We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The treasure of San Miguel de Allende”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Puesta Del Sol
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The treasure of San Miguel de Allende”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

If I could describe this bed-and-breakfast inn in a single word, I would say: enchanted. I had nurtured many hopeful daydreams before my first visit to Mexico, but my imagination did not prepare me for the beauty of this small hotel on a hilltop overlooking the old town of San Miguel de Allende. The traditional architecture and the surrounding private gardens, pond, verandahs and courtyards are a spark to the spirit. Clearly the owners and staff have an artistic sensibility. Their good taste is reflected in the authentic design of the home ~ and it does feel like a large and welcoming home ~ decorated with original art, sculpture, quality furniture, exquisite tile work and carefully tended gardens. The deep, brilliant colours of Mexico are everywhere here: in the flowers, shade trees and plants, in the visual art, on every wall in the building. Imagine watching a deep, orange sunset -- with margarita in hand -- from a verandah overlooking an exquisite garden and the valley below it. This was a restful place above the crowded streets of the town, a haven of quiet inside a walled tropical green space. I watched hummingbirds in the morning. Our room was large and open with a very comfortable king-sized bed, top quality bed linens and towels, a desk and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was also large with a beautiful tiled shower, all very clean. There were many private 'sitting places' throughout the large building and gardens, and a well-stocked library in one corner. Our friendly and welcoming hosts served us margaritas on the patio in the courtyard in the late afternoon, and a large and delicious breakfast in the morning with fresh ingredients and lots of choice. This hotel would be a good choice for couples who ache for a romantic getaway from a humdrum routine, but families would be comfortable here too. Children would love the pond full of large goldfish and a family of turtles. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Any northerner weary of grey winter skies, bitter winds and snowstorms should come here for a tonic of morning sunlight, sunsets and five-star accommodation. Pure comfort. Peaceful relaxed atmosphere. I will be back as soon as I can manage another visit to Mexico. Muchas gracias to my hosts from a grateful Canadian.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but couples should treat themselves to the romantic honeymoon suite whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmontonWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
91
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was my first time visiting this part of Mexico. San Miguel de Allende is a beautiful town, and our visit there was made even more magical because we stayed overnight at Casa Puesta del Sol, a charming and elegant bed and breakfast overlooking the town. We had two rooms on the main floor, both of which were beautifully decorated, with fine bed linen on comfortable beds, and thick bath towels. Upon our arrival, we sat outside on a lovely terrace by the pond, and Jose Manuel brought us drinks as we enjoyed the lush, well-maintained grounds. We walked into town for dinner, and returned by taxi. As others have mentioned, this is the best way to get back up the hill.

As we were preparing for bed, we heard fireworks outside, and stood on the balcony to watch the show from our high vantage point. We felt like the fireworks were being set off just for us! We found out that this is a relatively common occurrence in San Miguel, as they are often used to celebrate many different kinds of ceremonies and occasions.

A freshly prepared breakfast is served in the beautifully appointed dining room, where one can enjoy a variety of art and crafts that decorate the walls. In fact the whole home is like an art gallery, with original sculptures, paintings and jewelry, some of which is offered for sale.

I met our gracious hostess Gabriela after breakfast, who was charming, warm and welcoming to us. We absolutely plan to return, hopefully for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Casa Puesta del Sol was a wonderful place for my wife and I to base ourselves at the start of our time in San Miguel. High on top of a hill, you can see all of San Miguel below you- and it looks amazing! Our host Gabriela was most kind and helpful. Her helper Manuel was just fine. Our room and breakfast, excelente! No problem at all that this hotel is up on the hill. In fact, it's an advantage- the bells that ring don't sound loud, don't wake you, up there. We just walked into town and took taxis back up the hill ($3).

I had been hoping my wife would want to stay for a month in San Miguel (it was here or Florida!) and thanks to nice experience we had at this B&B, she happily agreed. Gabriela helped by introducing us to a realtor who showed us several places to rent for a month. She also gave us lots of advice on what areas we might like and helped with phone calls, and with notifying us as realtors came by to show us places. Within a day we found a lovely and wonderful house where we have been happily staying for two weeks so far.

We just loved Gabriela and her B&B, and I bet you will too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Casa Puesta del Sol

Our group of four just returned from a week at Casa Puesta del Sol in San Miguel de Allende. Our experience at this beautiful bed & breakfast could not have been better. It is located on a high hill overlooking the town square with a panoramic view of the entire valley. The town was a 15 minute walk downhill on charming cobblestone streets. For the return back to the B&B, we frequently took a taxi up the hill. Taxis were abundant and their cost was reasonable.
The B&B has several levels: the lower level has fish ponds with fountains and benches to watch the fish and turtles swim about. The middle level has the bedrooms, living room, and dining area for guests. The upper level is where the host and owners, Dan and Gabriela Scher, live. There is also a lovely balcony to sit and relax, have cocktails and watch the sun set over San Miguel.
Our accommodations were very comfortable complete with plush linens and towels. The fresh vase of flowers in each room was a lovely touch. Everything was kept very clean with daily maid service. There is even a pitcher of purified water for guests.
There were abundant choices for each day’s full, made-to-order breakfast. Even after one week, we were not tired of the variety of breakfast options. One day, one member of our group received an item not on the menu, just for the asking.
Dan was away during the week we were there, but co-owner, Gabriela could not have been more personable, helpful, accommodating and generous, frequently asking what else she could do to please us. She was a great resource for whatever we wanted to see or do in San Miguel. She truly embodied “mi casa es su casa.”
It would be hard to find another B&B of this caliber at such a reasonable price. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InlawstravelTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with the property, the view, the staff and the hosts. First of all, we had the place to ourselves and the property was in tip top shape. Mucho gusto. The hosts picked up on our love of local food and took us to a couple of local treats....note that they didn't just point us to them, they took us with them. Lamb barbacoa. 'Nuf said. They also arranged our return to the airport which saved us hours and many pesos. Beautiful short run a los Jardines. The walk uphill from the square to the casa may sway some but for us it was a bonus. Taxi option is about $3. No doubt we'll be back.

Room Tip: Stunning view from all spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanS33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
1.0 km away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
243 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
555 reviews
0.8 km away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
145 reviews
0.7 km away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#30 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
65 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Puesta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Puesta Del Sol

Property: Casa Puesta Del Sol
Address: Calle Fuentes # 12 | Col Arcos de San Miguel, San Miguel de Allende 37740, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Puesta Del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Puesta del Sol, an intimate San Miguel de Allende B&B experience. This unique hideaway, nestled on a hillside overlooking Mexico's colonial jewel, San Miguel, offers all the modern amenities with old world charm. Whether you're watching a spectacular sunset over coctails on the Sunset Terrace or relaxing and reading in the luscious gardens, you'll find it hard to leave the hospitality and romance of Casa Puesta del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Puesta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing