We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,253)
Filter reviews
4,253 results
Traveller rating
2,215
1,329
412
167
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,215
1,329
412
167
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first club royal club la hacienda le buffet italian restaurant adult pool lounge bar smaller resort time share the general manager vacation club special thanks ocean view recommend this resort all inclusive resort great beach nightly entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 4,253 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We traveled to Puerto Vallarta for our 5 year anniversary. Our room was lovely and well kept. Cleaned in a timely manner. The beach and pool are amazing. The jet skis were really fun. Paid 700 $MX for half and hour. Julio Larios, the bartender took really good care of us and always made sure we were satisfied with our drinks and services. He definitely made our experience great by checking on us regularly to make sure we were doing well. Always had a smile on his face ready to greet us. Overall, the staff was very kind and we were treated very well! Highly recommended resort!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank angelalanhho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Angel,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel for such an important date as your 5th Anniversary, we are glad to hear that we exceed your expectations. We would like to thank you for pointing out the positive aspects that you found during your stay as our rooms, beach, pool and the friendliness of our Staff. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from Julio Larios, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to him.

Once more, we thank you for your recommendation to the travel community of TripAdvisor, we look forward to serving you again at this your home Occidental Nuevo Vallarta.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

TRIP RUINED!!!! Travelling with 4 twenty year olds not having wifi was a bust. And you can always argue that the point of being on vacation is to disconnect from the world. But kids like sharing moments as they are happening. When we booked they said we could tap into the free wifi in the lobby or bar area, and when we got there one of the staff was ready to give us a wifi code until the manager realized we were out of town and quickly stopped him. She told us that we would have to pay 70 USD for 3 days and one device. Another family from Michigan was told the same. SCAM! I paid close to 2k per person for the trip and wasn’t going to pay a single cent more. The grounds are nice. The beach is nice too. Food is the same every day. Not good at all. The specialty restaurants are not good. If I was ever to go back to PV I would stop in and say hi to Carlos Viera the bartender, and David Garcia. They are such an amazing human beings. They made the trip worth something. And the breakfast staff was kind. My daughter felt sick one day and they allowed me to take some food up to her. Normally they won’t let you do that, they want you to order room service which is at a crazy cost (50 USD)! Really stupid. This place tries to sell u on more as soon as u get there. I don’t think they understand the meaning of all inclusive. Johnny the games coordinator needs to learn some manners too. He was so rude to people signing out different games. PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY. DONT BOOK HERE. I always read reviews and convince myself that people are too critical. But seriously consider this feedback. I think you can find better deals out there with better resort managers to deal with.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Firebaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. We would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

On the other hand, we lament to read your comments regarding our food, mostly because your comments do not seem to match the usual feedback we receive. We would like to mention that our chef is always in the best disposition to listen your constructive critics and prepare something of your liking.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Most recent trip in August 2018 was exceptional. Cannot say enough about the superb service provided by all staff. But a few stood out; David, Roneta, Fernando and Daniela, Raul and Jocelyn in the First Club and everyone in the Royal Club. Royal Club is top notch and well worth the extra expense. The resort is very well maintained and kept immaculately clean. We were treated as VIP's including the Anniversary/Birthday cake in our room. Food was very good, especially enjoyed the Japanese and Italian cuisine. Royal Club Restaurant was also excellent! This was our third trip here, and for 2 weeks thought it might get old and tired, but the complete opposite we enjoyed every day and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: Royal Club Level is exceptional
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank phil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Phil,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for our "Royal Level" services. Thank you for your highlights on the aspects that were to your liking as our food, the cleanliness of our facilities and the friendliness of our Staff. We will not fail to pass your comments to those team members whom you have personally mentioned.

Once more, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again at this your home Occidental Nuevo Vallarta.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We received excellent service from all of the staff, but especially from Araceli, in the Restaurant Royal. I would highly recommend this hotel for a vacation. Everyone was very cheerful and accommodating to make sure our stay was a memorable experience.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Explorer812385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for making our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community of TripAdvisor, this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us; it would honor us immensely to have the privilege to host you again at this your home Occidental Nuevo Vallarta.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Unhappy!!! We asked for 1 bedroom and sofa bed . We got 1 bedroom with No privacy door and a stained uncomfortable couch. We asked to be moved and no effort was made. When booking asked for a 1 bedroom with a door for privacy.

Room Tip: Need better mattress
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank analira2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Ana,

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews