We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, quiet town, beautiful weather”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Inchlonaig House

Inchlonaig House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inchlonaig House
Kitchen / Family Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Inchlonaig House
Kitchen / Family Room
Dining Room
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Family Bathroom
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Second Bedroom Ensuite
Childrens Bunk Room off Master Bedroom
Port William Harbour
Sunset from Second Sands
Mountain Biking at Kirroughtree
Inchlonaig House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley G
Erskine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house, quiet town, beautiful weather”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Lovely house which suited everyone!! Quiet enough for those who wanted to read and chill, and access to Sky and wifi meant enough entertainment for the noisier ones too :-) Lots of walks on the beach and finding stones. Great base for exploring - trip to Titanic museum in Belfast was tiring but interesting. Day out at Laggan Outdoor Activity Centre was favourite with our family - 820 metre zip wire, archery, clay pigeon shooting and reverse land rover driving covered everyone (age 9 to age 73). Sitting outdoors in October was unexpected, but weather was very kind to us. Everyone slept well, with enough bedroom and bathroom combinations to suit three families needs.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Inchlonaig House. So glad that you enjoyed the house and had some fantastic weather for October to make for an enjoyable holiday! Laggan outdoor is def. a favourite for my family too! Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magnificient House”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a fantastic September Holiday Weekend in this beautiful house which has everything you could ever need to make your stay completely enjoyable. Sarah has thought of everything from candles to beautiful fluffy towels to all the dishes and crockery and table napkins and placemats absolutely everything you could ever need. Also very comfy beds and everything spotlessly clean. There were ten of us stayed with ages ranging from 4 to 64 and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, even the weather was fantastic. I cannot recommend this highly enough and I will definitely return again. Thanks for everything Sarah and the wine and shortbread was a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EddNM
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great House especially for Small Children ”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Nine of us came to stay here in the last week of July 2015. This included Grandparents, Aunts and Uncles and our three young children 1yr, 3yrs and 6yrs. I have to say this was one of the best stocked houses I have stayed in. There are toys, books and games for children and adults alike. The house included stair gates, a lovely wooden cot and a travel cot, high chairs and a large set of children's plastic dinner ware. We quite often bring lots of our own things (most obviously a Tea Pot!) as we have been to some sparse houses but this house had everything. The are plenty of rooms which are all a good size so no one was standing on each other's toes, and the water pressure is unbelievable which makes for the best showers ever.

Each morning I took the short walk along the sea shore (past the Slate Yard full of poppies) to the local shop at the Harbour for a newspaper. It was an easy drive to reach Whithorn, Isle of Whithorn (great pub there) and St Ninians Cave. We also visited Kirroughtree Forest Park, The CocoaBean Chocolate Factory and Wigtown Book Town. Our children liked Monreith Animal World best which is run by a very passionate and likeable lady called Paula. It was very rustic but made for a very personal tour as she let the children in with the 5 week old donkey and brought out a large Eagle Owl for the children to stroke.

My only criticism was the less than summery weather. But I don't think this was in the home owners power to control!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonetrav...
Staffordshire,
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect House”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent half term week at Inchlonaig House and can't fault it. Spacious, luxury accommodation with every thing you need for a family holiday. Thank you Sarah for the wine and shortbread which were a lovely greeting on our arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious homely accommodation with great facilities
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian22may
Balloch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is fantastic, met all our needs from a toddler to a sixty year old. Clean comfortable and warm, we will definitely go back next year. Sarah has thought of everything even a bottle of wine an shortbread on arrival .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing