We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
5
16
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
16
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2017

It doesn't look like much from the street but once inside you realize you are right on the beach. On site bar and restaurant. Super helpful and friendly staff. In the evenings a full on market right out the front door.
The only down side to this hotel is that if you arrive by car the parking is about 6 blocks away at another hotel owned by the same fellow.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robpeeler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Love the maids. Super kind, friendly and helpful. Nice basic, clean rooms with fan or air conditioning. A few guests stay for months during the winter and find it a great little community. Downside is the many discos on the same street which are REALLY loud, and I mean it. Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights are noisy. They run until 5 am, especially the open rooftop disco on Saturdays. It really pounds. Vibrates the hotel. Earplugs won't help. Businesses have tried to have the volume lowered because they are losing patronage. Disco guy won't cooperate. If you want a quieter sleep, you're better off at the sister hotel Barlovento up the hill across the water. But you will still hear the pounding bass sound of the disco! 24-hour security at both hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank micolerH411HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Very basic hotel, but can't beat the view and location. Clean room with a fan, tv, comfortable beds and a georgous view of the Playa Principal beach. We left our door cracked open when we were in our room so we could hear and watch the waves. Every morning my husband would get up and go down to the beach and visit with the local fisherman. One morning we bought fresh fish and took it to a local restaurant that cooked it for us!

Some negatives, but keep in mind this is common in the little hotels on the Oaxacan coast. Very small thin towels are provided for bathing with a personal size soap. No screens on the windows but they secured tight enough to where we weren't bothered with any bugs or mosquitos.

We definitely try to stay here each time we visit, but due to pricing sometimes we try other places that are cheaper.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank amydem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel has a small street frontage and can be easily missed yet it has many rooms and it's rear faces the beach. It is a spartan hotel yet clean, comfortable, and price is reflective. It has central location in the fishing village of Playa Principal and many shops and restaurants located a few meters away. Most nights the street in front of hotel is closed and vendors move onto the street to sell food, etc. Real pleasant atmosphere and substantially different than Zicatela although Playa Zicatela is about a 500 meter walk on the beach or a five minute taxi ride. I stayed over a week here and found I wanted for nothing. Very nice and helpful staff. I will return here when I visit P.E. again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
Thank Roughnecktraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff nice clean room. Recommended to go here. Bit older people than in other places. Good beds as well. Price is a bit high for the location maybe. The staff takes care of the hotel which means less privacy

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank psmile0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews