We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Ramen For The Right Reasons”
Review of Chaya Restaurant

Chaya Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 158 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Chaya is a delicious and refreshing change from the sea of burgers, pasta and steak dinners.

I got the Miso Ramen with extra BBQ pork, while my boyfriend got the Beef Soba noodles and we shared a pot of green tea. After tax and tips, it ended up around $38CAD but we thought it was worth the price. The noodles were more than filling and the broths were deep and flavourful, which was perfect for the unexpectedly windy, cold day! But, I found the BBQ pork to be dry and flavorless compared to other ramen shops.

Be sure to make a reservation beforehand! There's limited seating and it can easily be a 45min wait if you don't call ahead. We got a table as a walk in but that was a stroke of luck from a no-show!

Would definitely recommend, especially if you're looking for a change of taste in Banff.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Hiu-Laam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017

Small eatery that packs a punch! Great food that scores high on authenticity and value. Efficient and friendly staff too!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kaira428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Went to Chaya when we found no tables available where we had initially wanted to go -- pleasantly surprised -- great food - but don't go for the ambiance.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gkach53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Very quick service! The food was absolutely amazing! Both my husband and I enjoyed every last bite! The BBQ Pork Ramen flavors were perfect! And the #23 Tofu meal for vegans was great too!!!! Finish off with the red bean Mochi balls.. highly recommend!!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank GreenEmbrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Quick, yummy and cheap.
We always eat here when we're in Banff.
Hubby loves the won ton ramen soup.
Place is very small and always full. Located right on the avenue.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Gorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaya Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Chaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing