We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy as hell.”
Review of Los Juaninos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Juaninos
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I really have mixed feeling about this hotel.
One the one hand, it is perfectly located: just by the main square. The interior of the hotel has this old world charm. Our room was nice, and bed and pillows were really great. Breakfast was good.

Downsize? Noise. Not your usual bearable noise from the room nearby. No, I am talking about NOISE. The one that simply prevents you from sleeping for most of the night.
What is the most annoying is that the noise comes from the hotel itself. To be more precise: from the bar at the third floor; hosting DJs on week-ends. The noise is simply unbearable, and continues until 3 am!

This hotel needs seems to want to have it both ways: charging a premium for tourists searching for nice surrounding and comfort (this hotel is expensive); whilst wanting to entertain party animals. (hence preventing guests from sleeping)

I am not the 'go to bed at 10 PM' type of person. But if I stay at a hotel, I want to be able to sleep when I want to.

Will not return.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
4  Thank strawberita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Los Juaninos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice now and will be back again upon our next trip to Morelia. They recently redid the rooms and they are beautiful. Can't beat the view of the Cathedral either. We loved waking up to the hustle and bustle outside, the cathedral bell ringing, etc. The restaurant is great, too. Loved their breakfast and pretty reasonable. The hotel also arranged transport to and from the airport, which was great, timely, and fairly reasonable, too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensantoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

There is essentially nothing wrong with the hotel. It is right across from the Cathedra. All the restaurants are nearby. Our room was a bit unusual with no windows at all but we did not have the problem with the noise possibly because we had no windows. The breakfast was not included. The convent atmosphere was interesting. Overall it is a nice and very central and clean and atmospheric hotel with practically no facilities (including a window) for 150$ a night. For mexico this is a bit too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aturkinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

An centuries old monestary turned into a hotel, large quiet rooms and a great 'nouveau mexicana' restaurant on the roof. We will stay here again!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
Thank Christophe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Los Juaninos was located right off the main square, which is great in some ways and not so great in others. On the plus side, everything is walking distance, and the view of the main cathedral right outside our window was amazing. On the downside, as a previous reviewer noted, the bells will ring every hour starting some early hour, so if you're a light sleeper this will be a problem. Also we stayed on a weekend night, and Morelianos love to party late into the night (like 3am), with mariachi bands, etc.

This was particularly an issue since the hotel does not have air conditioning. Although the walls are thick and it doesn't get too hot, it was still necessary to leave the window open a bit, and if you're room faces the square you'll be partying whether you like it or not on weekends (weekdays I think are different).

Re: the town, it is one of the most beautiful I've seen in Mexico, and the grandeur of the churches and buildings is at the level of many places in Spain. Very good for walking, and felt very safe in the tourist areas.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank xbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 66 in Morelia
361 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#12 of 66 in Morelia
171 reviews
0.3 km away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
0.3 km away
Casa Grande Hotel Boutique
0.2 km away
Mision Catedral Morelia
Mision Catedral Morelia
#20 of 66 in Morelia
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Juaninos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Juaninos

Address: Avenida Morelos sur 39, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
#9 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range: €77 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Juaninos 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riginally a 17th-century noble palace, Los Juaninos was converted into a superb 30-room hotel in 1998 when it was renovated with all modern facilities and comforts. Yet this landmark building faithfully retains its architectural grandeur, harmonizing with surrounding Spanish colonial buildings of Morelia's Historic Center which, in its entirety, is designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. According to UNESCO, these aristocratic buildings "reflect the town's architectural history, revealing a masterly and eclectic blend of the medieval spirit with Renaissance, Baroque and neoclassical elements." The hotel's impressive facade and lobby, thick stone walls, graceful stairways and arched hallways combine with guestrooms and suites, each one distinct, forming an ambience reminiscent of Morelia's glorious past. Balconied windows have breathtaking close-up views of Morelia's cathedral: the varying shades of its pink quarry stone facade by day; glowing magnificently at dusk; and dramatically illuminated at night. The city's tree-lined main square is just across the street, a vibrant setting in the heart of Morelia, capital of the State of Michoacan. History At the end of the seventeenth century, the Captain General of New Spain and Bishop Juan Ortega y Montanez ordered the construction of the opulent Bishop's Palace in this privileged location of Morelia. Then, in 1700, the Bishop granted the building to the religious order of Los Juaninos who converted it into the Royal Hospital of San Juan de Dios which they maintained for over a century. In 1857 the building was sold to private individuals, and in 1886 it was transformed by architect Guillermo Wotton de Corinne, influenced by fashionable romantic architectural style, into the most luxurious hotel of the period, the Hotel Oseguera. It catered to first-class passengers traveling on the new railway from Mexico City to Morelia. Finally, in 1998 the building was restored to its original splendor and reopened as the Hotel Los Juaninos, with its antique French furnishings, rich fabrics, and art-nouveau stained-glass windows, as well as modern facilities including an elevator. Hotel Los Juaninos has continually undergone renovations and enhancements during the past decade. Morelia has played an important role in the history of Mexico. It was the birthplace of several heroes of the Mexican Independence, September 16, 1810, a date that is celebrated spectacularly here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Juaninos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Juaninos Morelia
Los Juaninos Hotel Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing