We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Zicatela!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights after leaving the Hotel Aldea de Bazar. This place is in an excellent location, right in the middle of the Zicatela strip - you have easy access to all the bars, restaurants, taxis, a currency exchange and ATMs.

The rooms are average, so don't expect any luxury, but they're very tidy and clean, they have great A/C and I believe they each have two beds and a balcony as well. Apparently, the water from the sinks are also run through a filter, and the pool nearby is a nice touch.

There are a few quirks that prevent me from giving the place a 5-star rating. Luckily, I had a friend with me that was fluent in Spanish, but if you don't know any Spanish then you're going to have a lot of trouble communicating with the staff at this hotel - at times I needed to pull up Google Translate to get help with small details - just a heads up if you're sensitive to these types of things. Another issue is the showers; the floors in the bathroom are completely flush and there's not a good divider between the shower and the area outside - this means that you'll have a pool of water in the bathroom after you take a shower and the entire bathroom will be slippery - I got around this by walking carefully or holding onto handles, but I definitely almost fell a few times. Also, the beds are very firm - I normally like firm beds, but just a heads up in case that's a preference that you have.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

The staff is very helpful and welcoming. The rooms are clean, with balcony and air condition. The hotel has the perfect location on Playa Zicatela. Close to bars, restaurants and grocery stores. Zicatela is not the beach for swimming, but with a 5 minute taxi ride, you can find beaches perfect for snorkeling and swimming.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Maja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here 2 times now. The first visit we left hotelito Swiss oasis as it was not what was advertized. The rooms here are clean, the beds however are so hard
It was like sleeping on a cement slab. Staff can be condescending at times. The restaurant is amazing. Food is good and fresh and the staff is great especially Liz who made friends with the kids.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank courtney t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I have been to Olas Altas 4 times, the main reasons being the restaurant attached to it, its relative quiet despite the closeness to the main road, and the rather large swimming pool that I had more often to myself than one would expect. As others mentioned, the staff DOES NOT speak English, but is nice. Watch out for the very slippery tiles in the showers and bedrooms, I slipped one morning with my wet feet, crashed backwards onto my right foot and acquired a nasty total demolition of most bones in it. Years later I am still recovering and cannot wear regular shoes because of 3 screws permanently imbedded in that foot. There are NO DOCTORS in Zicatela, and the local pharmacist gave me Ben Gay (!) for my grotesquely swollen and black colored foot. I needed surgery in the USA. Twice. With rehab afterwards.

Room Tip: rooms facing the ocean are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank papababoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

A couple of us decided to do a ride to Puerto Escondido (from Bucerias). I had booked a double room with a roll-away request. Upon arrival (after 4 days on the road) we were told the room we had reserved wasn't large enough for the extra bed. The manager, Carlos, was called. He immediately handled the situation, changing us to a larger room, with no up-charge, and had a sleeper sofa brought in. That was just the beginning of a very enjoyable stay. The staff is excellent, accommodations more than acceptable (with comfortable beds) and clean. The pool area and grounds are immaculate and the laundry service is fast, efficient and reasonably priced. And above all (for motorcycle riders), the parking was secure. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Rickster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
3.9 km away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
320 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
255 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#10 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Bungalows Santa Cruz
Bungalows Santa Cruz
#24 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
25 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
#13 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
192 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Ribera del Mar
Hotel Ribera del Mar
#45 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surf Olas Altas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surf Olas Altas

Address: Av del Moro No 310, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: €46 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Surf Olas Altas 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Olas Altas es un hotel de 4 estrellas localizado en Puerto Escondido. La Playa Zicatela, con una longitud de 3 km, cautiva a los visitantes y ha sido considerada como la playa de los surfistas nacionales y extranjeros, ya que por sus grandes olas se ubica dentro de los tres primeros lugares para la practica de este deporte a nivel mundial. Sin embargo, Puerto Escondido tambien es para aquellos que no practican el surf. Es mas, Puerto Escondido cuenta con una gran diversidad de atracciones en eco-turismo y aventuras extremas, pero mas que nada familiares. De las 7 playas en Puerto Escondido, solo 2 no son nadables; Playa Manzanillo, Playa Principal y Playa Carizalillo estan a solo 5 minutos del Hotel y son precisamente familiares. Para mencionar algunas de las atracciones d eco-turismo: Observacion de delfines y animales maritimos, Pesca Deportiva (Pez Vela/Dorado), Cascada de la Reforma, la Laguna Manialtepec (con su fenomeno de la fosforescencia despues de la temporada de lluvias), Playa Escobilla (famosa por el desove y la liberacion de tortugas maritimas), Zona Cafetalera, Aguas Termales, Mazunte con Punta Cometa (las mejores puestas de sol de la region), Zipolite & mucho mas (descubre Puerto Escondido en oaxaca.Travel). Para los aventureros habra el paracaidismo en temporadas altas, la tirolesa, tours en bicicletas o en caballo por varias zonas naturales. Desde el Hotel Surf Olas Altas, usted se podra trasladar facilmente a todas las playas y actividades. Los huespedes reciben el mejor servicio integral de calidad y calidez, 24 horas, del amable personal en el area de recepcion. Las confortables habitaciones cuentan con todos los estandares de un hotel de 4 estrellas. Cuenta con 4 tipos de habitaciones: estandar, ejecutivas, suite (las unicas con vista directa al mar y cocineta integrada), junior suite (las habitaciones king size, para hasta 8 personas entre 2 recamaras). Se Organizan eventos sociales, bodas, lunas de miel, conferencias, congresos, capacitaciones, etc. En los salones de eventos (2) o en el area de jardin y terraza. La alberca semi-olimpica cuenta con chapoteadero para ninos menores, palapas con camastros, servicio de bebidas y alimentos y una vista apreciable al mar. En Surf Olas Altas encontraras reposo y bienestar; un viaje inolvidable para toda la familia. Habitaciones y Servicios del Hotel: - 61 habitaciones (47 Estandar, 6 Ejecutivas, 4 Junior Suite, 2 Suite) - Todas las habitaciones cuentan con: Aire Acondicionado, Cafetera, Television, Telefono, Wifi, Mesa de Escritorio, Bano completo, Caja de Seguridad, habitaciones con balcon, Amabilidades - Junior Suites: 2 recamaras cada c/ camas matrimoniales. Especialmente para familias o grupos mayores. - Suite: con vista al mar, 1 cama King Size & Cocineta (equipada) - Servicios del Hotel: Estacionamiento vigilado, Lavanderia ($), Boutique, Restaurante Olas Altas, Alberca Semi-Olimpica con servicio de Bar&Snacks, Salones de Eventos ($), Elevador, Recepcion 24 hrs, Transportacion Aeropuerto-Hotel / Hotel-Aeropuerto (de Puerto Escondido), Room-Service, Wifi, Amabilidades. - Habitaciones y areas de no fumadores - Familias y Ninos bienvenidos, Gay friendly, Mascotas no permitidas - Aceptamos American Express, Visa & Mastercard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surf Olas Altas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing