We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous beach, pools and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
boca raton, fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach, pools and room”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We went to the Iberostar Paraiso Maya, Paradisus Esmeralda and this Barcelo on a recent trip. Barcelo wins for us. However, and it's a big however, they screwed up our reservation. When you arrive at the resort, a bellman looks up your name on a list to see what room category you are in. We reserved a club premium. After waiting half an hour on the check in line at 2pm, it took another 10-15 min to be given our key. I asked if it was club premium, and he said it was not. After a while of searching, they realized that they had made a mistake. Now I was told that I need to check in at the club premium desk. That check in desk is in a lounge area reserved solely for club premium. There's no wait! The lady tells us that our room is not ready (it's 3pm) and to come back in a half hour. At 4pm our room is still not ready, so I just headed to the room to wait while housekeeping cleans. Get to the room, and it's a king bed...we wanted two doubles--traveling with children. I call front desk and they tell me to wait. At 4:30 they call and say that all double rooms are full.
Even after waiting 2 and a 1/2 hrs for the wrong room, we appreciate that the room was wonderful. Clean, contemporary yet Mexican, beautiful bathroom, great shower, and big. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, lush, colorful flowers everywhere. Gorgeous. The beach is enormous and has lots of chairs with lots or space. We saw turtles and schools of fish in the clear water. Down the beach a bit, there are water toys--jetskis.... The pool is amazing, huge, water sprays, water falls, seats in the pool and a pool bar. Next to the main pool is an activity pool for basketball or volleyball. There are hammocks everywhere on property, and activity guys playing games or dancing.
Food was okay. Chicken at the steak restaurant was delish and the breakfast buffet was over the top. Lunch buffet was not that good, but decent enough. Picky kids might not be too happy. And there's no food by the beach of pool.
Transportation to the other bldgs for dinners was a small school bus--cute and easy. There are stores in the Palace (snack items, souvenirs, clothing) and every other lobby--that are open late.
Some other things to know--the beds are hard and it's a little over an hour drive from the airport, almost half hour to 5th ave at Playa.
We loved Barcelo and would definitely recommend, as long as you don't care about what bed you get. We met others who wanted a king and were put in doubles! In retrospect, I think club premium is worth it--other than not waiting to check in, you get an air conditioned lounge with snacks and drinks, a hang out area w/TV, computers and private concierge...but the big plus is that you get as many towels as you need and no towel card.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank z2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,826
    1,477
    581
    206
    168
See reviews for
3,470
1,461
37
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Have just returned from the Barcelo Maya Palace and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The front desk was the only sub-par event we had at the resort, with confusion and not being prepared for guests arriving. The beaches were incredible and snorkling with the sea turtles, rays and barracudas was an experience like none before. The restaurants were unbelievable, truly one of the best parts of being at the Palace. The Brazilian and French restaurants were outstanding with fantastic food. The service by all waiters, bartenders and room cleaning staff at the Palace was great, always in a great mood and very helpful to all. The pools at the Palace were crystal clear and some of the best pools we've ever swam in, just beautiful, including the adult only pool, again beautiful.
I would highly recommend this resort to anyone travelling to the Riviera area. Our private driver from Cancun Shuttle Service told us the Barcelo resort area was one of the nicest in this area which was nice to hear.

Room Tip: Front desk said at first all they had were 2 double beds when I had reserved a room with a king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hfxbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace in February with two other couples, and just had a blast! The pools are HUGE and never over-crowded. However, it's wise to have someone in your group get up early and reserve lounge chairs with towels, t-shirts, etc. The pool itself isn't crowded (in the water), but the chairs fill up quickly. The adult pool is quiet and has 10 private cabanas that can be rented for only $10 per day - not a bad deal at all! The entire grounds are just beautiful!

Be sure to make your dinner reservations for the week early, or even call ahead before you arrive at the resort. We stayed for five nights and made all of our reservations on the first day right after we checked in. Our dinner time every night was either 9:00 or 9:30 depending on which restaurant we ate at because there was no earlier availability. Our favorite restaurants were the Mexican and the French. Our least favorite was the Brazillian since the meat was well over-done. Don't count on the salad bars if you're looking for a traditional salad. They have lettuce, but then a ton of creamy cold salads (think cold seafood salad, cauliflower and cheese, green beans and corn, etc.).

The room (Junior Suite) was spacious, with a nice bathroom. There is a rain shower as well as a shower in the bathtub. There are two sinks, which is handy as well! The only bad thing about the room is the bed. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel. It felt like a piece of plywood with a few cotton balls scattered across the top. I didn't sleep through the night once, and was often awake every hour because of how uncomfortable the bed was. However, that was really the only downside to our stay.

The fitness center is tiny. There are three tredmills, two stationary bikes, two of the type of bikes where you sit in a seat low to the ground, and a few elliptical machines, in addition to a small weight training area. If you are working out on your trip, plan to wait in (a short) line for a machine, or take your workout outside along the beach and go for a nice run! No need to pack a water bottle since the fitness center has a fridge stocked with (free) bottled water for you!

Overall, we had a great time and really enjoyed our stay. If I went back to Riviera Maya again, I may try something different just to see what else is out there, but I would not turn down another opportunity to return to the Maya Palace!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLS101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality about the things you liked and improving in our areas of opportunity as the ones you´ve mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you can go to a resort and not have to deal with staff, this resort is great - the pool is great, the bars are great, the food is good at the buffets and great at the restaurants. Our room was good too, we had a junior suite, very nice. Beach was good, bring your snorkel, lots of fish to see.

OK, so not so bad right, well not so much.

Here's the deal, when you spend your hard earned money and pay for a nice resort, you expect some level of service.

It started at check-in, we traveled with friends, we reserved 6 months ago, why couldn't we have our rooms next to each other? That was the first "no". Others were asking and being refused too.

Our rooms were nice, but they couldn't be much further from the restaurants without being the neighboring resort. We got our exercise this week. I'm not really upset with this, but I thought it strange since we reserved so long ago.

Second "no" was when we asked for a second room key "can't do it right now, too busy". The next day we stopped by the desk and asked for the key - it took 20 seconds to do.

Now for the really bad part. Guest services is terrible and this is the place that you need to go to make restaurant reservations. Not a good thing. We tried calling, we got "disconnected". We tried stopping by to find a line that was not moving. One person with one computer helping a couple make reservations for more than 20 minutes??? You have got to be kidding me, but no. And guess what folks, we weren't the only one with this problem. We saw numerous frustrated guests with the same problem; and the worst part is that they don't even need a person to do this - a kiosk would do the job much better and faster!! How about a service on the room's TV set? Anything but making guests wait for an indefinite period of time with no comment. At one point, he picked up the phone and took someone else's call while working with us, we couldn't get his attention even sitting right in front of him.

I told the resort the problems in their survey. Don't know if it will do any good, but needless to say, we are not returning to this resort. There are much better places to stay in the area. People that treat their guests with respect and don't tell them "no". (There are other ways)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quietsinglecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a lovely 5 days in the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. It is a beautiful resort with friendly staff, comfortable and plush rooms, gorgeous pool area great for the whole family with kids pool and play areas and a swim up bar for adults. The beach here was gorgeous, you can snorkel right off of it and there's a good chance you will see some sea turtles. I even had a rare sighting of an octopus. The food in the buffets was surprisingly good but in the restaurants was even better. Make sure to try the French restaurant but you need to make a reservation.

All the various activities of the Mayan Riviera were close by such as Xplor Park and Xcaret, only about 15 mins away by car. All in all the resort was great of you are into all-inclusives. The one downfall was that it was really big so it took a long time to get anywhere. Saying that, the grounds were beautiful so we didn't mind walking everywhere. The only problem was that if you forgot something in your room and you were not close to the beach or pool, it was quite the trek to go back. If you can, book one of the rooms that are above the pool or close to the beach and you won't have this problem. We were near the back which was quite a distance.

All in all this was a nice resort. We don't typically do all inclusive holidays but we did like it here and we felt safe despite some of the bad stories you hear coming out of Mexico lately.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cdn_fam_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,215 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,431 reviews
26.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,589 reviews
30.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,040 reviews
29.7 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing