We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Unique place with real soul

The tour underground was a very unique and authetic experience. Our guide was a man who clearly... read more

Reviewed 31 December 2021
IMHO_93
,
Tartu, Estonia
via mobile
Book underground tour before visiting

Very nice! If you want to go underground you should book A tour before visiting. There is cold, so... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2020
Liga_Kirsone
,
Liepaja, Latvia
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
29
10
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
10
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide knowledge train ride mines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We were part of a group (you need to book in advance and with a minimum number of people) that attended the summer school at the Tallinn University (for all ages and really very interesting topics and there is also a winter school each year), and had the most awesome experience. We dressed up in mining gear for the cold and protection (hard hats) and photos. We all crammed into the underground train and then wait for the train to fetch the rest of the group. So we explored and took some awesome pictures. The guide actually worked in the mine and showed us so many awesome things! Some of the machines are still working and he started them for us. He also answered all our questions and then we had the most pleasant experience: we had our lunch underground! This was so awesome and the food so nice and the people serving it, friendly. Really highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank erna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Went there specially for underground tour which turned out that you have to book it in advance and to go underground there have to be a group of at least 10 people. So we could not go underground and instead went to see just museum. Museum alone is nothing really much what to see or do. Basiy time and money wasted.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank zumba412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This should be in Europe the only museum that takes visitors to real mining. Nice that the old machines is still working and some of them showed during the tour.
Book the tour in advance! If you just show up, you might to wait for a long time during holiday season for guided tour.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Jaanus k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Went to this place with high expectations, that night have been the problem.

The place is well kept and really cool as all the original equipment is kept and transformed into info boards and displays using new technology.

The actual underground tour is well kept and displayed but make sure you wear good walking shoes and jeans, not shorts as it does get really cold down there. You'll be giving jackets and hard hats but go prepared.

The tour guide had loads if information, but me being a foreigner had to get an audio guide as the tour was only in Estonian. The audio guide was just loads if information and not actually telling you what you're looking at it what used to happen at that particular spot, while on the other hand the tour guide was giving precise information which I couldn't understand.

I have to say this is not something to do with young kids. First of all they'll get scared and bored, which results in them not being happy, crying, stomping their feet and annoy the rest if the group.

The groups are a bit too big and one couldn't hear the tour guide at certain times, maybe a microphone and small speaker system can be used.

All in all nice one off experience with some hichups!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank saxsaliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Very realistic underground trip in real mine with really working old machines. Be aware with little children: they can be scared with a very noisy mechanisms!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews