We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
15
31
28
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
31
28
11
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Arriving at this hotel you have the feeling of arriving at a quant hacienda or stately home.... it’s a simple or basic hotel with beautiful grounds.

The rooms, the important bit, are very basic and very rundown as though they were lost in time and never got any kind of update.

The twin room we booked had drab bed covers that looked as though they had been washed a hundred times and the headboard was way too small for the double beds that had been pushed together. The pillows again were old and uncomfortable but everything was clean.

There was a finial in the wall that I think may have been a curtain tie at some point and when I touch it, it fell off the wall; so I carefully put it back!

It did have a flatscreen TV but only one bottle of water (for 3) no hairdryer, only towels for 2. The shower water pressure was very good! In fact I’d say excellent for a good hair wash especially seeing as I hav long hair but there wasn’t very hot water. Thankfully I don’t have very hot showers so it was fine for me but my husband does like a nice hot shower.

What wasn’t nice was the doors to the rooms...... a metal storage room like design. I’m sure they were fine in the 70’s, at the night of the hotels prime but today they look like cheap basic doors.

It’s a shame as the hotel (used to be an equestrian school) does have very nice grounds, a basic pool that is freezing and a jacuzzi which has a decent temperature for a dip...... it needs a major cash injection to have repeat customers.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MPHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

We are sorry the Hotel didn't met your expectations. We are working on this issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Rancho Hotel El Atascadero is a beautiful property. It's not too far of a walk to town, the staff are great, as well as the restaurant/bar. They do a great job of maintaining the property, and it is clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riglauben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We are so happy you liked the Atascadero experience.
Looking forward to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and filled with cozy places. Bedrooms have chimney and beds are firm (some people my think beds are hard as rocks). The restaurants inside this place are absurdly expensive, a bottle of wine is almost 25% over its regular price and food ain't good ... So far this place is good to sleep in but San Miguel de Allende have better places to eat and drink.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Covarrubias-Gomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Guest Relations Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

We are happy you spend some time at the Atascadero.
We will check the detailes you disagree with.

Warm regards

Rancho Hotel el Atascadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Included breakfast is a Continental breakfast and requires a coupon. We checked in late and did not get one for our first breakfast. Rooms are large and have a nice veranda/balcony. The beds are FIRM. There is no A/C, but that really was not a problem in late June. There is no refrigerator in the room. Shower worked fine with plenty of hot water. It is a cab ride to town, but at 50-60 pesos, it was affordable.

Room Tip: Rooms 29 and 30 were very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geezer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Guest Relations Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Atascadero.
Thank tou for your kind words.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Abrazos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This is a charming old hotel with beautiful gardens and a nice pool and jacuzzi, but the rooms need to be updated, specially the bathrooms. As well as some of the furnishings. Most of the staff was very courteous and went out of their way to help, except the people at the front desk. Specially when we checked in. We asked for different rooms, and we were willing to pay extra. We got the rooms in the bottom garden with windows to the main road with the afternoon sun blasting on them. This person will not accommodate us, told us the hotel was full. But we never saw the hotel full, for the first two mornings there were three tables for breakfast, on the third morning a big group of around 60 people arrived, but the hotel has more than 50 rooms, so....
Be aware that it is a good 10-15 minute walk down to the center of town in cobblestone streets, and the return walk is a steep climb. Luckily taxis are very easy and cheap in San MIguel.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the rooms at the bottom of the garden. Request in the upper part.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Redleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews