We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,606)
Filter reviews
1,606 results
Traveller rating
583
468
267
149
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
468
267
149
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews intercontinental presidente mexican fiesta pool view towel man mary lou pool bar fiesta night cigarette butts la isla activities staff directly across the street yogurt mexican food beach volleyball ocean front playa linda musty smell
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 1,606 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016

our room they gave us,was almost the farthest from ocean that they had,asked to be moved,but told none available,we found out the first night,there was a night club across the street ,and played loud music till 5 ,we put ear plugs in and pillow over to help with noise,and we were scheduled to be there 19 days, asked to move again after the sat rush of locals,but told nothing available,?? but reliable sources told us only 20-30 % full,and we could notice also hardly anyone there in midweek? very frustrating too here this music 5-6 days a week?we tried to make the best of it,with the run around and what not,got our best sleep 5-8 but had to adjust.the poolswere at times clean,but other times very dirty, on those days we would only use the showers too cool down,we tried to use the swim up bar ,but that day it smelled disgusting,like sewage,and water was scummy and very dirty,so didnt go there the days we were there,the food was edible,but had too definately pick and choose,we were sick from the food the first few days,but after that stayed away from certain foods,we ate out a lot also,to possibly avoid getting sick from resort food.the last 3 days we were told they were going to move us,as they were making upgrades,and no power in our existing room,we thaught this was great ,to get away from the night club noise,but the room they moved us too ,had no ac,we asked to move or fix ,but got neither,very hot trying to sleep in80-85 degree in room,sweating and discomfort all night,most holidays wanting too stay longer,but this holiday we were ready to go, i had stayed at presidente years back,and what a difference too now, i have braught many people to ixtapa,and have always had good memories,just remember this is the hotel, and some management , there,the weather,and the people we meet are very friendly i will be back in january,but not here

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shell552016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
The General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

If you get there early the hotel will offer you the possibility to check in early for a price, if you don't want to pay more you need to wait until the check in time even if the room is empty.
The food is not good enough, a seafood cocktail that was more likely a Surimi cocktail, the buffets consist mainly on cheap meals, there is nothing really fancy, no steaks, no great taste.
The beverages are not good enough either, they have Mexican booze but not all the brands, only the cheapest ones, Ron Bacardi, Brandy Presidente, Vodka Oso Negro, etc, you need to adjust to what the hotel is willing to give you, I asked a barman about a couple of drinks I like and he told me they do not have that, so I asked him what drinks he could make and he said only what I can see in a bad manner.
If your flight leaves late, the Hotel wont offer you the chance to stay there enjoying their experience, you can stay until 17:00 but only if you pay a late check out, otherwise you are free to leave and come later to pick up your baggage.

On the good side, the bed was delicious, it's a beach front hotel so you just need to walk a couple steps to enjoy the sea, the sea is a little wild but enjoyable, the sand is nice, feels good on your feet, you can watch the sunset every day if the clouds allow it, on Saturdays they close the restaurants for a mexican night around a kiosk in the hotel, they offer a sample of a few mexican meals like pozole, tacos dorados, enchiladas, buñuelos, atole, etc., some are really good.
In general I think the room is ok, but the food and the drinks are far from good All Inclusive, if you want a good All Inclusive experience, better go to somewhere else, this one let me down.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Luis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
The General Managament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

This is my second time to stay at this hotel (formerly the Presidente Intercontinental). The beds are very comfortable, the rooms and common areas are kept clean, and the view of the ocean excellent. We will stay here again when we return. The staff are very kind and helpful, starting with Jorge at the front desk. There are activities for all ages, and this would be a fun place to bring the whole family. The hotel is being updated, and it is a good value, plus the perfect location in Ixtapa (walking distance to the shops, bank, buses, etc.) The bike ride into the nature reserve is fun, and younger people can enjoy the beach volleyball or soccer, and music at night in the bar. The food choices are plentiful, and even though some dishes are foreign to us, there were enough choices that we always found plenty of good food. For 20 pesos (abour $1.00 per ride), the two of us were able to ride on the frequent buses into Zihuatanejo, and Playa Linda to look at the crocodiles, iguanas, and birds. My favorite places were spending time on the beach or at the pool - walking, swimming, people watching, and the sunsets are spectacular. Don't miss a visit to Ixtapa!!

Room Tip: I prefer an ocean-view room on the tower - 5th floor or higher with a balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travel_rabbit_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
The General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I recently (November 4 to 18) at the Holiday inn Resort in Ixtapa.
The staff were very friendly and the service was first rate.
The room was kept clean and although it was an old room it was satisfactory (They are going to being upgrading many rooms during the summer).
The food was very good with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables.

All in all a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank St. Paul's Heal... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Dear St. Paul's Heal... R
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
The General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Great location on the hotel strip. The hotel is right across the street from the shopping centre and local restaurants. Pool view room was nice and we had a very large deck with tables and chairs. Rooms and restaurant have been renovated and are clean with good maid service. Most of the waiters speak English and all very nice and helpful. All inclusive and food is just ok. The beach is great for long beach walks.

Stayed: November 2016
2  Thank Hydeaway4ev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Hydeaway4ev4

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
The General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews