We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
53
26
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
26
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eggs ham pool pila apartment guests agriturismo daughter meals team carlotta tree cook run age magnolia reason
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Wonderful place; great hosts; splendid accommodation: worth every penny! We stayed at La Pila for twelve days in May 2016, and we had a great time exploring the immediate surroundings on bike, and places like Padova, Verona, Mantova, Ferrara, Vicenza and even Lago di Garda by car. Spinimbecco is conveniently situated for excursions to all of these places. This is a place I would certainly recommend to anyone who is interested in visiting this area. Oh, and the pool is great, too!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJMDEHAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenutaLaPila, Proprietario at Agriturismo Tenuta La Pila, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear Pieter,
thank you again for your wonderful words.
Sometimes peolpe don't know how beautiful our land can be (our village isn't famous as some cities :-)
Anyway, we are waiting to you maybe next year so you can visit other places and try other bycicle tours of our Agricycle Veneto net!

See you soon and have a nice summer.
A big hug from all of us and in particular from our little Luca (as you read Spotty is no more with us :-(

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Very nice agriturismo with pool. It is surrounded by fruit trees. The apartment we stayed with 5 people had everything we needed (kitchen, 2 bathrooms, wifi, airco). There is also a kitchen available for all guests. Breakfast is good. On some evenings dinner is served, simple italian food but very tasty. Breakfast is good. We really enjoyed the walks on the propriety. Agriturismo is in the country so you definitively need a car but Verona, Vicenza, Padua, Lake Garda etc are all less than an hour's drive away. Definitively recommended !

Room tip: Rooms and apartments available. I would recommend a room on the ground floor with direct access to outdoors
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natali07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenutaLaPila, Proprietario at Agriturismo Tenuta La Pila, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Natali07 :-),
thank you very much for your preference again.
We hope to see you in the future, maybe in summer so you can taste also our fruits.

A big huf, Sartori family and all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Arriving to villa Bartolomea the surroundings was underplaying as it looked a bit rural. However passing the gate and arriving at tenuta la pila a true oasis occured. The estate is kept to perfection with a very nice and cosy apartment including A/C . Also we enjoyed the daiy cleaning. It is very authentic with only few tourist which we prefer. The pool surrounded by kiwi trees is awfull. We stayed at the place for 6 nights but would have preferred to stayed there for two weeks. Also we still need to discover Veneto region. We definitively want to come back! Thanks for a great experience. The Faurskov family from Denmark

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BFaurskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenutaLaPila, Proprietario at Agriturismo Tenuta La Pila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Family Faurskov,
we are happy to know that you have very nice memories about La Pila and about our region. We will be really pleased to host you again in your next trip to discover better Veneto.
Anyway, if you enjoyed your holiday in an Agriturismo, we have several friends in other areas of Italy which we can easily suggest to you for another marvellous holiday in a really authentic farm.

Just one small detail abour your review: we imagine that, about our pool, you wanted to say something as "marvellous" and not "awful" which means terrible... but, in case, we are open to hear your true opinion about it!

If you will come back next year, you will know Luca, Carlotta and Bruno's baby :-)

Best regards,
Raimonda and Alberto Sartori with Carlotta, Bruno and Luca and ... Spotty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

We needed a good night of sleep after too many bad B&Bs and hotels on our most recent tour of Italy... we found this place by accident and even though it was 30 minutes from where we needed to be that evening, we booked it anyway, and I'm glad we did. Super clean, cozy room... We got a great night's sleep (comfy, firm beds, and very very quiet surroundings) and had a wonderful breakfast, served by the owner's daughter, who was friendly and made sure we had everything we needed (including excellent scrambled eggs that come from their farm). It looks like a great place for a summer stay - there's a pool - but we were there in late February, and it was quiet, peaceful, and exactly what we needed. Grazie, ci ritorneremo di sicuro!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at Tenuta La Pila for a week, and ate their two of the seven nights.

The food, while being well cooked and presented, was simple, basic and offered no real choice. You ate what you were given essentially. Also after a day of travelling we arrived expecting to get a meal for our 22 Euros each, instead we had sandwiches, and a little piece of cake. This is really not sufficient for a evening meal, especially not after travelling. The other evening meal we attended was slightly larger, consisting of an aubergine omelette and some salad. Neither me nor my partner like aubergine, so we were stuck to eating the slightly above average starter (pasta and bean soup) and bread. Again not sufficient for an evening meal. The breakfasts served at the hotel are good, they are all you can eat fruit, toast, cereal, and little cakes, they also offer you a choice of fried, scrambled or boiled egg. On a final note about the food, the hotel caters for Italian, English and Germans for the most part, however the menus were only in Italian, and the fridge menu (wines and what not) were only in Italian and German. It would not be difficult for the owners to translate the menus as they speak very good English. Instead it just reeks of laziness.

The facilities were mixed, over all the grounds were stunning. The pool and the pool area were really good; the loungers were comfortable and plentiful and there are sun blocking umbrellas (though for some reason you are not allowed to moved them), the only problem with the pool was the erratic opening and closing times. Personally I felt that there should either be a set time or it should just be left open all the time - for example me and my partner got back from Verona on a very hot day and were talking about going for a swim while getting changed, when we looked outside the pool was being covered. This was at about 6:30. There are horses on site, which is lovely, but you have to pay to ride them for an hour and from what we were told it sounds like a very basic ride (more of a kids thing). There is also Spotty (I think?) the dog. Who is awesome. Bikes are advertised, however out of a dozen only two were really safe to ride as the rest had poor - none existent breaks. Furthermore we asked for a pump and were told that there were plenty around where the bikes were. There were in fact none.

The room itself was very nice. The decoration and ambience were lovely and it was generally a delight to stay in - lovely bathrooms, a decent kitchen and a little living/dining area. However the bed was far too hard and the pillows were even harder. This made it quite difficult to sleep at night. The room (Rosa) was advertises as having a bath with a jacuzzi feature, however the bath's plug did not work and thus we had access to neither feature. We asked for this to be fixed however we were IGNORED. The cleaners seemed to be more for show than anything else, they made the bed...that was about it.

Alberto himself was helpful and talkative, although one did get the impression one was imposing sometimes, which is not very professional. His wife we found to be incredibly condescending and rude, however his daughter (the cook) was always pleasant, helpful and smiling.

The surrounding area is nice, pretty and a little empty, but one can hardly complain as the tranquillity was lovely.

There is also a fantastic little shop on the way into Spinimbecco that gave us a free pot of pesto and always greeted us with a smile. Despite not having a clue what we were talking about! It was incredibly kind of these people to help us muddle through our three words of Italian and buy our shopping.

Finally the main issue we had with the place. On one of the earlier days we were awoken by my partners parents to be told that in less than half an hour there were plumbers due in our apartment. Later we were informed that the plumbers changed the time they were arriving. However we still believe we should have been told that there were work men due (no matter the time) the day before, as we sometimes spent a day by the pool. Personally I am quite irritated that the hotel was planning on letting strangers who do not work for them into where my valuables were being kept, unsupervised. I had to stay in the room and delay our breakfast to keep an eye on our things. This is utterly unprofessional and frankly obnoxious.

If the people had more friendly and professional this would have received a four star. If the food had been better in addition to the people being more friendly and professional it would have received a five star.

Room tip: The Rosa apartment is lovely. Just make sure everything actually works.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Benjacoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgrTenutaLaPila, Proprietario at Agriturismo Tenuta La Pila, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Guest,
it’s not so easy to reply to your comments, also because I learned from some English friends that it is not so polite to talk about personal faults or behaviours.
I am just wondering if the quality of an opinion could be related also to its length and, maybe, the quality of a guest to his report :-)
Therefore I do not want to point you out some inaccuracies or tendentiousnesses of your report but I just thank you about your appreciations on our daughter Carlotta, who is the present and future of our Agritourism (NOT hotel): we are really proud of her and of her husband Bruno. Raimonda and myself will be soon the past and we are glad enough knowing that many guests found us friendly and professional and our food simply marvellous and abundant.
Then, as you wrote, we dare believe to be on the right way to the 5 stars :-)
Let me conclude with just one thing more about my wife. Raimonda is a great worker, always present and ready to help and attending to the guests BUT she is in the meantime so genuine and sincere that she is not able to hide her feelings. So, if she thinks or sees that someone doesn't respect OUR HOME - ops, pardon, OUR Agritourism (NOT hotel) and its rules, she feels really upset :-(
Best regards from “the not very professional” Alberto and “the rude” Raimonda Sartori, with Carlotta and Bruno, all "reeking of laziness"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews