We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
11
6
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
6
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I have never stayed in the hotel. I have ate in the little restaurant many times over the past 7 years. Food is excellent and fresh. Maria is an absolute gem, she has her daughter working along beside. The staff are all pleasant and obviously enjoy working there.
The patrons are a friendly and gather for happy hour. Very comfortable bar.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Suitcaseready4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The Ben--Zaa Hotel and Restaurant is a long term family run establishment that supports a local family. The rooms are simple and clean and the roof top is perfect for sunsets - so ask Maria to make you a special Margarita and head up. You are close to the downtown strip plus near the best small beach. Steve is a very good chef and makes delicious home-style meals with plenty of food. The price is economical and has great energy !

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Regala Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Without a doubt the 6 ounce tequila field margaritas are the best in town. Go for happy hour and stay for the visits in the atmosphere where everyone is friendly.
The food looks very good but unless you pre-order when you get there you will be disappointed as only a certain amount of meals are made each dinner.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Junio60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

After traveling far and wide, I can attest to the fact that the best Margaritas anywhere I have been are made here, by Maria! And the Pina Coladas are awesome as well! Happy hours are two-for-one but take the good advice given by the locals and limit yourself to one two-for-one.

This is a popular, well-known spot for happy hours and is open every day, in season, but Sunday. The kitchen also serves tasty food prepared by Steve. Along with the regular menu, a special is offered daily. Check out the lasagna and the delicious cabbage rolls.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have stayed in 16 different lodgings in Puerto Escondido during the past 14 years andhave finally settled on the Ben-Zaa as my favorite because of consistently good, home cooked food, best Happy Hour in town, large rooms with ocean breeze, clean swimming pool and airy patio where guests gather.. The location on a knoll near Playa Manzanilla makes air conditioning not necessary. Personal service is best I've found in Puerto. Taxis go past this hotel every few minutes and cost less than $2 to any of the beaches, night clubs, etc. anywhere in the area. Ben-Zaa is a great, all-around value for budget-conscious travelers.

Room Tip: I prefer oceanside for quietness and breezes
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chapulin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews