We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickel and Dime your "all inclusive"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo San Lucas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #66 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We came for a wedding and decided to stay for a week. We are a family of six. All boys. So all inclusive means they can eat their way through this place. Well this place should be called a semi inclusive.

Food:
Although the food was very good it was hard to know where your all inclusive was accepted and when it was accepted. All inclusive stops at 10:30. Then you get charged for everything. Room service charges a fee every time you use it even during all inclusive hours. The drinks were another matter. Each bartender had a different response on which alcohol was included. You can only get two at a time and they seem to be understaff in the bar. You have to sign for everything, I get it. They want to keep track. However, their computers went down which meant it took over an hour to get 2 beers. The best bet is to give the server at the pool a big tip up front and they work very hard. That was the best experience. My kids biggest complaint was the lack of water available. They only will give you two small bottles per person and there are no refilling areas. I just felt like everything was a pain to get. My advice, stop at duty free on your way in and buy your favorite alcohol. Then go by Walmart and pick up a couple of cases of water. ...... Oh and don't eat the honor bar stuff in your room, that's not included in your all inclusive package.

Excursions:
We wanted to go snorkeling and I was in the office getting my family set up when 3 different families came in complaining that the wave runner that they paid for wasn't there. Another family was left at their area and no one came to get them for parasailing. The lady informed them that the ocean was too rough where they were going and they canceled all motorized sports for the day. However, these families were never informed. I should of turned and ran, but instead I asked about my trip. I was assured I was going somewhere else and it would be fine. We took a taxi to the dock and were boarding when the crew informed us we were probably not going to be able to snorkel but we could go for a boat ride and they would stop in a cove so we could swim and have lunch. Well after spending $450US I was less then excited about boarding a bumpy boat for a four hour tour that didn't include snorkeling. We didn't board and went back to the hotel where they gave us our money back. She started to argue that most people were just happy to go for a ride at sea and it was our choice to not get on. Luckily another passenger also returning was very good about explaining we were not getting what we paid for and therefore, entitled to get our money back. They did refund the trip. So that was good.

Shows:
Went to the Michael Jackson show...very entertaining.

Rooms/property:
Clean

Pool:
Fun whale slide
Pool servers work hard
Pool closes at 9PM. That was a bummer for the boys. Each night they wanted to swim after dinner and that wasn't possible for a 6PM reservation to get out of the restaurant before 8:30-9.

Overall it just felt like we were nickel and dimed. If you think you are heading to an all inclusive, and you've done them before, read the fine print at this place and make sure you know what you are getting you and your family into.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Ami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2015

Missiones has a lot of plusses, but the experience probably depends on the condo you get. Ours was clean and spacious and had lovely Land's End and pool views. It did have doors that did not close well due to what we assumed was moisture-related swelling. The landscaping is well maintained, but the building is showing some age. The area around the reception shows wear and tear, windows one passes on the way to the northern of the two pools are boarded up, that pool bar looks like it has been closed for awhile ( the other is open) and the hot tub was not heated. The area around the second pool is much nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

I thought getting away from bad weather was enough but once we arrived at condo we knew this was more than enough. Location is away from hassles of downtown Cabo but close enough to take a $1 bus ride when we wanted action. Private beach with of breaching whales all day, fun poolside bar with great tacos and drinks, plus music twice a week. Best restaurant Mona Lisa within walking distance with unbelievable sunsets... Road in to resort is bad but a delightful market that has great breakfast at the gate. We are going back next year for 3 weeks!

Room Tip: We stay in condo area, not hotel. I don't think hotel is doing well...looks rundown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Candy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We searched for weeks to find the right place for a land visit to Cabo San Lucas and kept coming back to vrbo 58904 - a one bedroom penthouse with wrap around deck and full on view of the Arch and city. Furnished with Tommy Bahama furniture it met our requirements. Although the 40+ steps up to the unit is trying on my aged heart it was very manageable with a short stop half way up. The view morning, noon and night is spectacular.
The resort is not as run down as some have said. Gardeners are out virtually every day at dawn keeping the grounds totally ship shape.
Comprised of some owners, many absentee owners who rent their condo(s), and some time share units you will obviously get various levels of new or old. While our unit is ship shape we heard of other units have little upkeep by the owners - threadbare towels, cupboard doors with broken hinges etc. THIS unit is one worth staying in.
Owned by a gentleman in Denver, it is managed locally by Bob Pearsall who looks after everything "right a way" (not mexican time meaning "some time soon, maybe".
Bob knew our arrival time so had some complimentary cold water and beer in the fridge for us - as well as two martini glasses and shaker on the table since he knew our "weakness".
The pool is wonderful and so far after 2 weeks has not been over crowded although some family have brought young children - but mostly well behaved.
This resort is for a more mature group of adults.
Pepe runs the swim up bar and they have great tacos for $2 and beer for $2. On Wednesday night there is a Mexican theme buffet, small but good - and $8 per person. On Friday it repeats with a fresh fish theme. Closed on Tuesdays.
There is no other bar or restaurant at Misiones, but Sunset Point wine and pizza is a one minute walk towards the sunset, as is the famous Sunset da Monalisa Italian restaurant - both remarkable with a view you will remember for years to come - and food to match. (we have been twice for pizza and brought half back home for lunch the next day.)
Taxi's are about $15 USD to Walmart (one way) and $20+ to San Lucas. Be aware that taxi fares seem to rise considerably at night and often on a per-person basis (always ask before getting in!). We rented a car from "Dominic" and would do so again.
The condo comes with weekly maid service which is a nice treat. (any leftover food in the fridge don't worry - you can donate it to the cleaners family !)
And, finally, there is a private beach with palapa huts a short walk down about 47 steps (the condo has two beach chairs and towels)
The main patio doors open up fully (into the wall), but the bedroom although having a full size patio door only has sheers for drapery - so the room lights up early and during full moon nights.

Our recommendation is this: we are going to rent again next year and the year after that.

Room Tip: pick this unit, or a penthouse so you don't hear the noise from upstairs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ed3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was our second trip to Misiones the first being about 2 years ago. We really enjoyed the atmosphere of the main pool a couple of years ago and were very disappointed to find out it had been closed . The hotel side was a ghost town during our stay and was a bit disappointing. On the brighter side, our unit was perfect. Seemed to be newly decorated and furnished with a great view. The restaurant was good and the Sunset Mona Lisa was as good as we had remembered. Before booking your vacation there I would ask if the hotel side is open again, expecially the pool area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susyTbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.8 km away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
2.8 km away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,838 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
5.7 km away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.5 km away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7, Manzana 10, Punta Ballena, 23410, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#33 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: €115 - €258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Misiones Hotel & Beach Cabo San Lucas
Misiones Hotel And Beach Resort
Misiones Resort Beach
Misiones Del Cabo
Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort Los Cabos/Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing