We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
254
60
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
60
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no hot water dirt road cool shower amazing chef secluded location private beach spent five nights get away from it all peace and quiet de la luna puerto escondido hermit crab races moon shaped cabana hammocks hillside ocean
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

after a really hard but memorable mountain road, we arrived at bahia de la Luna (in Casa Ivan cabana). it was perfect for us looking for calm and rest. the calm bahia allowed all family to swim. we enjoyed kayaks and snorkeling. and after enjoying this casi private beach o rest in beautiful cabana, The best stays the CHEF, Jorge, which cook a delicious fusion food, very inteligent and talented, with every day special fresh menu.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank MarieR3028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We went with my boyfriend and a friend for my birthday. From the outset the communication prior to our arrival was fluid and friendly. The reception of the staff makes you feel at home. The small cabins are beautiful, just like the photos in the description. Ours had an ocean view and it was incredible to go to sleep with the lulling sound of the waves and wake up with that beautiful view.
The food is different every day, since they prepare it with the catch of the day. The cook is a very endearing person, very friendly and he cooks delicious.
It has a beautiful private bay that can be enjoyed all day doing water sports or bathing in the crystal clear waters. Its a really romantic place.
The only thing to keep in mind is that if you have any mobility disability you should ask for a cabin that has access by car.
Its owner is a retired man who asked us repeatedly if we needed something else, if we were satisfied with the attention of the staff and facilities. In short, a very beautiful place with a very good attention. Would go again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gofo, Owner at Bahia de la Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Maria, thanks for you review. We couldn’t be more pleased when visitors enjoy our little hotel. Yes, mobility issues should always be considered when reserving our cabanas... we deal with this frequently and hopefully to the satisfaction of all.
Cheers!
“The Retired Guy”
Norge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My family and I loved Bahia de la Luna. The bay is small enough that we could see most of the beach and watch our kids playing in the water from our lounge chairs. The staff is extremely friendly and considerate. The chef prepares an amazing meal each night for dinner. We all loved it and didn't want to leave. Snorkeling, kayaking, and sleeping on the hanging beds in the sun. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We drove from San Miguel de Allende through the magical Sierra Mazateca of Oaxaca. Probably not the way most people will arrive at this perfect paradise on the Pacific coast though I couldn't recommend it more for the adventurous of heart.

After the long journey through the mountains to arrive at Bajía de la Luna was a gift in every way. The impulse to slip into the turquoise waters was only contained by the welcome cold beer and ceviche served on beach front lounge chairs.

We were greeted by Layla and her husband Coco who is the in-house chef, both were friendly and helpful as was every one who staff this rustic yet elegant beach resort. Coco (another George, more on that later) presented us with dinner options which were served on the beach at 8:00 that night. We sat under the dome of stars as the milky way reflected down to the ocean's horizon... stunning, beautiful and romantic.

A perfect day was spent in the kayaks that are included in the hotel ... we paddled a way off shore where we were greeted by a baby humpback whale frolicking in the distance. After our outing we sunk in the tropical afternoon swinging on suspended beds and simply allowing the peace of this place to wrap itself around us.

Our humble gratitude to George and Lauda for being such a gracious host and hostess, their touch is magical.

And love to all the George's to come. ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aureo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gofo, Owner at Bahia de la Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

WOW!... is right! With reviews like this we’ll start to think we’re getting some things right....our staff certainly tries! We applaud your decision to drive and challenge the Sierra Madre Del Sur, a drive we think is one of the more exciting in our experience and, yes it does set up a splendid arrival at the Bach... we usually serve a giant mezcal-a-Rita to new arrivals. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again, soon..
Here’s!
Jorge y Lauda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing place away from all the big hotels and we found it in this little oasis !
We spent five nights in the Nuptuna cabin, ocean side and were put to sleep each night with the lul of the ocean waves. During the day, swimming and a hammock with a book was about our speed. We did also take the kayak out ( we couldn’t find the plug so went to the bar and grabbed a wine cork )
We ventured out for a few meals to couple places not too far away and one morning to Puerto Escondido, besides the local market there it could be a pass.
We did have a car and yes the roads are dirt as mentioned but totally drivable. I hope they never upgrade the roads as it will only lead to more traffic and take away the uniqueness. Also, if anyone’s driven in other Central American countries the road is just fine.
Also, I did read about no hot water before booking and after a day on the beach it’s not missed at all. If you really want hot water though the cistern is hot in the afternoon from the heat of the sun.
They staff is very welcoming and we stayed at a time that owners were there as well. The owners shared great knowledge of the history of the hotel and country.
We very much enjoyed our stay and will return

Room Tip: Neptuna was very special
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mjackso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gofo, Owner at Bahia de la Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thanks for sharing your experience at Hotel Bahia de la Luna. When we can make you relaxed and happy, then we’re doing our job as owners and staff. Sorry about the ‘cork’ for the kayak, but we do seem to generate a lot of ready wine corks, if not for this purpose! Also thanks for your support for our much maligned dirt road. We share your sentiments that it regards excessive traffic.
Cheers!
Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews