We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and excellent service in San Miguel”
Review of Hotel Dos Casas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dos Casas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Dos Casas Review

Dos Casas turned out to be even better than we expected. We stayed in room 6 (Patio) and it has hardwood floors, a fireplace, wood beamed ceiling, in the true style of San Miguel, doors that open to a tiny balcony overlooking the courtyard where breakfast is served, a very comfortable king size bed, small sofa, great closet space, and a huge flat screen tv with DVD player. All of this is nothing compared to the bathroom. Beautiful natural stone floors and beams on the ceiling frame the luxurious space. The wall to the outside shower is simply a frameless sliding glass door with a shower on either side of it. The glass moves so you can have an open-air bath in the Jacuzzi tub or an open air shower, inside or out. There is also an enclosed indoor shower that functions as a steam room, as well. AND… there is a private roofdeck for this room with a hot tub, chase lounges, a table and chairs with an umbrella, and the best view of San Miguel from any hotel in town.

The location is fantastic, in walking distance of everything and just a couple blocks from nightlife and restaurants. The staff is so attentive… always smiling and helpful. They truly want to do whatever possible to ensure your comfort and happiness.

My only complaints are:
1. The lighting in the bathroom isn’t sufficient. Ladies… if you plan to see just how much blush you’re actually applying to your cheeks, you may want to bring your own lighted makeup mirror. You simply can’t tell with the dim lighting they provide!
2. The shower can make quite a mess of water on the bathroom floor, but it didn’t really bother us. Eventually it made it’s way down the drain… just took a while. In the meantime, we laid down a couple of towels so we didn’t slip on it. The way I see it, imperfect plumbing is an acceptable inconvenience in a town that was founded in the 16th century and has managed to preserve that history.
3. The wireless internet service is pretty patchy. We rarely had a strong enough signal in our room to accomplish anything online.

I can honestly highly recommend this beautiful hotel and wouldn’t hesitate for a second to stay there again in the future. And we do plan to return to San Miguel de Allende. Such a culturally rich and yet laid back and relaxing vacation! Go now!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank simplefresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2007

Dos Casas was just about everything we wanted! The staff went overboard to do everything for us. Our room with views overlooked the pretty roofs of the city. Room was simple but comfortable with large windows opening to the courtyard. A big plus was the large bathroom with tile tub...ask for El Jardin room, since not all have tubs.

Location is perfect...just a few blocks into el centro & all parts of town. Breakfast everyday was delightful. We looked at lots of other locations & I think I would definitely go back here before Oasis or some other "more Mexican" inns.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2007

My husband and my two year old son where going to san Miguel de Allende for 2 days and we were looking for an hotel with hospitality,very nice and a great service...so I ended up looking at many hotels that weren`t what we were looking for until Dos Casas came along...I booked hoping it was as nice as the pictures on their web site. We got to SMA and it is the best little hotel there! Roman and Mr. Jesus the manager where so kind, friendly and always trying to make us feel at home. We stayed at this great suite called El Patio and had an outside private jacuzzi and in the bathroom there was a shower on the inside with glass frames surrounding and right next to it, you could open this glass door and had one more shower on the outside which was really cool. Their menu doesn`t have too many choices, but it is so nicely presented and the flavor is good. The chefs Gabriela and Lupita make your food just the way you ask them too. Service is way beyond expectation. I must say it it a pricey hotel, but it`s worth it! We would go back to Dos Casas any time!!!
Mrs.Flores

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hi.claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2006

I just came back from San Miguel , where I am working on a prodject. I has never stayed in a B&B before and didn't know what to expect.
I arrived late Sunday night, to be greeted by Rafeal, the man on staff that evening. He offered me a glass of wine, explained Dos Casas to me ,and asked if there was anything else I needed.
He then took my bags and led the way to my room.
He opened the door, and I was so delighted . I was told thay had just finished redoing this room. It had a Zen feeling to it. There was a fireplace, three showers, one was a steam shower, one was placed in an atriam,and another . The bath also has a wonderful bathtub.
The room had a large flat screen T.V. and a king size bed.
I am going to call them to find out what kind of matress it was because I have never slept so well. I have traveled all over the world staying only in 5 star resorts. I have been to San Miguel many times before. This was truly a wonderful experiance.
In the morning I ordered my coffee to my room. When I was ready for breakfast I went down to a charming dining area and had a choice of many delicious breakfast foods,wonderfuly prepared.
They also just opened a wine bar. I intend to make this exceptional little place my home ,when I need to be back in San Miguel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zorro8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

This place is situated right on the corner where most of the local buses turn to go up the hill, and it seems like there's a bus every minute or two. The exhaust permeates everything.

4  Thank mexicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#14 of 70 in San Miguel de Allende
361 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa de Los Olivos
Casa de Los Olivos
#22 of 70 in San Miguel de Allende
73 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 70 in San Miguel de Allende
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
L'Otel
L'Otel
#18 of 70 in San Miguel de Allende
149 reviews
0.4 km away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 70 in San Miguel de Allende
305 reviews
0.3 km away
Hacienda de Guadalupe Boutique Hotel
Hacienda de Guadalupe Boutique H...
#40 of 70 in San Miguel de Allende
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Casas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Casas

Address: Quebrada No 101, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#8 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: €284 - €515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Dos Casas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dos Casas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Casas Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing