We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price/staff, perfect Location ”
Review of Hotel Las Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Las Olas
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile


Hotel las olas is really Nice, i stayed in the 8 bem room (Hostel style) and everything was good! Really Nice staff and really Nice Location for a really cheap price.

The only bad thing was that it didn't included a common kitchen or so, but the food out in the nearby restaurants is cheap and quiet good.

(I went to Zicatela beach to surf)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank João Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2016

First thing, the location of this hotel is great! We got the room with balcony but the room was located inside the complex, so basically, the view from our balcony was the back of another building. That was OK with us. The balcony did make the room better as it provided us with some open space and a place to dry bathing suits. However, the design of the room was weird. The sink was outside the bathroom in a corner in the room. The worst part was the bathroom. The light was very dim. Toilet flush was very very weak and the shower was nothing more than a trickle. At a beach town, for me, it's very important to have a good shower in the room as I need to wash the ocean off my hair and body frequently. Then to top this, no floor mat was provided and they had one of those types of floors that took forever to dry. The staff was not super friendly but not rude either. They let my boyfriend use the restroom a few hours before check in (we arrived early and were lounging on the beach). It was very hot and humid so we paid the extra 200 pesos/day for AC. Overall, we spent around $45 USD/night at this place and we think for a bit more we could have found much better place.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sreyasi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. The staff seemed nice enough and helpful, although none of them speak English so sometimes communication was a challenge. They have a small but nice pool. Other guests who had been there longer than us told us that it could get very noisy at times because of the location on the main strip, but the three nights that we were there were fairly quiet. Our room was on the bottom floor towards the back of the complex, which is a quieter location. Unfortunately, the room was very small and cave-like. We had hoped that it might be one of the cooler rooms, but we found that it was still quite hot and humid. We decided to pay the extra 200 pesos a night for the air-conditioner. I was dismayed to find that a staff member comes to the room with a remote control and turns on the air-conditioner and then does not leave the remote control in the room. There is one remote control for all of the air-conditioners in the complex. We had no control over any of the settings, and initially the room became very, very cold. This meant that we had to go find a staff member and try to explain the problem, and then the staff member had to go get the remote control and then come into our room and change the AC setting. We had to do this several times. It was inconvenient. It was also quite annoying that the air-conditioner had to be running all of the time. It got so chilly in the room at night that I asked for an extra blanket… sadly, they did not have any extra blankets. Another thing about the room that was inconvenient was the design of the bathroom and shower. There is no shower curtain separating the toilet from the shower, so when you take a shower the entire floor gets very wet, including right in front of the toilet which is also where the door to the bathroom is. This means that you step out of the bathroom with wet feet and track water all over the tile floor of the bedroom. It would be helpful if they provided a bathmat or just a third towel to use as a bathmat, but they do not. Due to the conditions described above, I cannot give this place a very good rating.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KayS229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasolaspuerto, Manager at Hotel Las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

sorry to hear your disappointment ,yes you stayed in one of the smaller bungalows ,there are bathmats if you ask for it ,yes they do not give a towels to put on the floor ,i think you had problems communication with the staff they try to make all clients as comfortuble as possible when they can ,there is also more then one control to the air ,if you leave a deposit for the control you could have gotten the control to the air.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Lovely location right on the front overlooking the beach. We had a large, bright room on the 3 rd floor with a balcony. Very clean, fresh towels every day. Plenty of warm water.
There is a pool but no one seems to use it , but why would you with the beach so close?
We would stay there again

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancshiresally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Talavera ceramic accents, fridge, A/C, roomy. Laundry and grocery store nearby Views...awesome location. A bargain for the rate charged. Staff was helpful with suggestions and questions. What more can one ask for!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#20 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
33 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Rincon del Pacifico
Hotel Rincon del Pacifico
#35 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
24 reviews
1.6 km away
Careyes Puerto Escondido
Careyes Puerto Escondido
#17 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Papaya Surf Beach Hotel
Papaya Surf Beach Hotel
#27 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
36 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Ribera del Mar
Hotel Ribera del Mar
#45 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
22 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#31 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Address: Calle del Morro 15, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: €24 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Olas 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Olas is centrally located on Zicatela Beach across the street from Cipriano's Pizza. Las Olas is a small and clean hotel with twelve rooms and cabanas. All rooms have two beds, cable tv, fan, hot and cold water and WiFi. Some rooms have a small kitchen, some rooms have a view of the ocean and some rooms have a patio with a hammock. The reception is located at the surf shop at the entrance of the hotel where you can get all your beach needs. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Las Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing