We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
133
71
30
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
71
30
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan miguelhot waterquiet streetsmacharm
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights, staff was friendly and accommodating. The first room I got had a full glass front door (all the rooms have fully glass doors!!) and the curtains did not block out everything, but they gave me another room that was satisfactory when I complained.

Hot water was plenty and the pressure was great - I am *very* picky about my showers and no issues here.. everything worked as expected.

Note that this place does not have a restaurant but there are plenty of inexpensive options nearby so it's not a big deal. The fact that it is on a quiet street away from any noise is a plus.

For some amazing food try El Manantial - it's a nondescript place, could almost miss it, very close and has some killer tacos and amazing Tamarindo Margaritas!!

Room Tip: Check curtains
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jam236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

thank you for visiting casa quetzal we are so glad you had a great time! we hope to see you soon back in the hotel!

best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Our room was away from the street on a quest, tree shaded exterior walkway on premises. The outdoor and indoor spaces were "romantic" in detail. The bed was comfortable, hot water available, and overall clean.

Room Tip: Stay away from street.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peppernc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Gerente at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

we are very glad you had a great time at he hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us!

best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

This is really a very nice historic building with very individual rooms. Unfortunately we did not know that you do not get a breakfast or even a coffee or tea there, which is rather ununsual for a "hotel". I did not expect a lot, but at least a Coffee machine would have been something. There is free parking, but you will have to walk 10 blocks to the parking lot. A little Spanish is helpful, because they do not talk a lot of English. Our room was large, a little dark. Huge historic bathroom with low water pressure. TV didn't work (which we didn't mind). WIFI available, but you have to ask for it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rainbow-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Gerente at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear guest thank you for choosing casa quetzal! we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
We would like to clarify that casa quetzal DOES provide free breakfast when you book directly with the hotel and the are few of the hotels in san miguel that offer free and secure parking service and we have valet parking service 24/7 so you don't have to walk to the parking lot!

best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We spent five nights in a Deluxe Suite at the very back of the property. We normally stay in Airbnbs, but this place ended up being more affordable than many around SMA. The room was comfortable and charming, if a little shabby in minor ways (broken lamp, stained throw pillow). The water was hot and water pressure was great, the bed was comfy, and the courtyard area outside was beautiful. The room was cool enough in April with the window open and fan on. Wifi did not work for us, but I'm sure it depends on the room. The location--a quick stroll away from the Jardín--is hard to beat.

I think the appeal of this place depends on what kind of service you're looking for. We are the type that like to arrive at a hotel, throw our bags down, and venture out to explore. Check-in took about 30 seconds and we barely talked to the staff, though someone was always at the desk anytime we had a question. I liked that they were unintrusive, but I can see how the laissez-faith attitude could be frustrating for other travelers. Stay here if you're looking for a well-located and affordable home base.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank eshook37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

When we arrived at the hotel we were initially very happy with out room. We had booked a Jr. Suite so that we could enjoy a larger room and a tub. The room was divided over three floors and there was indeed a tub, but unfortunately no hot water. It took a few hours to sort that out. Following that issue we found that the internet was very spotty, some of the towels were tattered and our coffee making area had been rearranged but not cleaned after our first night. Also the some of the staff seemed unhappy and indifferent to guests. With so many other options in San Miguel de Allende, I suggest you can find better accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Venturists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

dear guest we are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the hot water unfortunelty internet service in mexico can be a problem and it does not depend on us but on external companies.
we hope we can make up for the mistakes in your next visit.


best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews