our stay. The pool area is okay but slippery and the water was freezing, far too cold for the children needless to say we didn't spend much time there.
We booked an executive suite (2 bedroom and living area) and a jacuzzi suite. Rather beige and dull in colour but the room facilities were very good and I would advise booking a suite rather than a standard room. The bathrooms are relatively modern however, they use shower curtains rather than having a fixed screen. Not very hygienic as shower curtains harbour bacteria. There is also a laundry area in the garage, essential when you have children!
Overall the hotel is average, correct some of the points above and it would be a good hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite for good facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cocostravelsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

1-The price posted at the web changed immediately after booking
2-I suffered an accident on the bathroom when trying to leave the shower/jacuzzi because there was no bar to help controlling the difference in elevation between the bottom of the retrofitted jacuzzi and the room. Result 2 cuts on my face and 43 stitches....

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jose Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Booked two rooms -- prepaid -- called right away to ask for either adjoining rooms or rooms nearby one another (thus the reason for booking two rooms). Reservation was made about a month before we arrived.

Showed up for the long weekend (Thanksgiving) and rooms were on opposite sides of the hotel -- too late to change as all other rooms were full. The guy at the front desk had no empathetic response and could care less about the situation.

Rooms were finely appointed, nothing special, but clean and recently cosmetically updated. Limited availability underground parking was a plus and convenient.

Took the kids swimming. Pool was ICE cold. I grew up in Alberta, and I wouldn't even think about getting in that water. Kids, of course, went right in. Told the guy at the front desk that the pool was very cold. Again, no empathy and didn't seem to even care or offer an apology.

Won't stay again. Would rather find a place with a staff that cares when you spend $700 for a night for two rooms ... couldn't visit with our friends as the rooms were not close enough to one another for us to have kids sleeping in the room next door, etc. with out monitor. So, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Old building that has been renovated. You will hear quite a bit of hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

A very conventional modern hotel, but none the worse for that. Clean and comfortable with all the necessary provided. Try to avoid room 146 or nearby as they are on the route to the restaurant and thus a little noisy until fairly late at night ( not enough to complain about though).
Very well situated and parking is provided on site.
Sadly, did not have time to use the pool.
We were a bit surprised to be asked to not only pay in advance for our 2 night stay but also to pay $150 per night on account of sundries , which would be refunded to our card if not required.
The hotel were very helpful about arranging a taxi for us early on the morning of our departure.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor en-route to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Spent a night here recently and enjoyed the experience. Room was a good size, bed was clean and comfortable.
The pool was a good size and temperature and the two hot tubs meant plenty of room for people to relax and chat.
The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the center pf town and the shops, restaurants and pubs so getting around is easy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BritInCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,463 reviews
0.7 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.2 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: €71 - €249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing