We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Donegal hospitality, comfort, great steak and chowder!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaview Tavern

Seaview Tavern
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Malin Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Donegal hospitality, comfort, great steak and chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our family and extended family stayed in the Seaview Tavern for two nights with the hope of seeing the Northern Lights for a 60th birthday surprise. We didn't see the lights but they were soon forgotten about when staying in the hotel was so nice anyway - great hands on hospitality from both Michael and Maura. Particularly when our little toddler was sick - there was no problem bringing my evening meal up to the room when I was minding her (lovely rooms amazing views) and Michael even produced a bar of chocolate for her when she was up and about again. Plenty of local information and history was provided and the beaches and coastline have to be seen for their impressive waves and huge craggy rocks. Definitely a great spot to go and get a big blast of fresh air and relax.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    75
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Our room was very comfortable, bright, spacious and clean. Great power shower! We also had a magnificent view of the Atlantic. The food was superb and reasonably priced.Catch of the day never failed to delight ! Best full Irish i've ever had. The owner pops in around breakfast and gives a lovely easy chat on the local area and things of interest to see. All in all a great experience and would highly recommend staying here. I know we'll be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank horizons_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I love the Chowder here! And of course all the other food but in particular the Chowder!. I come here regularly and love the service and food. The price is excellent too, whether alone or with family and friends its so reasonable and yummy. Recently went else where for a bowl of chowder and was sorely disappointed - won't make that mistake again. It's so worth the drive!! And the scenery is spectactular. Next stop - Malin Head for the Northern Lights and of course - a scrumptious bowl of the best!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A dinner in the very north”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Nice place, lovely people the owner is a lovely man, and I think the waitress is his daughet, a lovely person too.
The food was good, perfect cook, and fair prices.
The only thing we didn't like, we ordered a king prawn dish, and I got 7 very small prawns (they may be king on the future, but at the time I got the dish, they were little princes).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Lovely food. Prices are low to mid range and good quality food. Staff are freindly and helpful and the views would be amazing. (it was dark when I went)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaview Tavern also viewed

Malin Head, County Donegal
Ballyliffin, County Donegal
 
Clonmany, County Donegal
Culdaff, County Donegal
 

Been to Seaview Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing