We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
32
33
20
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
33
20
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious room stay there again plaza cathedral colonial centro terrace
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday, the location was exceptional! However, we had the bad luck that they were remodeling the room next to ours, and the smell and noise were horrible. The staff was nice enough to move us to another room which was much better and at the end we enjoyed our stay. We would stay there again, however make sure they’re not doing any remodeling.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank goseminoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We had 2 sleepless night . Wanted to change the hotel , but they said no refund and no hotels were available nearby ..To start with this hotel is on the first floor with no help with your baggage. My mother suffers from knee injury so climbing up and down the stairway was very painful , Although we had called and informed the hotel in advance , they did not mention anything and they don’t care. The staff do not understand basic English or pretend not to, when we tried to explain the difficulties.
On arrival had no room option on the first floor, we were provided with a single bed for 2 adults , although we had asked for Twin/double. They said it was not available, however there was a room on the opposite side with twin bed reserved for US guests.
Our room was small, no windows and stuffy, so had to leave our main door open to have some ventilation combine with the noise of course. The shower had a missing door/curtain, so we had a small pool up to the bed and the staff used the towel to clean it …And yes -this towel are reused by guests after wash of course!!!..No hot water, so be prepared to dance in the shower . Tea or coffee will be served in the morning at the reception , but are you are from US otherwise sorry

Room Tip: check the room before you pay
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

I hate giving a poor review, but i want to warn potential guests to stay away from room 108!! I don't know what the other rooms were like, but we should have asked for our money back on this room except that most places in town were filled and we couldn't move.
Too many complaints, but the short list...No window! Tiny room, about the size of the double bed in it, it was dark, dusty and stuffy. Couldn't count on hot water. It either wouldn't be hot or started barely warm and went to cold, part of the shower door had been removed so water went all over the floor. The bathroom sink had a good sized leak, leaving puddles on the floor. The cover on the bed had stains and also stained blanket. Wi fi was stop and go or not at all.

We paid over $100 a night for two of the nights (the price varied each night) We told the front desk about some of the issues but nothing was resolved. We felt taken advantage of. It is nothing like rooms look or sound on the internet for this hotel. This room shouldn't be rented out until issues get addressed. We understand the age of the building and the issue with the stairs is not changeable, but cleanliness, non leaking fixtures, hot water, and good wifi are standard items you expect in a room you are paying much more than hostel rates for. Loved San Miguel, and the location was nice, but lots of noise at night, both inside and outside the hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LinnaeaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Very good cost/Benefit. Employees are nice and do their best to make guests have all demands attempted quickly. Rooms are comfortable (fast WiFi and nice bed). As our room was internal, no noises even if the location of the hotel is in the main square. The only problem is that this hotel has no lift and many stairs.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Fernanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I states here for a week sun holiday.the hotel is exceptionally clean but the decor is cold. Hotel facilities are great and staff are warm and helpful.
The location of the hotel is less than 10 mind from airport and 10 mind walk to the centre of town/city. So you hear the aeroplanes on occasion but it didn't wake us.
All in all good value, pleasantly stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank liccletrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Manager at Hotel del Portal San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

we are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews