We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Speechless!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hermitage

  Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
  Living room
Kitchen Main bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Living room
Kitchen
Main bathroom
Top floor bedroom - super king or twin singles
Top floor bedroom - super king or twin singles
Top floor bedroom
Bathroom detail
First floor landing
Back bedroom en-suite shower
Back bedroom
First floor toilet
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Path to private garden
View from garden towards Dovedale
First floor library and study area
Living room; lovely and cosy in the winter
Kitchen
Dining area
Kitchen detail
The original Poor House; now four delightful cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Destinati...
1 review
“Speechless!”
Reviewed 30 September 2020 for a stay in September 2020

This stunning property is the best we have stayed in when holidaying in the UK. It has been furnished and finished to an extremely high standard and has literally everything you could need from each room being luxuriously comfortable down to the abundance of utensils in the kitchen! It has absolutely oodles of character with all the elements of modern technology. The sun was out when we arrived, the entry instructions simple. The secret garden is a delight and although we had no children with us I would imagine it would be fantastic for families! So much space!! Correspondence with Martin was pleasant, prompt, uncomplicated and unobtrusive. Thank you Martin and Jacky your place is a dream.

Date of stay: September 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Oct 2020
Speechless indeed; your review is so full of compliments I don't now how to respond.
I shall simply say "thank you" and we are, of course, delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Martin and Jacky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_R_112...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect week away in the beautiful Peak District”
Reviewed 20 September 2020 for a stay in September 2020

We had a great week-long stay at The Heritage. It is an incredibly comfortable and spacious cottage with everything we needed for our holiday; lovely fluffy towels, well equipped kitchen, plenty of space and super comfy beds. The village of Alstonefield is very pretty and there were some excellent walks straight from the cottage. We were very lucky with the weather and made good use of the garden - so beautiful and so quiet! We loved it all.

Date of stay: September 2020
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Sep 2020
Thank you very much for your kind review. My wife will be delighted you liked the "lovely fluffy towels" as I think she spends far too much money on these ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape686...
1 review
“OUR GETAWAY IN THE PEAK DISTRICT”
Reviewed 11 September 2020 for a stay in September 2020

We needed a break in a cottage that has the kind of conducive atmosphere we want and The Hermitage offered this in spades. Having enjoyed living in an old French Manor House for some years we naturally hone in on similar surroundings. The cottage is well appointed, has modern facilities yet keeps its traditional charms. It is comfortable and welcoming. Its location - the village of Alstonefield is a gem. Peaceful and friendly. It's in such villages we can still find what's best about England.

Date of stay: September 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Sep 2020
Thank you for your positive review. Whilst I feel that being "similar" to a French Manor House is a little overwhelming, I do accept that our home is full of traditional charm and character. I also agree that the village of Alstonefield is one of those rare things, chocolate box beauty yet wonderfully friendly. We would be delighted to welcome you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser08...
Peak District, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing and Spectacular.”
Reviewed 31 August 2020 for a stay in August 2020

We booked this stay for myself my 2 children and my parents. The views as we were driving to the cottage were absolutely breathtaking and felt very surreal. When we arrived at the cottage, again we were taken back by it's beauty and character. My 2 children were also amazed and couldn't wait to explore. In the kitchen there was a selection of lovely biscuits and cookies and teabags and milk (which is just what we needed after the long drive). We explored the surrounding villages which were stunning and managed to do some exciting activities even in the rain. We can't wait to book again for next year.

Date of stay: August 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Sep 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review. From whichever direction you drive to Alstonefield, the views are terrific. I often drive up directly from work and can really feel all stresses and cares falling away.
We are so fortunate ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim_Tye_1...
1 review
“A lovely cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2020 for a stay in August 2020

We recently stayed in The Hermitage using it as a base to explore this corner of the peak district.

The cottage itself was a lovely little gem, packed with period features and a cellar that fascinated our 2 daughters (who had never seen a cellar before).

The owners were very helpful both before our holiday, and afterwards when they promptly sent back one of our belongings that we'd forgotten to pack.
They had given us a heads-up about the uneven stone stairs - I'm happy to say the girls avoided any accidents on them.

The secret garden was a joy; when the rain stopped, we had a few games of Tag with our 5 year old while our 14 month old pottered around exploring everything.

Everything we needed for the week was readily available. We did move the travel cot to one of the first floor bedrooms, mainly as our 14 month old has started climbing and we wanted to keep her away from any stairs if she managed to climb out of it.

All in all, it was a lovely place to stay, and I would recommend it to anyone else looking to stay in this area.

Date of stay: August 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Sep 2020
Thank you so much for the review; we are delighted that you all enjoyed our home so much and your girls had fun in the garden - it truly is a delightful, secluded place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.