We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$212
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
299
146
55
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
146
55
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residents lounge loch fyne dining room loch view room steak pie food was amazing lovely hotel staff were all very friendly first class room was large local produce few drinks beautiful view both nights many places warm welcome porridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

Great location, although right on the roadside it didn’t interfere in any way. The hotel is a bit tired and could do with a spruce up, but apart from being a bit tatty everything worked. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Sadly the dining room with the view over the water was out of action so meals were taken in the pub. The food was fresh, hot (apart from the porridge) and hearty, local beer was ok. I’d stay there again, hopefully after a bit of maintenance.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ymfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed here recently and came away with a bit of a disappointing feeling.

First the room: it was equipped with furniture that was some way past its sell by date. Bedding was old-fashioned and with candlewick bedspreads - didn’t know they were even a thing still. Mattress was knackered – bouncy, and no support. Should’ve been replaced many moons ago – really don’t understand why a £200 per night room hasn’t even got a decent bed and bedding. The room was clean though.

The website pictures of the restaurant, show quite fancy and high-end food. The food we had was perfectly okay but was more standard pub fair I would say. Not restaurant standard.

The bar has restricted seating at the moment due to Covid – fully understandable. What was not understandable, was that the couple of window seats, that had foam cushions to sit on, were absolutely filthy and stained. These have been mentioned in previous TripAdvisor posts as well so, kind of indicates the management just really can’t be bothered. Shame.

There is a residents lounge which resembled a secondhand furniture shop–again all a bit improvised and done on the cheap.

I could’ve got over a lot of these issues had the room rate been something in the £100-120 per night bracket– I’d just be saying to myself, you get what you pay for. But to charge rates that are on a par with most full service 4* hotels, it’s a bit of a liberty.

On the principle of underpromise and overdeliver – this hotel gets it totally the wrong way round!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

Great location, but COVID aside . Room was fine, the communal areas were tired, furniture worn, torn and just not good. Our food( lightly battered fish n chips was very poor, if it wasn’t frozen it did a good impression ! Hugely disappointing stay and sorry not worth the money, location aside .

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 857vaughanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020

A planned stop for lunch late August, grew up in the area and thought my partner would be impressed with the location and view.
Greeted very brusquely by middle aged lady who seemed to be in charge, who chided us for entering without a mask, not a rule in restaurants where we live. Fair enough, but could have done so in a more welcoming manner. We were shown to a tiny table with a window seat, the cushion of which was absolutely filthy.
Thought we'd persevere as we didn't know of anywhere else on our route. Wish we hadn't though. My partner ordered a coronation chicken sandwich, the bread was stale. I had a bacon and brie sandwich, the bacon was pretty much raw and mostly fat anyway. We sent both back uneaten apart from one bite of the coronation. Hoity looks, but no apology or anything. Charged for our drinks in full which we paid and left.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Shuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020

Stayed here for one night while walking the Cowal Way. Perfect in every way, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, despite the Covid19 restrictions, the food was excellent and the views from our bedroom were heavenly - we'll be back!

Room tip: Worth paying the bit extra for the rooms with a view of Loch Fyne
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris_the_Bold99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews