We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid breaky”
Review of The Art Cafe

The Art Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At the Artcafé we make delicious seasonally inspired food. Our breakfast menu from 9am -11am offers a wide range of dishes from a hearty Fry-Up with Crispy Homemade Bubble and Squeak, Drop Scones with Crispy Bacon & Maple Syrup to simply Lovely Porridge or Croissants with Tiptree Jam. It’s definately the way to start your day!Lunch at the Artcafé begins at 11am and runs until 3pm and the menu changes seasonally. Whether you’re looking for a three course meal or just a bite, we offer dishes that are simple, homemade and wholesome made with love.Of an afternoon from 3pm you can enjoy our freshly made to order sandwiches, homemade cakes or perhaps an Artcafé Cream Tea {Two plump and delicious Homemade Scones with Clotted Cream and ‘Tiptree Jam served with a pot of Loose Leaf Tea} All of this surrounded by some of the best original art on offer locally.
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely staff and good genuine food!! Substantial snd tasty. We had drop scones with bacon and a full english. Coffee was good too. Art work is also good quality inside the cafe. We will be returning.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank pominsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

I live on Mersea and anytime, we go out for breakfast or lunch we will go here! Always great food and lovely helpful staff, love to eat it here.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank zow-gits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Lovely&clean with a good choice of menu.The food is absolutely delicious &the cakes are the very best in town!!i personally love the rarebit as the crab is so fresh&it is presented beautifully.the portion sizes are generous also.staff seem extremely pleasant, always.One lady even made me the rarebit especially when i was too late to order it!!(&i appreciated that)the carrot cake is divine&i have bought a whole one for a weekend as it is such a treat=homemade to PERFECTION.the other cakes are equally as good&for afters recently i tried to sticky toffee pudding-&i wasn't left disappointed as it was fabulous!!!!Atmosphere friendly.Staff are on it:)Food is next to none!!!BEST in town.The place is spotlessly clean&the value4 what you get is fantastic.i would highly recommend going.i also like the breakfasts &the sister shop in town as equally as good foodwise. These people really know what they are doing when it comes to taste!! VERY VERY GOOD place to eat indeed.Everything is lovely&fresh&alot of thought has gone into such good food.THANKYOU.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RuLu9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We arrived about 10.30 and were offered a very good choice of breakfast menu (served until 11am.) I had poached eggs on toast which were cooked to perfection and my husband had a croissant and was impressed with the generosity of butter! Staff all very nice and service prompt and the food was excellent value. We also liked the art on display and felt the cafe had a good, relaxing atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HettyBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

It was a warm day and we decided to sit outside. The only available table had just been vacated, but the server cleared it and wiped it over when we asked to take it. There was a good choice of items on the menu: my wife had a salmon baguette, while I went for the mackerel version. Very tasty and accompanied by coleslaw and tortilla chips. I wanted a cool drink, but not just water, so had a refreshing black current squash. All three servers were obliging and glad to meet their customers' wishes.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Art Cafe also viewed

Mersea Island, Colchester
Mersea Island, Colchester
 
Mersea Island, Colchester
Mersea Island, Colchester
 
Mersea Island, Colchester
Mersea Island, Colchester
 

Been to The Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing