We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice inn”
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Country Inn
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

A good location in Banff, away from the busyness but close enough to walk the town. The rooms were very neat & clean, even had a small balcony to relax on. The staff was friendly & helpful. There is an elevator & fresh beverages in the lobby

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank snorkel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

When we checked in we received a cool reception from the girl behind the counter. Didn't know anything; pointed to the rack of brochures about tours, etc. and said we could help ourselves or go to the visitor center if we wanted information. The room was horribly hot; the air conditioning not working. Although there were two people at the font desk neither offered to come to the room and look to make sure unit was set properly. Asked for a fan; they didn't have any. So miserably hot we kept windows open and noise from street kept us up past 2 am. Took a shower; water did not drain. Maintenance came; air conditioner was not set properly. Cleaned gunk out of drain and left bathtub dirty. When we checked out the man at front desk said he was ready for us to leave; they had new people checking in. Facility is in need of maintenance; everything worn; people who work there don't understand about customer service. Exception: the girls who clean the rooms do a good job and came to check to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.

Room Tip: If there are no other hotels available stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I stayed at the High Country Inn with 3 friends for 2 nights. We had a nice quiet room with two queen beds and a balcony over looking the main strip. It was nice to have the sink and mirror separate from the locked shower/tub and toilet. Complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby with quiet comfortable sitting area, All and all a nice comfortable stay with no frills.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim_TimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We shared a suite with our adult kids. The view was nice from the bedroom and living/bedroom area. I enjoyed the decor of fireplace and black iron animal fixtures.
A small frig and microwave and sink area was nice. There was only one bath but the kids got the room with the Jacuzzi tub. Most people walk to downtown from here to shop and dine. Parking was underground but not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gert43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We had a nice room with a comfortable king bed.
We chose the hotel for proximity to restaurants (all within walking distance). They put double doors on the balcony which definitely helped with the street noise.
Unfortunately our room was next the wooden stair case. Guests roll their suitcases down it at all hours, so not much sleep in this room. Definitely ask for a room away from the stairs, it is worse than being by the elevator.
Nice staff!
Did not eat here, but did have a drink in the bar and the bartender was awesome.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tcinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael U, Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you Kindly Tcinaz for reviewing the High Country Inn here in beautiful Banff! We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms, location and the concerns you had with hallway noise. It's always our main goal to have our guests leave happy and it sounds as though we accomplished this during your stay? Next time you stay with us simply mention that you would like a room placed away from the middle staircase and we can assign your room at the time of booking.

Kindest Regards,

Jordan Irwin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,451 reviews
0.7 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.2 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: €71 - €248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing