We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,603)
Filter reviews
2,603 results
Traveller rating
1,645
659
183
74
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,645
659
183
74
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvacation clubgirasoles restauranttoaster oventime sharebeautiful resortmexican bingorented a carocean viewthrough rcilos caboskids poolfull kitchenpresidential suitefamily vacationsan josepools are greatmeal plan
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 2,603 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I came to this resort specifically due to the fact that it was removed from town and had a "private" beach. The down side of this being that you have to spend $25 each direction for taxi transportation to and from town. OR you can take the shuttle for $6 per person each direction, but you have to pay for round trip in advance, you cannot decide to take the shuttle back from town if you do not have the prepaid ticket, lol! Also, the shuttle only runs every 90 min. I think I would definitely come back to this resort if they would provide a FREE shuttle into town. As do other resorts that I have stayed at that are out of the way. I would still eat on site, because I enjoy staying back at the resort! The other reason I chose this resort was to enjoy a VIEW of the "private" beach. Upon checking in, I asked if we could please get an ocean view room. We got a view of a parking lot with a peak-a-boo view of the ocean over about 5 buildings! I personally don't think there should be any rooms whose balconies overlook a parking lot in a resort of this caliber! However, I went back the next day to ask to be moved and Gabriel and Luis at the front desk were VERY accommodating. We not only got our ocean view, but got a room upgrade as well. Thank you Gabriel!! This completely saved my week!

We really enjoyed the pool. They have plenty of lounge chairs! The gals that run the activities are fantastic. The bartending class was especially fun! The restaurants were great! We went to Girasoles most nights. A special shout out to Abel at Girasoles who made an effort to welcome us and make it really fun for us! Pitahayas was beautiful for an early evening cocktail. De Cortez was absolutely gorgeous for a late evening dinner almost right on the beach with live guitar music! We finally got to Tomatoes the last night of our stay. It had been closed so they could have buffets the other nights which we did not take advantage of. Good pizza!

Overall, we had a fantastic stay! In my opinion, the Meal Plan is too expensive, but I truly enjoyed the restaurants on site. We ate and drank on site most of the week unless we were out on an excursion and there is no way we came close to $169 per person, per day. So they need to come down on that if they want people to take advantage of it. Also, a resort that far removed needs to take care of its guests by shuttling them back and forth. This is a standard that I am accustomed to.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 298carinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear 298carinj.

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Hacienda del Mar, I am sharing your thougths to the rest of the management in order to look for improvements. I told Gabriel, Luis and Abel and they appreciate your recognition.

We look forward to see you back very soon.

Kind regards.

Manuel de la Mora
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Food at Los girasoles is to pricey and poor quality no flavor at all the resort is nice and clean everyone is helpful and friendly location is great if you want to relax is a good place to stay I didn't try the other restaurants maybe good

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jesus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Jesus L.

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we appreciate your kindness.

We look forward to see you back very soon.

Kind regards.

Manuel de la Mora
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

5 Stars on everything except a couple very minor challenges.
- If you think you can check in your room before 4:00....forget it. We got some BS that engineering needed to sign off to ensure everything was working. The clock wasn't, but who needs a clock on vacation?
- Bring a Yeti to pour your drinks in. Their ice might be as cold as 31.5 F for their drinks (a generous estimate), they become watered down in minutes.
- They will ask you what time you want your room serviced within a 2 hour window. That window is closer to 12 hours, so use the privacy sign or latch if you don't want to be disturbed.

Other than that, an absolutely wonderful experience. If you go fishing, get your fish fillet and bring to Tomatoes. They will create wonderful dishes...bot Chef Fernando and Chef Demetrio.

If you buy alcohol for your room, you only have two ice trays, but every restaurant/bar will give you their 'soft' ice to put in the freezer. Take advantage, you are on vacation, and the prices in the mart are very reasonable.

The vendors on the beach are minimal and most are very friendly....not as pushy as other places we have been.

Minimal children on the several stays we have been there...always a positive when trying to "get away", but don't expect none as you would at an adults only resort.

Shuttle to Cabo is reasonable and regular. Same for the airport.

Love it...you will, too!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alfred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Alfred T.

We appreciate much your kind review, and let us apologize for the non pleaseant details that you mentioned, we will improve our procedures, thank you for the heads up.

We look forward to see you back very soon.

Kind regards.

Manuel de la Mora
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had a wonderful family vacation, we loved the location of the Hacienda a few minutes from all the hustle and bustle of Cabo's main town. Hacienda del Mar was very tranquil and had the best french fries (Papas a la Francesas). We loved the architectural buildings, the beautiful landscaping and peaceful ocean views.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lorenadN2024GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear LorenadN2024GM.

Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate your recognition.

Let´s plan on your next visit to Hacienda del Mar very soon!

Kind regards.

Manuel de la Mora
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Total experience was better than previous years. Loved Ten car rental. Food plan was lovely. The furniture in the rooms should be changed. The orange sofas are totally uncomfortable. Pillow not so good. .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Susan S.

Thank you very much for sharing your kindness, we really appreciate your comments.

We look forward to see you back very soon.

Best regards.

Manuel de la Mora
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews