We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true escape”
Review of Argyler Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyler Lodge
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I stayed here with my partner for three nights and it was the perfect place to escape from the hustle bustle of everyday life. There is no better place to sit with a cold beer or glass of chilled wine and watch the sunset, than the decking of this Lodge. It overlooks the shore of Lobster Bay and it is hard to think how anyone could tire of such a view. We saw three fabulous sunsets while we were there. It's not hard to see why people choose to hold their weddings at the Argyler with such a wonderful backdrop. It was just as dramatic and spectacular to watch the mist roll inshore and out again in the morning. Set off the main road down a dirt track the Lodge is surrounded by garden on three sides and the shore on the other and it feels a world away from daily life. It is a place to truly relax and unwind. Alana and Jon, the owners, make all their guests feel very welcome in a casual and unobtrusive way and the food Jon cooks is plentiful and hearty! I especially enjoyed the swordfish steak he cooked for me on our first night there and his lovely orchard salad was full of fresh ingredients. His breakfasts - my personal favourite was his French Toast - are amazing and certainly set us up for the day. The couple make it a really personal experience - we felt right at home there. Our room, the Leeward cabin on the Lodge website, was lovely. A really comfortable bed and a welcoming sea breeze from the ocean-facing window made sure we got a great night's sleep. Everything was spotlessly clean and the lovely soft bath towels were most welcome indeed. Jon's parents help out at the Lodge and were on hand to offer advice on places to visit. In fact the Lodge proved an excellent base for exploring the area. It was our first time in this part of Nova Scotia and we will be back! Our only criticism was that it was a pity there was no lounge area as well as the restaurant as once the sun went down it got quite cool on the deck. It would have been nice to be able to sit inside in some comfy chairs or a sofa enjoying a drink or two before retiring to bed. That's a minor issue and would not stop us going back again (and again) to this lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the shore are quiet and benefit from cooling sea breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2016

We've stayed at the Argyler several times, and it never disappoints. Our room had water views and because it was located on the corner of the building, we had two windows with a lovely cross-breeze. The bed was super-comfortable, and there were lots of pillows and extra bedding if required. The bathroom was well-equipped with lots of hot water.

As noted in previous reviews, the food was excellent. The regular dinner menu does provide many casual choices to suit travellers and locals alike. The special daily menu features creative dishes using fresh local ingredients grown in the Lodge's own garden, as well as fresh seafood purchased from local fishers.

We would recommend the Argyler as a stopping off point before or after catching the Cat ferry, or for a peaceful get-away for those who live within driving distance.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The Argyler Lodge is a little off the beaten track and that's its appeal. You can sit on the deck and watch the boat traffic, see the sun set, pet the lodge cat, sit by the log fire as it cools down and generally feel at ease with the world. Our room was water facing and if on the small side, was perfectly suitable. Wifi and TV was fine. The food is generally very good. Breakfasts were tasty and the coffee hot. We ate dinner twice, and though some of the menu (burgers) caters to ordinary tastes, there are some great special dishes too. They are more expensive, but it is good food. The owners and staff are kind and casual - it's a lodge not a hotel - and we liked that, we felt very much at home for our three nights. There are some walks nearby, but you'd need to get in the car and drive for a beach or shoreline. Overall, it was a stay to remember.

There are some quirks - I suppose that's the word. As other reviewers note, there's no social space except the outside deck and I do feel that if they adjusted the internal fittings only a little they could create a comfortable little bar-nook that would offer somewhere to drink before a meal or just chill out. That might lose some tables, but I think it would be worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The pictures of the outside of the lodge and the location of this lodge are as described. We were disappointed with our reception. We had to check in at the restaurant, where the waitress had to search for someone who knew how to check us in. We were not given any information about the lodge or a tour. For a place that advertises itself as 'luxury', we found it lacking in basic amenities. For instance, there was no lounge to relax in, if you didn't want to stay in your room. Also, while it is true that lodge is on the coast, the beach did not invite us to swim there, being rocky and seaweed covered. The restaurant was not like its pictures, as there were no linens on the table. Perhaps their website needs updating? This was more expensive than any other B&B on our trip, but offered so much less, by way of making us feel welcomed and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank scadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We were taking the 8:30 am ferry from Yarmouth and wanted to stay in a town CLOSE to Yarmouth that would give us another feel for the area instead of staying in Yarmouth. Argyle is a remote town that is a 20 minute drive to Yarmouth. It is perfect for those who are heading from the north on the eastern shore who want to hang their hat for a night, get a GREAT meal and head to ferry the next morning. The staff welcomed us immediately, got us a drink so we could sit on back deck overlooking the water..... and let us know there was plenty of room in dining for us to eat when/if we became hungry. Dinner was amazing (am going to review that under YE OLD ARGYLER LODGE RESTAURANT).... rooms were very clean.....and beds very comfortable. The back of the lodge is on the water and there are plenty of Adirondack chairs to sit and red, have a drink or just stare at nature. There is also a firepit but it was not lit while we were there.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Kikaleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Municipality of Argyle
25.2 km away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
25.4 km away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
24.2 km away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
The Lake House B&B
The Lake House B&B
#1 of 1 in Ste. Anne du Ruisseau
27 reviews
25.5 km away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
460 reviews
5.8 km away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyler Lodge

Address: 52 Ye Olde Argyle Rd | Yarmouth County, Nova Scotia B0W 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Argyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Municipality of Argyle
Price Range: €86 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyler Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Argyler Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing