We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel with Amazing Beach”
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed 22 November 2017

There have been many reviews but here is one huge recommendation and some commentary after we stayed here for 7 days just returning home today 11/22.

#1 Upon check-in you absolutely must ask for the "Premium Upgrade" which is an unadvertised option for you. Your room doesn't change but you get among others Premium Liqueur everywhere; special concierge lounge with food and drink and services; ability to eat at any of the a-la-carte restaurants every night; daily entry into the water massage treatment spa; 10% off purchases; 25% off wine by bottle; and more. Cost is $25pp/per day. Trust me this is well worth it.

The good: Best Beach in the area by far. Lots of cool sand and aqua waters and plenty of fish to see and feed. Drop dead gorgeous. Grounds are impeccably clean and cared for. Easy walking or bus access to other Barcelo lobbies. Staff was tremendous, courteous, and just the friendliest people ever. Lots of pools and areas to relax including an almost hidden all adult pool and bar, The SAP was wonderful and the water massage area was ... something to behold (Iced cold Pool; Hot soaking pool; sauna; steam bath; multiple fragrant showers; cucumber curved beds; and an outdoor pool with multiple high pressure water massage areas. Food at al la carte restaurants was very good on average.

The following needs some work but we would still come back despite one major issue - the buffet. Depending on your dining habits you may like or hate the experience. Plenty of fresh fruit, cheeses, breads, rolls, and fresh options. But all else is inconsistent. None of the foods are hot, just mildly warm and cold once you get back to your table. The heat lamps are much too low heat. So cold waffles, cold pancakes, cold meats, cold vegetables, etc. In the AM they have 2 omelette stations we used every day - since it was the only thing hot. Lunch also featured luke warm foods but a nice salad bar. We ate dinner once and it was not very good. This eat at the a la carte restaurants.

The rooms are "OK" and nothing special but more than adequate for the little time spent there.

So the net review is very positive about just about everything but the buffets which did not match up with the excellence of the other features and amenities.

Room Tip: The COBA wing is close to the buffet and private adult pool and each access to the best beach on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BruceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Manager at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear BrucTravels,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 223 of 8,989 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

Check in was a complete nightmare but the rest of the stay made up for it! It took 2 hours from the time I was dropped off, at the wrong hotel, until I got into my room in the hotel I originally booked. But the rest of the stay made up for it. Going back in December!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kimberly Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Manager at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Kimberly Jean S,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Maya Beach hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

Our staff's professional service is a point of pride for us and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the entire team for information and further revision.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Had a really relaxing time. once we left hectic airport it was an hour ride but went by fast. Nov. perfect time to travel, temp in 80s had a nice breeze and not busy. Stayed maya beach section Talum bldg. We didnt have a view but we were less then 1 min away from pool , pool bar and beach buffet and the beach. Everyone was friendly, about 15 mins to checkin.We kept bags at front desk area and went to buffet to eat as room wasn't ready. No problem making supper reservations for restaurants, we did Japanese and Seafood, both good. We like main buffet and beach one also. No bugs either. no noise issues either, was quiet at night. All staff was awesome, and friendly. I think most bad reviews come from people who just want to complain. Who cares that some rooms aren't perfect or older decor, or food is alot of same, your in Mexico chill. The weather was great, drinks perfect, and there were 4 resorts tomcjose from inch didn't lkke food at one you are at go to nextone. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank LisaMJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear LisaMJD,

we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The hotel and staff was very friendly and attentive, the beach was spectacular it is an all around great spot to relax and release some stress
Food and drinks were all on the money not a complaint......................................

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Manager at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Edward S,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Maya Beach hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We had a great time visiting with friends for a 50th birthday party. The grounds are beautiful and I love that the snorkeling is great right from the beach. The beach was always clean and the pools are beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear mark j,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Barceló XXX. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,986 reviews
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,482 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,116 reviews
17.3 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,872 reviews
4.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: €184 - €383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Barcelo, LoveHolidays and Prestigia so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing