We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
22 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
US$98
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
WIOL.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,145)
Filter reviews
10,145 results
Traveller rating
2,995
3,657
1,750
855
888
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,995
3,657
1,750
855
888
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed in building sports bar ocean view infinity pool water taxi specialty restaurants asian restaurant lovers beach a la cartes pool parties make reservations michael jackson show quieter pool main lobby younger crowd cabo wabo all inclusive resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 10,145 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

The food was soooo bad! Really bad. The food was really unacceptable. I’m not even that picky but the food was really bad! I can’t believe the Riu would serve such horrible food. It’s a shame. The paying customers should get decent food.

Date of stay: February 2021
2  Thank lizmZ3877YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear Liz,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Riu Santa Fe. We greatly appreciate the time you took to share the details of your visit.

Our Chef Team strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes, and we are very sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations.

Please accept or upmost sincere apologies, and be assured we have shared your feedback with the appropriate departments to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and follow up the described issues.

It is important for us that you know that regaining your trust and faith in our hotel is very important to us. For this reason, we hope to be able to invite you back as a personal guest for a future stay at our hotel to show that we are able to provide the level of service expected on a consistent basis.

Sincerely,

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

It isn't neccessary for me to write the horrid details, read the poor reviews of which their are hundreds. They are mostly very accurate and in great detail.

I attest to the fact that drug dealers are hounding you day and night from the beach. You can't walk to the guard rail by the pools to watch the ocean and beach without a constant drumbeat of pushers vying for your attention. Don't bother walking on the beach. Don't let your teenagers or children get anywhere near the beach.

The security is basically non-existent. This resort is not safe. No police patrols or any attempt by authorities to run off the trouble makers.

It's very outdated and the lack of room maintenance is severe.

The restaurants are mostly closed because lack of paying guests and the resort is losing money like crazy.the poor food option are a reflection of this.

The resort and the people are extremely desperate for money. It's the great depression on steroids at this time.

I don't know if the other resorts are any better but I would suspect they are also having serious problems at this time.

Take your family or yourself to a known safe place in the USA. You will have a better time and not have to deal with all this BS in a corrupt foreign nation. It's not worth the money savings for certain.

The resort has an one reputation manager to respond to all the reviews. They need it to stay in business.

You have been adequately warned. Blame yourself if you disregard this advice.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JimmyTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Dear Jimmy,

Thank you for choosing us and your review.

We are so sorry to hear that this stay was below both your expectations and our standards, and that the details you have described have left such a lasting impression.

With every beloved guest, we do our best to provide an excellent service experience in which our guests enjoy clean and comfortable rooms as well as a friendly and helpful staff. In fact, we pride ourselves on it.

We apologize for the issues encountered. Your feedback is genuinely helpful, as it is the first step in identifying areas where we can better our guest services. Please be assured, we are working with our team to follow up your concerns.

We would be very grateful if we could have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

We booked a suite online and when we arrived there were no suites available and they offered us a double joining room, one of the older rooms. We asked to be switched to the renovated rooms and we were 5 doors down from our family. It was the same exact food day in and day out. Not very good, and the worst part is that the hotel staff stole $900 out of my sisters purse while we were out swimming.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Cocosweet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying and writing us a review.

First of all, we would like to sincerely apologize about the experience you had with us, and surely regret that your stay was impacted by the incident as mentioned at the pool area.

The security of our guests is one of our highest priorities since we want all of our guests to experience some care-free and safe holidays while staying with us. As an added precaution we have invested so that all our rooms are equipped with a safety deposit box provided free of charge at all times.

As mentioned on the registration card on arrival, valuable items and money have to be stored in the safety deposit box. Please note that therefore the insurance company merely assumes responsibility when the objects of value were stored in the room’s security safe at the moment of the disappearance or in case of forcible entry as per your check-in documents you signed to agree to our terms and conditions.

Of course, we cannot accuse anybody without having ample proof. However, unfortunately from your user name we cannot find any corresponding hotel booking nor derive enough information to find your case or which agency you booked through, so that we kindly invite you to raise a formal and detailed complaint through our After Travel Complaints Department via complaints@riu.com for a proper follow up.

We never want our guests to leave us with an unpleasant experience with the stay or the staff hospitality as well, as strive each day in order to make our guests smile and happy. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and will help us improve our services as we genuinely value our guests' reviews.

It is our hope you give us another chance to provide you with a better stay.

Best Regards,

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021

Very nice to get away after a year of Covid-19. Place was not crowded and staff were great. I would come back again and remember to bring a light Jacket and long pants for the cool evenings. Seeing the whales was a plus.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
1  Thank Kathey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kathey,

We truly appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. Thank you so much for your positive review on Tripadvisor!

It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy your time here with us and it is always a pleasure to read about our remarkable staff and the provided hospitality.

Please come visit us again next time.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021 via mobile

Employees at Riu Santa Fe are consistently enthusiastic and polite. We are on 4th day of 6 day trip and I have only been treated with kindness and friendliness from 100% of staff.
Food has been average with a few exceptions of great.
Beverage service is phenomenal.
Thank you for a great vacation!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Idgypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay with us.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in our property and were treated well by the staff. Certainly, we will be sure and relay your impressions with our colleagues.

We very much appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews