We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$319
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$319
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$453
US$357
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$195
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$200
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$534
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,400 results
Traveller rating
406
455
261
145
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
455
261
145
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsintercontinental presidentemexican fiestapool viewtowel manmary loupool barfiesta nightcigarette buttsactivities staffdirectly across the streetblue shrimpyogurtwater aerobicsmexican foodmake reservationsbeach volleyballocean front
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 1,400 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2015

For the 13th year in a row we travelled back to the Presidente in Ixtapa. It was so nice to be back home with all the great staff there.(too many to mention and do not want to leave anyone out We spent 2 weeks in the sun and warmth. The hotel has a new general manager Patricia Chapman and we enjoyed visiting with her on several occasions. She has made several changes to the hotel and as you know it is very difficult trying to satisfy all who vacation here. The hotel also has a new chef and the food is very good. We all enjoyed it and especially the salad bar. They are always upgrading and I understand the Tower is going to be getting an upgrade. We have met many great friends who return every year. Thanks again for another great vacation we look forward to coming back February 2016! The Candy Man and I will return!

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Poolview Rooms which most give you a view of the ocean also. Have never stayed in the Tower just does not appeal to my husband and I.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzochurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Firstly we would like to thank you for once again choosing our hotel, Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa, for your vacations. Thank you very much for taking the time to write on line.

I fully agree with you that the staff of the resort is phenomenal to work with. I will be certain to pass your note along to ensure that everyone can share in the pride of exceeding your expectations.

We cannot thank you enough for your preference and we hope to see you again next year.

Cordially,
Patricia Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Our recent stay at The Presidente Ixtapa was average at best. We have stayed at The Presidente several times and this is the first year that we have had complaints.
Some of the changes include the following…..
There is a lack of lounge chairs by the pool. There used to be several chairs by the pool, plenty for the people who choose to sit by the pool rather than on the beach. Those were removed. After sever complaints, there were about 10 more added, but not even to the main area, instead they were put up on a platform area. This was not an ideal solution, but it was better than no chairs. This seems like a small problem, but the lack of chairs is probably the most annoying thing. The Presidente always had plenty of chairs, it was one of the reasons that we switched to staying at the Presidente years back. It is also why guests have kept coming back. If you visit The Presidente, you may notice a large barren space out by the pool. This area is where chairs once were. We were told several different reasons why they no longer allow chairs here. Safety, security, people moving them and being in disarray, IHG rules, OSHA. None of it makes a lot of sense, since we know from years past that the chairs were very orderly. Management says that they were all over the place and it was a hazard, people could be trampled if there was an evacuation. To this I say, it absolutely makes no sense. Trampling could happen anywhere. There are chairs in other places and on the beach. From my past experience, the chairs that were always in rows and there were plenty of them so people were not trying to drag them everywhere. If there was a problem with chairs being in disarray, I can hardly believe the guards couldn’t take care of it. They aren’t afraid to tell you to get your float out of the pool or anything else.
They have moved the water polo nets. One net being close to the pool bar area, when people try to move them back to where they used to be and where it makes more sense because it is a more direct line and not by the pool bar, guards come over and tell them to move them back.
No floats in the pool anymore. We have always been allowed to have an air mattress type of float (not a huge one, just the regular skinny kind) in the pool (in fact they used to sell them at the gift shop there and they are sold all over Ixtapa), but this is no longer the case. I believe little kids can have the round tube floats, but that is about it. I understand that they would not want 200 people in the pool with floats or not allowing floats when there is water activities going on, but pool floats have never been a problem in the past.
The beach volleyball net was also moved down the beach, it has always been front and center of the beach. Even if you are not one to play volleyball, you most likely will watch a game or two at some point. This was moved back after several complaints, however we were told it was only temporary and it would be moved back after 2 weeks. Not sure if it was moved back down the beach, but I really hope not, as it is part of the reason why we like The Presidente.
They do not have bananas on a regular basis any longer. This means no dirty monkey drinks or bananas on the buffet, which has always been a regular thing at The Presidente and most other resorts always have them on hand.
The coffee has changed. Not for the better. The Presidente used to have the best coffee, smooth and rich. It is now weaker and not as flavorful. Not sure if they changed brands or are making it much weaker, but they need to change it back.
There is also not a full time bathroom attendant stationed at the pool bar bathrooms any longer. Yes, one does come around once in a while, but not like it used to be. The upkeep is not like it once was. There was always an attendant cleaning up because beach goers use this bathroom too and it gets dirty with sand. These attendants used to make sure it was constantly swept up and kept flowers on the sinks. Obviously, we don’t need flowers on the sinks at all times in order to use the bathroom, but those nice touches were what we always loved about The Presidente.
The Presidente fills up with locals on the weekends, which makes it very busy. Locals have every right to enjoy the area and beach, which they might not be able to very often. I don’t have a problem with local people, but I do have a problem with The Presidente staff allowing people and their children to run amuck. There were kids at the pool bar constantly, there were kids at the disco bar until midnight. There were a group of local drunk young women that were obnoxious at the pool bar and it took another guest to tell this group to stop hanging on and harassing an older man. The staff just kind of overlooked what was happening.
If you are new to staying at The Presidente, you may not notice the changes (however we met several first timers who were also not impressed), but if you have stayed there in the past, you most likely will not be pleased. The Presidente is under new management, not sure if the changes that have been made are her decision or IHG’s, but many guests that are “regulars” and have been coming to The Presidente for years are now considering going other places next year. The Presidente may want to take into consideration the requests of loyal guests and change some things back to way they used to be. If new management wants to work on things that really do need to be fixed, here are some suggestions…..
Mark the steps in the pool. A darker blue strip or a non-slip strip marking the edges of each step would be nice. Put signs up, letting people know to watch their children and imposing rules on how late they can be at the bar would be good. Also, there is really no reason for kids to be sitting at the pool bar all day. I understand them coming up and getting a pop or something, but allowing them to hang out all day long is not necessary. A separate kids pool would be great, but I can see how that would be hard since the location of the pool bar is in the activities pool , so maybe enforcing some rules that would make the majority of the guests happy would help.
Here’s what is still good….
Great wait staff at the pool and disco bar!! Love them and they are a big reason why we have continued to come back to The Presidente. Great location!! Nice pool and beach, but all the hotels have nice pools and all of Ixtapa has a beautiful beach. The food is good. Not always excellent, but usually pretty decent. There is usually something that you can find that is good, even when there are things that don’t fit your tastes.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MrKittles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

Dear MrKittles82,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. We are delighted to note that you found our location well to your liking and appreciated the service our bar staff have rendered. Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. It is regrettable if the condition of some of the facilities and its amenities did not live up to your expectations. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Divina P.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We took a last minute escape trip to Ixtapa for 7 days. Sunwing offered a good price for the Presidente and as we had no previous experience with the Pacific side of Mexico, we had no expectations.
This is an older, established resort catering to retired Canadians and Mexican families. Many babies and young children in the pools and restaurants. The noise might bother some but we enjoyed watching the little ones having fun.
We stayed in room 1509 in the tower. The view from the balcony was lovely. Beds were very comfortable and the cleaning staff did an exceptional job.
We found the food both in the buffet and for the "special" dinners tasty and plentiful. But then again..........we enjoy Mexican food and trying new things. Once we got the hang of breakfast with made to order omlettes, asking for bacon at the egg station and requesting toast from our server, we were set for the day.
Something I missed from previous holidays on the Caribean side of MX..........drink menus in the evening bar and more of a selection for afternoon snacks on the beach.
The only downside to our stay was the badly cracked and stained floor tiles in our room. Mold showed around the bottom in the bathroom and the door looked like it had been attacked with a hacksaw.
None the less, we enjoyed the location (walking distance to everything) and the pretty setting of the resort.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank newlywedSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa.

We have noted on your comments that overall you had a pleasant stay with us, and we are happy to accomplish our goal to make a guest stay an unforgettable one.

Thank you for your compliments, would also like you to know that this year the hotel will be going thru a total remodelation of the tower .

We invite you to visit us next year and see for yourself the new additions.

Looking forward to seeing you again

Sincerely,
Patricia Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

The staff is exceptional!! They make your stay as fun as possible no matter what the resort is like. This was our 4th visit to the Presidente. The first in 1996. Oh, what changes have occurred. Our room was very quaint, I only switched rooms because upon or arrival we got a room with 2 beds not a king, but the front desk was very accommodating on our second day and provided us with a room we were happy with. The bathroom was updated and everything in it was fine. I give the resort a 2 because of the food, lack of entertainment and variety. Every day the food was about the same. A little variety at lunch and dinner, but nothing to brag about. The one nicer restaurant had a menu of choices (limited) and dinners you could pay extra for. It was OK, not great. One day, my husband could no longer handle the buffet for lunch and wanted a club sandwich. I asked the young lady who seats you if it was possible. They brought him a very nice sandwich with fries. Again, the staff goes beyond. We did go across the street and eat 3 times. They no longer have higher quality liquor for the drinks and "NO Bananas" for dirty monkeys. When we got bananas the dirty monkeys were not very good. The pool - as others have said, they do not have an area for children away from adults. We were splashed, squirted with water guns, run over by underwater swimmers and they were sitting on the stools by the pool bar so it made it difficult to get a drink. We only had one event night, Saturday night Fiesta, even that was disappointing. In the past, they had a beach night and other events to entertain you. The shows, not every night, were as expected. We did work with Keylin (not sure I spelled it right) for a tour of the city and beaches, which was great, and a trip to Ixtapa Island. She was very helpful, spoke perfect English and everything she set up was perfect. We are IHG rewards members and received a different colored band than the rest of our group (12) but we did not see any benefits from it. I am saddened to say we will not return to the Presidente.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter what is on your reservation. You get what is available upon arrival. Ask for a change the next day.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank robinpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

One of our top priorities is guest satisfaction and we are dissapointed to hear that we felt short on your expectations.

Regarding your comments on the variety of food and brand liquor, we will review this matter with the Chef. Comments like yours give us an invaluable opportunity to target our attention to those areas and/or individuals involved in order to provide a better service.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patricia Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We went to the Presidente Intercontinental Hotel in Ixtapa this year for 2 weeks, arriving on Jan. 5. This was our 6th year there and will be our last, which truly saddens us. We have really enjoyed our time there in the past years but this year disappointed us in matters that are important to us.
It’s a great location with a beautiful beach and a warm, friendly and very accommodating staff. That was all the same as in the past.
BUT
The hotel has a new manager and we heard a rumor while there that the hotel will be re-branded from the Presidente Intercontinental level to a Holiday Inn. The expectation is that it will continue to have its all-inclusive format. If the rumor is true, it appears that the new manager is in the process of making the down-grade to the Holiday Inn status now.

We have enjoyed our evenings in the past in the bar. We’re not really drinkers but we have enjoyed dancing to the disco music. This year the music was MUCH TOO LOUD. We asked the DJ to lower the sound level but got no response. Then we approached a manager and complained that the sound was MUCH TOO LOUD. We got a rather lame excuse that they were waiting for a technician to come to measure the sound level before they did anything. We resorted to using ear plugs to be able to tolerate the sound level and we moved as far back (30-40 ft.) from the loudspeakers as we could to get some relief. That helped somewhat but we still couldn’t carry on a conversation. In past years they played a variety of Latin and U.S. rock-and-roll, but this year it was almost entirely Latin music with a very fast beat and a very short token rock-and-roll segment. Another factor was that the dance floor in the bar had been removed and replaced with a rough concrete and raised stone floor that features the Intercontinental logo. This surface is virtually impossible to dance on and as a consequence most people, if they could stand the MUCH TOO LOUD sound level, danced on the tile floor in the middle of the bar.

The food in the past has generally been quite good with a variety of Mexican and continental selections. This year the food selections have narrowed considerably and were almost entirely Mexican in nature with only small day-to-day changes. So, if you enjoyed the food yesterday you can be assured of having the same selections again today or tomorrow or the next day. They do sometimes offer dinners on the patio with Italian or French food. These are nice, but the menu is always the same. So if you enjoyed your chicken dinner last time you can be assured of having exactly the same meal again!

A special dinner we have enjoyed in the past, and which has been a factor in our returning to this hotel for the past six years, was the Wednesday night beach barbeque. This year it didn’t happen. However, there were 2 business conventions held at the hotel during our stay and they were treated to beach barbeque dinners! It would have been a simple matter to have made those dinners open to all of the guests but that didn’t happen.

They have finally installed wi-fi throughout the hotel but there is a daily charge to use it. There is also a business center available with computers linked to the internet. This has been useful and the room now requires the use of your room key to get access. This is a good change as it seems to limit the access to the youngsters who often tied up the computers playing games. We needed to get access to the room after 10:30 pm on the night before we left in order to confirm some flight reservations. However, we found the room securely locked and the computers shut down forcing us to resort to a smart phone to confirm our reservations.

The up-shot of all of this is that management apparently has made the decision to begin the process of down-grading the hotel to the Holiday Inn level, cutting back on services and discouraging night time activities in the bar and elsewhere in order to save money. They seem to be refocusing the hotel to their Mexican clientele and pretty much ignoring us gringos. They certainly have the right to structure their business as they see fit. And we have the right to find a more accommodating location elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia032158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

On behalf of all my staff and myself, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the circumstances that surrounded your visit to our hotel.

We try on a daily basis to fulfull the needs and expectations of our guests to the best of our ability, and in your case, obviously we failed.

Your comments are very important to us. I will share them with the persons involved in order to prevent these situations from reocurring .

We are working very hard to improve our services and facilities and I am confident that we will accomplish our goal.

With renewed apologies.

Sincerely,
Patricia Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews