We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty little cottage for the quintessential...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Springburn Cottage

Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage exterior
Beautifully restored cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Cottage exterior
Beautifully restored cottage
Kitchen
Lounge room
Lounge room
Lounge room
Kitchen
Upstairs Double bedroom one
Upstairs Double bedroom one
Upstairs Double bedroom two
Upstairs Double bedroom two
Lovely furnishings and ornaments throughout
Downstairs bathroom
Games and toy room for children
Games and toy room
Beautiful treasures
Springburn Cottage
Garden area with outdoor furniture
Lovely gardens
Beautiful garden setting
Beautiful treasures
Nearby loch views
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Strachur, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
merrilyn...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pretty little cottage for the quintessential Scottish countryside experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Springburn Cottage is a beautiful little bluestone cottage on the banks of Loch Fyne and close to Argyll Forest. The host Val is a delightful helpful lady who made sure we were comfortable. We were welcomed with wine, chocolates and fresh flowers. The cottage is furnished in Laura Ashley style (albeit a little tired) and has everything you could wish for. Probably not suitable for those with mobility issues as there is only a bath tub and it is a steep climb to the bedrooms. We found we were ideally close to Inverary, the Mull of Kintyre, and other sites in Argyll. A lovely so stay that was peaceful, and restorative.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPnl
Goes, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nothing more to wish for!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Springburn Cottage. Our host Mrs. Neville was so nice and friendly and she gave us so much information about things to do in the surrounding area. The cottage was perfect, everything we needed was there. Unfortunately the wheather made it impossible to enjoy the great garden (and the ropeswing), we would have liked to sit, eat and play outside. Perhaps another time, we hope to stay again in Springburn Cottage in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage. The owner was close by when we needed her, but we did have a lot of privacy as well.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Spread the word. Iain ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MACKIES
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perferct place to drop out and completely relax!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a fantastic Easter Break we had at Springburn Cottage. The setting is beautiful with a lovely pebbled beach across the road from the cottage. The weather was fantastic so it made it all the more enjoyable. The cottage itself is lovely and Val the owner has thought of everything to make you feel right at home. The flowers, wine & chocolate was a lovely touch. The toy room is perfect for children as is the garden. The tree swing deserves a special mention, our son loved it. A place that I would definitely recommend to friends & family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is so good to hear your family enjoyed your stay at Springburn Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Chrissie
Argyll Self Catering Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, great location”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A taste of the highlands within a stones throw of Glasgow. Great roads and tracks for driving, cycling or walking. We drove miles on single track coastal routes without passing a car for miles, just fields full of farm animals and beautiful scenary. There's a lovely hour long drive down to a secluded sandy beach (Kilbride Bay). We wanted to cycle with young children and there were plenty of options, take a trip to Dunoon tourist information and they will give you all the info. Inverary and Dunoon are only 20 miles from the cottage, the George in Inverary served up a great meal with fresh local shellfish, Inver Cottage in Strachur came highly recommended but was unfortunately closed during our stay. The closest place to the cottage is The Creggans Inn but we thought the food was average at best, although the local ale wasn't bad. Springburn Cottage itself is charming, cosy, clean, and furnished throughout with quality goods. It's well stocked with everything you need from a functional point of view, as well as cupboards full of games, maps, toys for kids, books and videos. If you're looking for a base with a real country feel then you can't go wrong with Springburn, I wouldn't hesitate going back. And I must mention the Cottage Owner who was extremely helpful and did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind words and travelling tips. We are happy to hear you enjoyed exploring our beautiful region. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon.
Kind regards
Argyll Self Catering Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chutneyma...
Hawkshead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosy, Comfortable, Quiet and Peaceful”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just back from a short break at Springburn Cottage, it is a lovely little cottage on the edge of Loch Fyne, handy for several great places to eat out, cosy and warm and really pretty. Steep stairs so not suitable for everyone, but everything you need, really well equipped and lovely attention to detail with wine, flowers, fruit and chocolates welcoming us on arrival. Would love to return and stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slight smell of damp, but it was a very wet weekend.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing