We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are great at this centrally located Ixtapa hotel.”
Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emporio Ixtapa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our first day, we enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Sunset Grill which was made all the more special by the wonderful service provided by Oscar and Gregario. Such exceptional service goes a long way to making a dining experience enjoyable and we plan to return to that restaurant. Rafael provided timely service at the pool bar. Alan at the front desk was helpful and if unable to provide an answer was quick to look into it and come back with an answer. Housekeeping are to be commended for the exceptionally clean rooms. Overall ever staff member we encountered at this hotel was well trained, very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Central location. Great staff. Ocean rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge D, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us from the first day, at Sunset Restaurant is designed to provide a culinary experience combined with the twilight atmosphere of ixtapa that every day is different and wonderful, we recognize our colleagues, Gregorio, Rafael, Alan, Oscar for the service and our cleaning maids for the cleanliness in your room, I wish you to come back very soon, any questions, suggestions do not hesitate to contact!

I am at your service!!!

Jorge Domínguez
Managing Director
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel
jdominguez@grupodiestra.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

The Emporio resort treated my family and I very well. We received excellent service. The food was was excellent. The views beautiful. I recommend this resort 5 stars. stars. They are family friendly. Wonderful entertainment.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge D, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

We are very motivated by your assessment in the facilities and the service you received, your opinion is important, thank you for sharing your experience, why you enjoyed the food that we prepared especially for you, for the views that you liked, why you liked it the activities of entertainment shared in family, thank you very much, hopefully you will soon return, If you have any questions or suggestions do not hesitate to contact me in the future

I am here to serve you at any time !!!

Jorge Domínguez
Managing Director
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa
jdominguez@grupodiestra.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Let's start with the negative. The Emporio feels like an old hotel. It's rooms and fittings are old and fighting to keep working. A friend had a room that had a bad smell and was moved to another better room. Apparently there are some newer rooms, but we didn't get one.
The other negative is that there are signs around the hotel and pool saying that the hotel is 'no smoking'. But there were many people wandering around smoking and no staff said anything to them. Having a young child with us, it was really annoying.
The positive.
The staff are great. They make the hotel. Very friendly, happy, willing to do anything to make our stay better. We even selected some food from the buffet and they turned it into baby food for us!
The food was very good with a good selection. Although the veggie selection can be limiting some days. A plate of rice does not a meal make.
Other good bits.
Their are 3 varieties of kids pools at the hotel. The beach is great and stays shallow for a nice distance.
The hotel wifi reaches the beach.
The included beer is very nice and refreshing.
... So. in conclusion.
Fix the hotel, keep the great staff, stop people smoking by the pool and turn this into a really great family hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go to the pizza restaurant in the hotel, the pizza's are terrible and the buffet is mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bambi851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Overall our stay was good. Nice variety for kids. If you’re expecting American white food, just get the European package which is room only. If you are ready to indulge in near authentic Mexican cuisine, go for the all inclusive package. Most of the reviews here say food isn’t that great but it’s misleading.

Children’s evening with movie/theater duros, cupcakes and marshmallows on a stick on a Monday night that I was there.

Be ready to tip in order for waiter to come back to you. Otherwise, you’ll need to go yourself to the palapa and order drinks there directly.

6th floor rooms smelled moldy. All our clothes smelled like that when we went home. Hard to take out the stench.

Overall, nice family friendly hotel. Variety of pools for the entire family to enjoy. Direct access to the the beach. Not very many tourists here, more upperclass Mexican families from other states than white people.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank RmunozXicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

My family stayed here two nights. The staff were wonderful and the location was perfect. However, the rooms need a lot of updating, fixtures worn and electrical socket not working in bathroom. Everything just seemed old. The pool and grounds however were beautifully maintained. It is very crowded during Christmas week so be prepared to NOT have seats by the pool or on the beach unless you grab them early.

Room Tip: We did not ask and our view was of another hotel's roof top - not pretty at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.6 km away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 23 in Ixtapa
445 reviews
0.3 km away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#15 of 23 in Ixtapa
947 reviews
0.6 km away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.5 km away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,707 reviews
0.5 km away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: €56 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to escape the daily hustle and bustle and find a little bit of heaven where to spend your vacation, this is your best choice. Our excellent location to easily navigate to explore all that Ixtapa and the town of Zihuatanejo have for you. After passing our spacious lobby with marble floor and a huge dome, modern facilities with a sober and contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa Mexico - Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing