We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is why country pubs thrive.”
Review of The White Lion

The White Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Under NEW management... Cosy village Pub in picturesque village of Great Longstone in the Peak District! Child & Dog friendly, we have an enclosed beer garden at the back and there is a children's park situated at the top of the car park! We offer a great selection of drinks including Robinsons Draught bitter and guest IPA's. We also have an expanding list of Gin's and a cocktail menu! We have a delicious food menu that offers something for everyone, and weekly changing specials! We understand that someone people don't want to dine out yet so we also offer our menu for takeaway too!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an early evening meal here, we were seated at our socially distanced table and served by various members of staff, all of whom were polite, efficient and charming. I would love to live near to a pub like this. It was so relaxing. Everybody was friendly. The food was excellent, we thought that it was most enjoyable, partially because it didn't seem to be standard pub fare. If we had stayed in the village longer then we would have returned.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Yet another amazing lunch at this wonderful pub. Following a lovely Sunday lunch a few weeks ago today was a Saturday lunchtime visit. The team are friendly and professional. The menu was varied. The food was truly amazing - consistently excellent here!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HeafR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

Visited this pub for drinks and meals over 3 days. There is a small but very nice outside area with ample coverings when sunny. We dined inside on Saturday evening at 6.30 and all of us had different meals. There was a good choice of food and vegetarian options inc fresh pizzas to eat in or takeaway. The meals were all very good and well presented. We returned the following day for Sunday dinner and the roasts were exceptional. The service was very good and attentive and everyone made us feel very welcome. Will definately return again in the future and would highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

Such a contrast from the Stable Bar welcomed in served delicious food treated with respect and relaxed in a perfect environment.
Cannot fault in any way apart from a fly landing on out table whilst we were eating in the garden!!! Definitely recommend if you're in the area, make a special journey if you're not.
P.s best steak sandwich in the Peak District.

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank Eddieandmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

Lovely pub and definitely the best food we have had during our short stay in the area. Beef shin pie was amazing. Service was a little slow but that was down to reduced staff numbers to stay covid safe but it was worth the wait.

Highly recommended and we would definitely return if back in the area.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Stellafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Lion also viewed

Little Longstone, Derbyshire
Great Longstone, Derbyshire
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Monyash, Derbyshire
 

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.