We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
24
45
15
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
45
15
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a night away and change of pace while visiting Puerto and this was a good choice for us. Comfortable rooms, nice pool, and centrally located to walk to many places to shop, eat, and watch the sunset

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Burk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

The normal rate is at least double of what it is posted. Rooms are pretty much according to their rating, tough the furniture, specially in the bathroom, is old. On top of this, service to guests is nothing but dreadful; it feels like a hotel abandoned by owners into a very inexperienced hands. Find other choices; will be easy.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Just got back and this was amazing. I just turned 50 and my friend wanted to treat me to a birthday present which was to go surfing at Puerto Escondido and stay at a nice hotel. Everything seemed fine at first a couple of days we bumped into a friend. The hotel abruptly told us he couldn't come up and visit, treating us like college kids. They tried to charge my roommate for a guest to come up and visit. Which hotel on the planet refuses to let you have a guest in the middle of the day? Nowhere but this place. My roommate had to battle out that one. They harped on us daily about paying in advance WAY before checkout even though we signed up online. We walked down a flight of stairs to get coffee and check the waves and they are all over us like buzzards unable to speak English. We said yes we will give you the credit card you already have again but we're not running right back up at 8 in the morning. Please wait. We get up and we are locked out again. Back down 3 flights of stairs and a long walk from the back. Eyes all on us like we are Isis when we walk into the lobby? Jeez, I had one beer in my room one night and was asleep every night by 11 but they keep hassling us. Room full of a mess. They don't clean. They are trying to run us out. The next morning a photographer friend comes to visit. He's in the room for 5 minutes and they call up on the phone and tell say something about an Amigo. I walk all the way down the hall back down 3 flights of stairs and say "where's the amigo?" The girl types on a translator "YOUR FRIEND MUST LEAVE." That's when I snapped. I grabbed her tabulator and told her I'm 50 years old. I'm a physician. I'm not a child. If I want a guest to stop buy I am a paying customer. He will come down when we are done looking at photos." I go back upstairs to my room and she locks me out. It's OVER! I go down and demand they bring back the English speaking person. I go through the scenarios. He apologizes for everything. I demand a refund. He assures me he will and writes a letter and I am recording on my phone. I have video and pictures of everything. He tells me that his sister is running the hotel and she's letting the anti American political sentiment impact her judgement. It's obvious the sister doesn't know what she's doing or 100% apparent she doesn't want Americans I suppose after Trump was elected. I understand but don't advertise in America, take our business and then treat us like crap. Carlos Genfico (not sure if that's how he signed his name on our promised return of money through Booking.com) told us specifically to write about our experience. Write down what happened. It may have been personal between him and his sister but at least CARLOS was helpful. The girls were purposely running us up and down the stairs, pushing all of our buttons, all while the bosses daughter had a PERSONAL POLITICAL ISSUE WITH AMERICANS. Now it all made sense. We were out, our trip ruined, got on the first plane back home and missed one of the greatest surf trips of my life. I would have moved to another hotel but to pack up my 3 surfboards and stay in the same town as that hotel was not something I could stomach. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE UNTIL THE OWNERS STOP GETTING POLITICAL. The most ridiculous thing I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Staff was great. Room nice with a wonderful A/C. Bed was a tiny bit lumpy but comfortable overall. There were 3 of us in a room and did not feel cramped. Our balcony door didn't shut well or lock. Notified the front desk and they sent someone to inspect it right away. It was fixed in less than 20 minutes! Really great service!

The pool is large and very nice. We enjoyed swimming and just relaxing.

Maid service was great and didn't tardy in cleaning while we were at the beach in the mornings.

This hotel is just steps away from Zicatela Beach. Very good location to shops, restaurants, etc...

Room Tip: Quiet hotel and great location.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights after leaving the Hotel Aldea de Bazar. This place is in an excellent location, right in the middle of the Zicatela strip - you have easy access to all the bars, restaurants, taxis, a currency exchange and ATMs.

The rooms are average, so don't expect any luxury, but they're very tidy and clean, they have great A/C and I believe they each have two beds and a balcony as well. Apparently, the water from the sinks are also run through a filter, and the pool nearby is a nice touch.

There are a few quirks that prevent me from giving the place a 5-star rating. Luckily, I had a friend with me that was fluent in Spanish, but if you don't know any Spanish then you're going to have a lot of trouble communicating with the staff at this hotel - at times I needed to pull up Google Translate to get help with small details - just a heads up if you're sensitive to these types of things. Another issue is the showers; the floors in the bathroom are completely flush and there's not a good divider between the shower and the area outside - this means that you'll have a pool of water in the bathroom after you take a shower and the entire bathroom will be slippery - I got around this by walking carefully or holding onto handles, but I definitely almost fell a few times. Also, the beds are very firm - I normally like firm beds, but just a heads up in case that's a preference that you have.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews