We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$266
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$204
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$204
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$362
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$216
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$406
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (10,448)
Filter reviews
10,448 results
Traveller rating
4,833
3,534
1,261
511
309
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,833
3,534
1,261
511
309
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapassnack barfishprivileged suiteel mercadostandard roomthe lion kingjapanese restauranta la carte restaurantswater shoescrepespure chill out bargated communitysteakanimation teamsea lionslagoon area
Filter
Updating list...
3,864 - 3,869 of 10,448 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Went with the family this past Dec '12. Highly recommend the superior suite for anyone with kids. Our 3 yr old and 1yr old slept in the living room, with my wife and I in the bedroom. You won't find a layout like that any cheaper. We had breakfast and lunch at the buffet each day, then did most if out dinners at ine of the a la cart restaurants. All our meals were good, but unfortunately none of them stand out in my mind as GREAT. The beach was nice, but the pools were the highlight for our kids. Only two real complaints. The suites all have an in ground hot tub on the balcony...with no cover. This was a problem with young kids. My son fell in the first day and would have lost some teeth if he hasn't caught himself against the other side. Second was the pullout couch. The mattress was just a foam mattress pad wrapped in a blanket. My 4 yr old ended up sleeping on it without pulling it open. For an adult that was looking for the full bed, this would have been totally unacceptable as the bars were popping through the "mattress". Last thing, despite being a no smoking hotel, there were ashtrays in the room which someone had definitely been using. The room smelled like a combo of smoke and sanitizer. It cleared up after a day. If you don't want smoking though, don't givpeopke ashtrays. Aside from those it was a great stay. Just don't expect to get a five star place at three star prices. Pay for three get a solid three.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My husband and I were there for New Years 2012 and it was our first all inclusive vaction. We LOVED it... the food was amazing - the pace of the Italian place made that a favorite, also the show at the Asian place was so well done.
The service was so good, I was constantly having to decline drinks! We tipped a dollar or two everytime we got another drink, and this may be why they just didnt stop coming!
The beach was rocky so bring your water shoes but that didn't bother me at all, it was still perfect! It's in a gated community so we felt 100% safe wandering around outside the resort, we went to the local marina and enjoyed seeing the stingrays and dolphins.
Our room was always kept so clean!
Loved Loved Loved the chillout bar by the beach - absolutely terrific setting!
I give this 5 stars - I couldn't have been happier with our first every AI vacation!
Cheers!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AnisaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My sister and I stayed for 5 nights in Sept. 2012. It was her first trip to Mexico and my second to the riviera maya area.Our first stay at CRM was just about perfect and had been reccommended by others who had vacationed there.I was a little disappointed this trip. The Mayan inspired paths are amazing along with one of the best beaches I've spent time on, the food is good, and the rooms are adequate. Check-in is always one's first impression of a resort and I wanted my sister to experience a wonderful mexican resort vacation from the moment we set foot on the grounds.Our check-in was that of a budget hotel on a road trip, our questions were answered with, at best, rudeness. there seemed to be catering to certain groups throughout our stay; however, the majority of the staff and service were friendly, helpful, and just shy of excellent....make sure you get the chips and guacamole at the pool bar, yum!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 524danale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Rooms are very outdated and reception continually try and sell premier rooms this makes for a disappointing arrival but once settled the hotel is good relaxing and the food is excellent
Lots of food choice but disappointing bars no atmosphere
Good value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Catalonia from the 22nd Dec until the 6th of Jan. Our room was spacious and clean. There are plenty of restaurants serving beautiful food. The staff work so very hard and are very committed. The setting up of the tables and stage for NewYear's Eve took 2 days to assemble and looked amazing, we went to bed around 1am, when we got up in the morning everything the stage all app 180 tables had been removed with no evidence of a party in sight as I said the staff work very hard. Thank you to all staff involved Deb and Steve xxx

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews