We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
152
204
79
39
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
204
79
39
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool small hotel swim up bar breakfast plan other hotels por favor made to order omelets juan carlos hotel location city bus third floor mexican resort flat screen tv big waves a la carte pousada ocean
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2018

It is a very old hotel designed by a poor architect who did not understand the vital necessity of a balcony when vacationing at the sea! No where to dry the wet beach paraphernalia (towels, bathing suits, etc.)
Inside the room there is no place to put your cloths except a strange closet IN THE BATHROOM that keeps all your stuff damp and wet !!!
The cleaning of the room happens usually around 5 P.M.
Stunning view (if you get an Ocean view room) but along with it, comes the all night long party noise of the drunk guests whose gathering point is right in front of the ocean view windows ! The Management doesn’t interfere to limit the time for such gatherings, so they can go until 2-3 AM and one’s sleep goes away as well. .
Internet is available only in the lobby in spite of the advertised “in the room availability”.
Yet the most inconvenient thing is that the access to the ocean water from the beach designated to this hotel, is practically prohibited because of constant humongous waves. One has to walk 10-15 min on the beach in order to reach a spot where the waves are calming down and where swimming is possible with out any danger.
I spite of the personnel’s effort to be helpful, friendly and accommodating, (although English is not a language of too much communication here) unfortunately, I CAN NOT recommend this hotel.
All in all, a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Teolmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy G, Community Manager at Posada Real Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hello Teolmi,

Thank you for let us know your comments, so you help us to improve. We are very sorry to know you don't enjoy the rooms; we changue towels everyday so is not necesary to dry in balcons. In fact we can not limit the time people stay on the beach but we will try to keep more vigilance, we apologize for inconviniences.

We like to know our staff was helpful and friendly and you have enjoyed the view.

Thank you for visit Ixtapa Zihuatanejo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

two week stay here and it is still our favorite. Love the staff. massage huts just steps away, I went everyday, a great massage for 200 P
we had a nice room with an upgraded Bath, walk in shower, the beds are still fairly hard but better now with a pillow top mattress. loved the Mexican resort with Canadians, Americans and Mexicans vacationing and mixing in well. we did the breakfast plan and purchased food if we didn't feel like going out, very reasonable and very good. we haven't even left yet and are planning next years vacation here

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank firstimePV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy G, Community Manager at Posada Real Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hello!

Thanks for your comments, thanks for your comments, we really appreciate it. We love to know you have enjoyed your stay with us an received a good service from our staff.

Thank you for visit Ixtapa Zihuatanejo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Love this hotel! Great atmosphere - quaint and even when crowded there is room for every one! You do not need to set your alarm to save a space for enjoying your day at the pools! The staff are friendly and most helpful, the hotel is clean, and the pool has the best view! You can also choose not to be all inclusive which then gives the opportunity to experience the local restaurants - or eat in if you choose as the hotel food is very good and reasonable! Whenever we stay somewhere else or travel to another place we always find ourselves missing this spot!

Room Tip: They are working on updates - rooms are all very similar. If something is wrong speak up as they usually have a solution or can fix things.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heimdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy G, Community Manager at Posada Real Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hello Heimdonna

Thanks for your comments, thanks for your comments, we really appreciate it. We love to know you have enjoyed your stay with us an received a good service from our staff.

Thank you for visit Ixtapa Zihuatanejo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

1/2 of the rooms received upgraded rooms from our prior year stay. The bathroom was the focus of their upgrade which really looked modern with a nice shower and large vanity. For all of you concerned of to many changes the room wasn’t completely renovated as they still are using the same comforter. Lol. The WiFi has also been upgraded you need to ask for the new password but it worked good enough that we were able to stream Netflix and DirectTv off our iPad in our room or by the pool. The resort welcomes you with very friendly staff. When I say staff that is everyone from the front desk, wait staff, maids and the people taking care of the grounds. The guest’s that stay at this resort are also very friendly as easy to talk with. Short walk to off site restaurant’s and the closest resort to the message huts.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy G, Community Manager at Posada Real Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hello Keith F,

Thanks for sharing your comments with the travellers community, we are so happy to know you have enjoyed your stay at Ixtapa, hope to see you on your next vacations.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom in January for 5 nights. It was our first time in the area.
Hotel Location: Perfect! Since the hotel is not too big and our room was on the main floor, it took less than one minute to get to the pool, beach, and restaurant area. We walked into the town of Ixtapa a few times and even took the city bus to Zihuatanejo for a day. Beautiful sites and always felt safe.
Beach: Beautiful! Soft sand, great views, big waves wich was lots of fun but could be dangerous especially for young kids-I would recommend taking a bus or taxi to a nearby beach that is calmer if you want to have an ocean swimming day with little ones. Lots of vendors walk up and down the beach as well selling coconuts, souvenirs, and food.
Food: we mostly ate at the hotel buffet. I am a vegetarian and a picky eater but always had plenty of options and I quite liked everything. We also walked into town and ate a Debrahs once, it was delicious and very affordable restaurant.
Hotel Room: on the smaller side, I wouldn’t want to have more than 2 or 3 people in it. But it was always clean and the colours & decor was so cute!
Hotel Staff: Amazing! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Ana Maria made some great tacos and pasta for me. Christian made us refreshing piña coladas at the pool bar. Juan Carlos always greeted us with a warm smile in the dining room. I asked Michael at the front desk lots of questions and he was always so nice and happy to help. I wish I could remember everyone’s names because there were so many who were absolutely wonderful. I find having great service and friendly staff is what makes a vacation standout, and this place has done that. Hope to come back for sure!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jess_3633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy G, other at Posada Real Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hello Jess,

Thanks for share your comments, we are so happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for visit Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, hope to see you on your next vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews