We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
15
31
28
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
31
28
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hacienda style beautiful property san miguel hill taxi town
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Rancho Hotel El Atascadero is a beautiful property. It's not too far of a walk to town, the staff are great, as well as the restaurant/bar. They do a great job of maintaining the property, and it is clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riglauben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Public Relations Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We are so happy you liked the Atascadero experience.
Looking forward to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and filled with cozy places. Bedrooms have chimney and beds are firm (some people my think beds are hard as rocks). The restaurants inside this place are absurdly expensive, a bottle of wine is almost 25% over its regular price and food ain't good ... So far this place is good to sleep in but San Miguel de Allende have better places to eat and drink.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Covarrubias-Gomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Guest Relations Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

We are happy you spend some time at the Atascadero.
We will check the detailes you disagree with.

Warm regards

Rancho Hotel el Atascadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Included breakfast is a Continental breakfast and requires a coupon. We checked in late and did not get one for our first breakfast. Rooms are large and have a nice veranda/balcony. The beds are FIRM. There is no A/C, but that really was not a problem in late June. There is no refrigerator in the room. Shower worked fine with plenty of hot water. It is a cab ride to town, but at 50-60 pesos, it was affordable.

Room tip: Rooms 29 and 30 were very nice.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geezer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Guest Relations Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Atascadero.
Thank tou for your kind words.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Abrazos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This is a charming old hotel with beautiful gardens and a nice pool and jacuzzi, but the rooms need to be updated, specially the bathrooms. As well as some of the furnishings. Most of the staff was very courteous and went out of their way to help, except the people at the front desk. Specially when we checked in. We asked for different rooms, and we were willing to pay extra. We got the rooms in the bottom garden with windows to the main road with the afternoon sun blasting on them. This person will not accommodate us, told us the hotel was full. But we never saw the hotel full, for the first two mornings there were three tables for breakfast, on the third morning a big group of around 60 people arrived, but the hotel has more than 50 rooms, so....
Be aware that it is a good 10-15 minute walk down to the center of town in cobblestone streets, and the return walk is a steep climb. Luckily taxis are very easy and cheap in San MIguel.

Room tip: Make sure you do not get the rooms at the bottom of the garden. Request in the upper part.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Redleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

This is a pretty spot up on the hill in San Miguel. The gardens and pool provide a nice getaway from the busy centro. Rooms were spacious, clean and basic. We had a small balcony with a nice view. The staff was friendly and very helpful and entirely Spanish speaking. Some of the things promised in the guide book and website were absent, however. The tennis court is in disrepair and the hot tub was dirty. There is not the promised shuttle into town so you need to rely on taxis to avoid walking up the steep hill to the hotel (it is by no means an 8 minute walk as another review suggested). They were clearly cutting back during the week when there weren't many other guests. Staffing was quite minimal - we had to search and search for someone to serve us a drink and the breakfast cook was also our waiter. After a while we gave up on the bar and restaurant. They never turned on the lights in the darkened restaurant/bar (including while we were dining and at night). Things picked up on the weekend when the hotel was fuller. It was a fine place to stay if it fits your needs but I wouldn't rush back. Go on the weekend when they're at full service.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mcbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

We thank your stay with us. We are sorry about the incovinience you had.
We are trying hard to be better everyday.
We hope to be wath you expect next time you visit.
With warm regards.
Rancho Hotel el Atascadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews