We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast(Pubnico)(Great Value!)
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Red Cap Restaurant & Motel(Middle West Pubnico)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$149
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Voyageur Motel(Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$238
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rancho Motel(Yarmouth)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape View Motel and Cottages(Mavillette)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
63
7
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
7
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowners and stafflobsternova scotiaspent nights herewonderful treatsoft sheetsbeautiful spothamlots of hot waterroom was clean and comfortablefrench toastfresh fruitye olde argylerbayfogjohnporch
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We've stayed at the Argyler several times, and it never disappoints. Our room had water views and because it was located on the corner of the building, we had two windows with a lovely cross-breeze. The bed was super-comfortable, and there were lots of pillows and extra bedding if required. The bathroom was well-equipped with lots of hot water.

As noted in previous reviews, the food was excellent. The regular dinner menu does provide many casual choices to suit travellers and locals alike. The special daily menu features creative dishes using fresh local ingredients grown in the Lodge's own garden, as well as fresh seafood purchased from local fishers.

We would recommend the Argyler as a stopping off point before or after catching the Cat ferry, or for a peaceful get-away for those who live within driving distance.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The Argyler Lodge is a little off the beaten track and that's its appeal. You can sit on the deck and watch the boat traffic, see the sun set, pet the lodge cat, sit by the log fire as it cools down and generally feel at ease with the world. Our room was water facing and if on the small side, was perfectly suitable. Wifi and TV was fine. The food is generally very good. Breakfasts were tasty and the coffee hot. We ate dinner twice, and though some of the menu (burgers) caters to ordinary tastes, there are some great special dishes too. They are more expensive, but it is good food. The owners and staff are kind and casual - it's a lodge not a hotel - and we liked that, we felt very much at home for our three nights. There are some walks nearby, but you'd need to get in the car and drive for a beach or shoreline. Overall, it was a stay to remember.

There are some quirks - I suppose that's the word. As other reviewers note, there's no social space except the outside deck and I do feel that if they adjusted the internal fittings only a little they could create a comfortable little bar-nook that would offer somewhere to drink before a meal or just chill out. That might lose some tables, but I think it would be worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The pictures of the outside of the lodge and the location of this lodge are as described. We were disappointed with our reception. We had to check in at the restaurant, where the waitress had to search for someone who knew how to check us in. We were not given any information about the lodge or a tour. For a place that advertises itself as 'luxury', we found it lacking in basic amenities. For instance, there was no lounge to relax in, if you didn't want to stay in your room. Also, while it is true that lodge is on the coast, the beach did not invite us to swim there, being rocky and seaweed covered. The restaurant was not like its pictures, as there were no linens on the table. Perhaps their website needs updating? This was more expensive than any other B&B on our trip, but offered so much less, by way of making us feel welcomed and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank scadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We were taking the 8:30 am ferry from Yarmouth and wanted to stay in a town CLOSE to Yarmouth that would give us another feel for the area instead of staying in Yarmouth. Argyle is a remote town that is a 20 minute drive to Yarmouth. It is perfect for those who are heading from the north on the eastern shore who want to hang their hat for a night, get a GREAT meal and head to ferry the next morning. The staff welcomed us immediately, got us a drink so we could sit on back deck overlooking the water..... and let us know there was plenty of room in dining for us to eat when/if we became hungry. Dinner was amazing (am going to review that under YE OLD ARGYLER LODGE RESTAURANT).... rooms were very clean.....and beds very comfortable. The back of the lodge is on the water and there are plenty of Adirondack chairs to sit and red, have a drink or just stare at nature. There is also a firepit but it was not lit while we were there.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Kikaleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The location was beautiful and our room was very clean and comfortable. The food was also great. I have two very minor beefs though. First, when we arrived we were greeted by a charming young lady who had absolutely no idea how to check us in and this lack of training seemed to be theme for the rest of our stay. Second, there is a breathtaking view of the water from the covered porch but no comfortable chairs to sit in, only three or four very uncomfortable wooden rocking chairs. An investment in some decent outdoor chairs would have made this a more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews