We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castle Hedingham, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely grounds but ....”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Weekend breakaway with our dog ... Arrived late afternoon. The sign to the entrance road was missed, it's very small and faded. On entrance into the cottage first thoughts "oh this is lovely", ok so it's January you expect it to be a little chilly, we were advised that fuel for the log fire was available in the cottage, logs plentiful for a day, but with no kindling to light the logs ?. There was one wall mounted heater that despite its best efforts was not sufficient .. Needless to say back into the car in search of kindling to get fire started. More logs available from owner at extra price. Underfloor heating in bathrooms .. Yes ... We took the duvets from upstairs bedrooms for added warmth overnight as no other form of heating main bedroom. With the beautiful surrounds, it was a shame we could not wander around ... But if you take your dog the back garden Is the only place they can go, or a quick on the leash march through the owners land. It's not really the ideal place to take your dog unless you are prepared to drive out ... It may have been better in the warmer months, but way too cold to stay during winter with inadequate heating .. Needless to say we left a day early as was spending a small fortune on log fire

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony w
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Can't understand some of the comments on this property on here- we found it to be nice and comfortable-very nice inside and out- very warm inside-beds were great-ok the cooking equipment could have been better-but who cooks every day on holiday-plenty of pubs etc nearby-good parking spaces- yes the TV was'nt 40"- but again who goes on holiday to watch TV?? we had a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raerudd
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could be nice BUT”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Sign on main road impossible to spot, Issues with cottage and poor attitude from owner spoilt the break somewhat. Dangerously hot towel radiator burnt arm of my son, toilet broke on day 1 and both sons stepped on carpet gripper spikes on stair carpet. I have to say, things do happen but it is all about the response from the owner. Some hosts are happy to welcome guests and other merely tolerate them. The owner should really review the equipment in the cottage, no washing machine, minimal kitchen utensils, 4 guests but only 2 garden chairs?? and no garden umbrella for shade, a tiny TV [ok we weren't there to watch freeview but still].
The general refurbishment of the cottage was to a good standard BUT, can definitely do better. The cottage welcomes dogs [apparently] however they are not allowed anywhere on the grounds except immediately in front of the cottage, so we could not walk through the fields.
An unfriendly feel to the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location
Liked least: unfriendly host
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revstephv...
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing at the price”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Beautiful main ensuite bedroom with under floor heating. Very comfy beds in both rooms. Shower room and boot room also have underfloor heating. Cottage comfortably warm, we didn't need to light the fire. Hairdryer in the drawer was a nice touch but difficult to use as it has a continental plug. Kitchen poorly equipped with unmatched crockery. Only one sharp knife. Nearly useless tin opener. A soup plate cracked when we put soup in it. A casserole dish would be a good addition. There is a microwave but not simple to use. Hardly any cupboard space and fridge very small with tiny icebox. Extractor fan didn't work but we knew dinner was ready when the fire alarm went off. We opened the windows when cooking.
On the patio a shabby two seater bench and and table. Garden is secure for dogs who enjoyed the new sniffs. Patio door difficult to close and only the outside door in the main bedroom has a handle on the outside.
Steep steps to second bedroom which grandson loved. Owners dogs appeared at the door several times. Other than that the place is quiet.
Area is pretty and the Bell in Castle Hedingham is dog friendly with good food and the Henny Swan is wonderful.

Dogs were not allowed in the paddocks even on leads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing