We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
54
23
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
23
8
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big portions great diving dive resort quiet place apo island yellow bus entrance road clean rooms swimming pool internet connection the owner spent days seafood nice pool great food crew equipment
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

It's not a five star dive resort but how they treat customers are top-notch, excellent service, food and fun dive crews to be with just a few miles away from Dumaguete city and front of APO island where best dive site located, I will definitely back for more dive with Wellbeach dive resort.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tiburci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Wellbeach is a great spot for exploring Apo Island. The owners are very knowledgeable and experienced divers. The staff is absolutely fantastic, amongst the best I have experienced. They are super helpful and attentive. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wuyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We booked upon a recommendation from a fellow diver friend. It was our first time to The Philippines so were not sure what to expect. We organised for the resort to send a taxi to the airport to pick us up. I read that it is a little bit more expensive than getting your own taxi, but I would much rather have peace of mind in knowing that we were not going to get scammed and that we would arrive safely. Our flight was delayed to Manila so we missed out connecting flight. I emailed from the airport to change the taxi pick-up time and to my relief, the owner responded quickly and rescheduled the taxi.

We arrived feeling tired but it was nice to have a swift and easy check-in and get freshened up, eat then rest. We booked our dive trip for the next day - after-all, that is what we came for. The rooms were cleaned every day and we had fresh towels. The resort was quiet and peaceful - we were able to get an afternoon nap on some days without any disturbance.

The staff were great. From the driver to the maid, all friendly and professional in every way. The food was awesome - big portions, great pizza as well as other dishes. We stayed about 10 days and never even thought of trying to go elsewhere to eat.

As for the diving, that was exceptional. We enjoyed every dive. We dived along the coast of Dumaguete as well as Apo island. We dived as much as we possibly could. The boat was fantastic. Well-equipped with very helpful crew. The guys helped us with our equipment and were always there when we came up after the dive, taking our fins, helping us out of the water...even bringing us coffee and tea! Excellent service.

We want to thank all of the team at Wellbeach for making our stay comfortable, memorable and perfect in every way. We hope we will be able to come back and visit soon. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view on the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DiveInPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellbeach, Manager at Wellbeach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you for your excellent review of our dive resort and especially our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

So promising, yet so dissapointing
Staff are VERY pushy to get you on the dive tours. They interrupted our dinner and we had to make up our minds immediately upon arrival if we wanted to go out with their boat on the next day.
They offer extra towels for the beach - but only their own beach. You can't bring it out of the resort.
All diving equipment is priced individually, however, we were refused to rent fins to take to Apo Island for snorkeling. My guess is it was only because we chose another boat than theirs. Their diving is VERY expensive!
The resort is very remote and it's a long ride to get to Dumaguete (45-60 min)
And lastly we booked a van to go very early to the airport, however, the van never showed up. It was 5 am in the morning, and no one there to help us,". The guard did nothing and supplied no contact details for his superior or the driver. In panic we were lucky to get a tricycle and just barely caught our flight.
All in all very disappointing!!!!

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Cecilie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellbeach, Manager at Wellbeach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hello Cecilie
Thanks to take the time to review us.
As you arrived late in the evening the staff asked you friendly if you want to join the Apo island trip next day. They have to prepare in order the trip will be well organized for the next day early morning; nothing to do with pushy, just tell Yes or no that’s all.
We give Swimming pool towels for free witch can be used on our pool and our beach and boat.
Dive and snorkeling equipment is for our guest on our boat.
So when you want to join another boat or dive operator, they will provide you with towels and mask & fins themselves, depends on their service, we are not responsible for other boat- dive tours.
We are one of the most affordable dive center in Negros Oriental with good service.

Yes, we are "remote"; it is about 30 minutes ( 22km) by bus or car from Wellbeach Dive Resort to Dumaguete City.
Nothing for partygoers and night owls more for people seeking rest, relaxation, snorkeling and diving.
Buss and Jeepneys pass every 10 minutes on the HI way going to Dumaguete so nothing to worry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We booked 2 nights in Wellbeach Dive Resort to be able to spend 1 day snorkeling in Apo Island. We just arrived today, on the 28th of April to find out this surprise: no trips to Apo tomorrow. So plan well your trip, because we've done many kilometers and spent many hours to come to a "dive resort" that doesn't have dive trips.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellbeach, Manager at Wellbeach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hello Carlos G.
Sorry that we didn't have an Apo Island trip on 29., but you want just only snorkeling
so we recommend you to take a small boat at Malatapay thats cheaper for you than to charter the big dive boat. Tomorrow we will have for sure an Apo island trip with many divers and some snorkelers where you can join.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews