We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cosy Cottages, Friendly Owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Coach House

Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
The Coach House - converted barn on working peak district farm All this over your garden wall!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
The Coach House - converted barn on working peak district farm
All this over your garden wall!
Lounge with patio doors enjoys views of farm and Wetton Hill
Cuddles at lambing time.
Lambing Live from mid March to May - book your stay now
The Coach House nestles at the foot of Wetton Hill on our farmstead in the beautiful Peak District
Lambing time at Gateham Grange
Coach House - Spacious well equipped kitchen/diner
Private garden has lovely views down the valley
Pretty Double Bedroom with vanity unit
Lisa and Declan the Bull
Spacious family bedroom with antique furnishings
New arrivals!
During your stay challenge yourself to climb to the top of  Wetton Hill
Nearby Thor's Cave
View from inside Thor's Cave
Alton Towers, the country's top attraction if less that half an hours drive away
One frosty morning at Gateham Grange
Entrance to Gateham Grange, Alstonefield
Nearby Dovedale
All free range!
Carsington Water just a short drive away
A helping hand
View of our farmstead from the top of Wetton Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JamesDCol...
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cosy Cottages, Friendly Owners”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Location is unbeatable - gorgeous scenery and numerous walks from the front doors. The land backs on to the imposing Wetton Hill which dominates much of the view from the outside. Both Gateham Cottage and the Coach House are lovely places to stay, cosy and comfortable. It is perfect for people looking for a delightful rural escape. The wifi is limited in most places other than the cottage's front room/ bedroom, and phone reception is sporadic and pretty much non-existent at the Coach House. But this just adds to the sense of escape and seclusion. There is land backing onto the properties which is great for a ramble and view over the valley, and our children loved exploring and clambering, even in the gale force winds that buffeted us over Christmas!

Alstonefield and Wetton are short walks (c. 1 mile) away, with great pubs at both (the George at Alstonefield is more 'gastro' with prices to match; the Royal Oak at Wetton is more down to earth and affordable. Both are great places for a cosy drink though). Further away is Hartington which is a delightful village with a wonderful store and a couple of great pubs.

Teresa the owner was extremely helpful and friendly and really made us feel welcome and her son Sam was excellent: he introduced us to the bulls and calves, talked us through the farm and took our 7 year old (also Sam) on tour of the farm and to help out with getting the sheep in, feeding the animals and various other things. Really lovely people who made a Christmas break even more magical.

Highly recommended, and we would love to return some time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip66...
1 review
“A most enjoyable holiday for the three generations of our family.”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I traveled with our daughter and two young granddaughters. There was something to suit all of us. The adults enjoyed the great comfort and facilities of the Coach House and the beauty of the surroundings, whilst the two children threw themselves enthusiastically into the life on the farm.
Our hosts could not have been kinder or more welcoming.
We were all sorry to leave (our eldest granddaughter cried) and we have already had a return visit.
We will go again and would certainly recommend the premises to people of all ages seeking a truly relaxing break.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for this great review. We enjoyed the company of all of your family. We are pleased we met everyones' needs for an enjoyable and relaxing break and look forward to seeing you all again at lambing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigailwa...
1 review
“A true escape to the country retreat”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a thoroughly relaxing holiday. The cottage was much larger than expected from the pictures and suited both adults and the children alike. The owners were fantastic and the children were able to hold chicks and stroke a new-born calf in the barn. Walks straight from the door were a perfect way to see the countryside and there were fantastic panoramic views from the top of the hill accessed through the cow field. The beautiful village of Hartington provided excellent farm shops and country stores or for a bigger shop, Ashborne was only a short drive away. The best part of all was the peace and tranquility of our surroundings. We could enjoy a glass of wine in the garden above the house and watch the sun set. There is so much to do in the surrounding area with Thor's cave (recommended by our hosts) being an absolute must-see. This is a cottage from which you can explore the best of DerbYshire and Staffordshire or simply enjoy relaxing on the peaceful, idealistic working farm. We will definitely be returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ideal place to stay and get away from the hustle and bustle.”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Coach House at Gateham Grange, Alstonefield is such a lovely place to stay. As two married couples, and pensioners, we can be a little picky about where we stay, as we know what we expect to find. No problems here - our expectations were definitely exceeded.

The welcome we received was unexpected. Six fresh bantam eggs as well as fresh flowers were there on the dining table. Everything we needed, and more, was available in the kitchen, so we were very optimistic as we explored the rest of the cottage. No disappointments there either.

Everything was just as described on the website. The reception from the Flower family could not have been better. All three were prepared to chat about their farm and this made a big difference to us. We felt welcome and not an inconvenience on their working farm. Even their bull was so docile we thought it was actually a pet. Life on the farm appeared to be like a silent movie as work was taking place. We could see it all but there was so little noise we could relax in a quiet atmosphere.

As a base to explore from it is ideally situated, and we had no problem driving to the towns and attractions in the Peak District. The weather was also very kind to us. Even when using the washing machine and iron during the week we were surprised just how little it cost for electricity.

When can we visit again? It will certainly be on our wish list for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly family and the experience of being on a working farm.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra b
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful weekend in the country!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a lovely weekend break here. The cottage is really spacious and tidy but also homely and welcoming. It has a garden with fantastic views, even with the bad weather it was lovely to watch the rain rolling in over the hills. The working farm adds a great bit of interest and we got to see some newborn calves, stroke some lambs and even pat a bull! All thanks to the really friendly and welcoming owners. Would definitely recommend this cottage as a place to stay and was sad to leave.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review Sandra
It was a pleasure having you to stay and we are pleased you enjoyed it
Hope you come again sometime
Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing