We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,383)
Filter reviews
7,383 results
Traveller rating
3,383
2,302
840
470
388
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,383
2,302
840
470
388
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantspecialty restaurantsactivity poolquiet sideocean viewquiet poollunch buffetmake reservationswater taxiall inclusive resortlovers beachbeds pushed togetherlobby barall inclusivesstand in linetravel agentsteak restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 7,383 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Thank you Mila with customer relations for a fantastic stay. She was very attentive and honored our request for our anniversary trip. I've stayed at the RIU Palace in Cancun before and RIU in Cabo is far superior in food, service, and grounds.

Grounds: immaculate with gorgeous views of the ocean and rock formations

Service: fantastic! Dont expect AAA five star five diamond service. However the staff are extremely kind and friendly. Thank you so much Sebastian for helping us stay cool with the non stop Mojito service.

Food: typical all inclusive food. Buffet lacks variety. Same selection for lunch daily. Speciality restaurant food was also ok. Lamb at Krystal was good, shrimp at Mexican was tasty, and Bombay offered a variety of Indian flavors that in my opinion was their best restaurant. Japanese and Italian was lacking in flavor.

Room: nicely renovated and spacious. We had the ocean view king. Gorgeous view. Bed was comfortable. Double shower was also very nice. Housekeeping does a phenomenal job of stocking the fridge daily and keeping the room spotless.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank livelifetraveloften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

It's a beautiful hotel with hospitable staffs. Nice swimming pool, nice beach and nice tours if you want to explore outside of the hotel. Food is good, but for buffets, I hope the vegetarian dishes can be labeled so we vegetarians can feel more comfortable selecting our food.

Room Tip: East side is the activity pool and west side is the quiet pool. We were lucky that we booked the rooms on the west side.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico twice a year. This resort was clean and parts of it beautiful, but not once did our group of seventeen have a great dinner experience. Usually, you are either given the option of making reservations. This resort did not take reservations. They stopped serving at 9, but we were turned away at 8 and another time, 8:30. They will not try to seat bigger groups, which I would understand, except that half of the restaurant was empty. I was never offered coffee with dessert. (a first.) - and the service was very, very slow. Often, you would see the good waitstaff struggle to keep our water glasses full. It was unanimous at the end of the trip, that they need to take some of the people mopping the floors and put them in the restaurants.
Otherwise, the resort is very pretty. The rooms were fine, the view is beautiful.
The ocean was too rough to swim, but the crashing waves were amazing.
Overall - nice place, the country of Mexico is a beautiful place with beautiful people. But, the RIU Palace in Cabo ranks low for quality of service and food.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel in Mexico and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the beauty of our beach.

We regret to read that you didn’t agree with the booking system and the opening times of our specialty restaurants. Considering the number of reservations and our experience, we’ve found this system to be the most convenient in our hotels, although we are always open to suggestions.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

My husband and I had went with a group that travels together every summer. And the group has grown to about 25 people. This was my first time at a Riu and most likely my last. There was not much about my experience that would make us want to come back.

As far as the hotel being clean....it was.

The thing that disappointed us was most of all the food. We had paid for an all inclusive resort and we had to go into the town of Cabo to eat. We did tolerate the breakfast and lunch but at night unless you got out of the pool early to make it to the Resturant by 5-6 o'clock you didn't get in. Then you had to go to the buffet. And we did try to go early and try the resturant and when we got there we ended up not being able to eat our food. We all got up and went to the buffet. The food was just in no other words but terrible.

The swim up bar was very small (there were 2)and our group would have filled the whole pool up. So we stayed in the larger pool but the drink service was really slow. And they only allowed 1 towel per person and every day you had to return it daily and get a clean one which there was only 1 place to do that and it was on the other side of the resort.

As far as Cabo was great and the town of Cabo is safe. And we felt very safe there. But next time I will NOT be staying at the RIU. On our trips into town I seen many other nice places and I'll be trying those out next trip.

This Riu was a total disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests.

We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We have sent your comments and suggestions to the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

The only downside of this hotel was the buffet for breakfast,lunch and snacks.They were not appealing to me whatsoever.The Italian restaurant was really good though.They also had a little stand by the pool where they prepared pork chops , chicken and tacos that were pretty good! Next time I'll bring my own snacks.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wannabtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews