We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoy a spot of lunch”
Review of Hollywood Inn

Hollywood Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: US$8 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in West Wicklow, at the end of the famous Wicklow Gap. Enjoy the majestic scenery & visit the production sites of “Braveheart”, “Michael Collins” & “Excalibur”. Established in 1790, this family-run, traditional Irish pub & restaurant, provides an all-day food service using local produce, fresh fish & delicious homemade cuisine. The Hollywood Inn is renowned for exceptional food & warm hospitality.
Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Really enjoy a spot of lunch here on a trip around Wicklow!
Staff friendly & food was tasty!
Only thing was there was no background music & we found it lacking atmosphere....but we will be back!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Missiemoomoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Thank you for your comments and I have noted your comments with regard to the background music.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2020

Good food, great service & hygiene seems to be top of their agenda which is great in the current climate

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Experience268754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thanks Michael for your feedback.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2020

We have been to the Hollywood inn numerous times as we really enjoy the food there. However, the behaviour of the staff has completely turned us off ever returning. They are so ignorant and the older woman working there is particularly obnoxious. On our last trip there she actually shouted at us that we were sitting at the wrong table. She evidently doesn't want to be there and the 2 men behind the bar could do with a course in customer service also. There is an older gentleman who works there who always goes out of his way to provide the best service. After spending many nights eating in the Hollywood Inn we decided we would not be returning as every night one of us commented how rude/cold/ignorant the staff were. They spoil the experience and leave a bitter taste in your mouth.

Date of visit: August 2020
10  Thank SarahB10869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2020

I acknowledge your feedback and regret that your experience has deterred you from returning to The Hollywood Inn.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Went on a short trip to the other side of Wicklow today. Visited June Blake’s Garden and had lunch in the Hollywood Inn where we have often visited Pre Covid. It was as excellent as ever and we felt so safe there. Such a great effort by owners and staff, respect for their customers’ well being as well as their own .

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank MaryR870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2020

Thanks Mary for your feedback. It is challenging trying to operate our business with the restrictions and guidelines so we are happy to read your positive comments.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

Lovely pub near the Blessington lake.
We had the Sunday Roast (beef featherblade) and it was delicious. Good portion size, melt in the mouth beef and really tasty gravy! The roasties were also lovely!
The staff were really friendly and attentive.
We also shared a strawberry and rhubarb crumble and it was a great way to end our meal.
We would definitely visit this restaurant again when in the area.

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank lucianabittenc0urt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hollywood Inn also viewed

Hollywood, County Wicklow
Ballymore Eustace, County Kildare
 
Blessington, County Wicklow
 

Been to Hollywood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.