We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
38
17
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
17
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto los cabos shared bathroom few minutes walk espresso machine sound of the waves wake
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I found the Palapas Resort to be a really great location for anyone who wants to be away from the commotion of the tourist corridor. That being said, the #5 bus stops outside the front gate and will take you right into the heart of historic downtown San Jose and onto the grocery stores if needed. There is a beautiful walking path around the new harbor that leads to Cabo Dolphins and a neat restaurant called "the Container". The walk is both safe and hassle free. From the marina (which is 4 blocks away) you can book a full or half day fishing trip. It is a short 2 block walk to a really nice quiet beach. Make sure to walk/bus to the Cactus Gardens on the road to San Jose.
The resort itself is casual and relaxed. If you stay in one of the two palapas you share a nicely equipped kitchen and a bathroom. John is eager to help answer any of your questions, and to make your stay more comfortable. We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I had a great time and felt safer here than most places in the U.S. John, the owner, is a lot of fun. He knows the area really well and can give you tips on places to go. The resort is very close to the beach and easy walking distance to the Marina. Accommodations range from a relatively simple one-room palapas to a two-story, modern house with ocean view and infinity pool.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palapas Resort in May 2012 and had a really great time. We were really happy with the accomodation, our room was clean and very comfortable. We also loved the out door kitchen where we prepared delicious salsa every night. John, the owner, was really nice and always up for a chat. Palapas is really well located with some great local eateries nearby serving the most amazing fish tacos. We would however recommend hiring a car as well and exploring the beautiful beaches and little mexican towns like Todos Santos.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I stopped here for a few nights in May 2012, and really enjoyed a chance to enjoy a more hostel like experience. John P was around and very nice. Hammocks, ping pong, a kitchen to share, no frills otherwise but very relaxing. We felt it was a nice contrast to the resorts dotting the rest of the southern coast of Baja.

Its also a great launch point to Cabo San Lucas or San Jose del Cabo. Its outside of town in La Playita, which is a great small town on its own, and gives you more of a glimpse of what real Baja is like. The little palapa was fine, and since we were alone, the shared bathroom wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricJMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A large group of us (4 families) spent spring break at Palapas this year. We rented the whole compund and found the varied accommodations well suited to provide both privacy and communal space. The location in the small fishing village of La Playita gets you away from the tourist scene and lets you truely relax. With the exception of the occasional over friendly dog on the beach we felt safe and secure the entire time we were there. John is a welcoming and relaxed host. Both kids and adults had a great time at Palapas and wouldn't hesitate to spend another spring break there in the future. Palapas is a real gem!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmur_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews