We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Husband and Wife Team attention to Detail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Bay Cafe

Turtle Bay Cafe
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Edmonton
Level Contributor
163 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Husband and Wife Team attention to Detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Excellent shrimp quesadillas with verde salsa. My dining companion had grilled shrimp also excellent. He is a chef who trained in San Diego and his food is excellent. Located on the Rinconda.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank brownie6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    46
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
2 reviews
“Absolutely amazing menu, delicious food, outstanding value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We have just got home from our second visit to Alejandro's Turtle Bay restaurant, and we have had such amazing food and service there both times, we really want other people to experience how good it is!
Everything is cooked to perfection, the menu is brilliant, the specials are out of this world, and it still not out of budget.
Maker sure you try this restaurant if you are in Puerto Escondido, if you don't you are seriously missing out.
Best food we've eaten in Escondido!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best kept secret on the Rinconada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you're looking for a great place to eat fresh from the sea this is it! A small place but always packed every evening! Aleandro the owner/trained Chef will not disappoint you! We kept coming back to Turtle Bay Cafe! Also a great place for afternoon lunch of the BEST fish tacos!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank miche2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
151 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“the best seafood in Puerto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Alejandro is an experienced and accomplished chef who understands how to obtain and prepare the best seafood and fish dishes you will EVER have.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We love puerto Escondido and a huge part of the reason is Turtle Bay. I was introduced to Turtle Bay last year and I was fortunate enough to eat there again this past Christmas. Alejandro and his wife are always warm and welcoming and their little restaurant has become my home away from home. The food at Turtle Bay is consistently excellent. The dorado is prepared differently every day and it is always my first choice. My husband is equally enthusiastic about their fish tacos and he says he could eat them everyday. If you visit Puerto Escondido and you don't visit Turtle Bay in the Rinconada then you have truly missed out in the culinary experience that Puerto has to offer.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicky9door70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Bay Cafe also viewed

Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 

Been to Turtle Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing