We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
67
55
21
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
55
21
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelbusiness trippool areacosta ricawonderful restaurantonsite restaurantroom was very clean and comfortableedwardmallluggageschool
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The hotel is well located in San Jose, rooms are fairly large, shower is may be a bit old but everything works. Breakfast is correct and the restaurant, Juergen's is pretty good as well. I found it great during a business trip.

Room Tip: upper rooms, not street level
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudiobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

The rooms are very nice. The staff is great. The breakfast is great. The hotel is walking distance to a mall with a big food court. The restaurant at the hotel, Juergens, is great. It also is possible to walk to the Jade Museum and Gold Museum (both are fantastic) or catch a taxi. The hotel has a great limo service back to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Not a fancy hotel, but the staff were wonderful and helpful! Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool, and with the windows open, we never needed the A/C (which I hate). Decent breakfast (included in the rate) - different each morning, and the coffee was great. This was near the University of CR, which is why we were located there. Great Wi-Fi, which was free.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrscorrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Over all is this a very nice small hotel. Staff is very friendly. Comfy beds. Lovely atmosphere with a swimming pool and cosy areas to sit both inside and outside.

There is also a dinner restaurant that looked nice but it was closed during our visit.
Breakfast was included, fairly good but basic.

The hotel is situated in a calm area 4 kilometres outside the city centre. There are plenty of busses leaving towards the centre nearby. Next to the hotel is also a big mall.

Reasons why I gave this hotel 3 and not 4:

The door/walls are paper thin, you can hear everything that happens in the corridor or outside the window. And even thou it's a calm area it's irritating enough to get woken up by the guests coming in late or leaving early.

A noisy Air-conditioning was also disturbing - not the one in our room but outside the window...

Wifi was free but unstable.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We stayed at this hotel while driving from one side of Costa Rica to the other, we selected it out of TripAdvisor, thus we had a pretty good idea of what to expect. The young man and woman at the front desk were quite pleasant and friendly, the gentleman who greeted us at the front door guided us to the perfect parking place right in front of the hotel, which was fantastic because it was raining! Our room was great, nice and comfortable. It was located on the front, street side of the hotel, but it was very quiet and the free wi-fi worked quite well from the room. The pool area looks very nice, however we didn't use the pool. The breakfast included with the room is basic, but well thought out. We would definitely stay here again, however we would not dine at the main restaurant Jurgens again, but will address that in a review specific to the restaurant as I don't want to tank this review of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews