We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply an Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Manse Chatton
Ranked #1 of 4 Chatton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My Wife and I stayed here as a bit of a treat following our honeymoon. This place is pure relaxation. We stayed in the four poster room, that had everything we needed. Laura forgot her toothbrush and the owner (Christine) has a basket in the room with a brand new toothbrush in it. The room was very fresh and clean, with a beautiful view over fields. The gardens were well attended to, and the house was a very clean.
Breakfast was excellent, the Orange Juice rocked!, and the full English set us up well before we headed out to explore Bamburgh and the coast.
Christine looked after us well, and this is somewhere we would visit again - it perfectly rounded off our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK-1234-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for The Old Manse Chatton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

We spent a long weekend touring Northumberland and this place was the perfect base. Lovely, comfortable rooms, a great welcome and an excellent breakfast. Perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevTom1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We found this place completely by accident in the year of the 'foot and mouth' we got a last minute booking due to a cancellation. So we had not visited for a few years. We found the accommodation every bit as good as we remembered and Christine and Tony are perfect hosts. We had a wonderful break. We felt so well looked after and priviledged to share in Christine and Tony's beautiful home. The bedrooms are beautiful and wonderfully clean and comfortable. Christine has thought of everything to make your stay an outstanding experience. The breakfasts are wondeful and hot food freshly prepared to your liking. Chatton is in the heart of Northumberland and your stay can be as hectic or as peaceful as you desire. The Old Manse is best placed for the tourist attractions of the East Coast with it's wonderful clean and golden sands, or you can make the most of the peace and quiet and enjoy long country walks, or even bike rides on next to traffic free roads. We found our three night stay a real tonic and look forward to a return visit as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Win_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Quite simply the best B&B anyone could ever want. Christine and Tony are the hosts with the mosts and made our stay a superb experience. Positioned in a superb slot, anyone wanting a break away from it all could ask for no more.
We will go back as soon as possible and would recommend it to anyone wanting a superb location, wonderful breakfast and a room to die for with those little extras no normal B&B would think of.
Please go, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This is one of the most pleasant and comfortable B+Bs I have stayed in - and I am VERY fussy! We had a lovely warm welcome from Christine and a nice refreshing cup of tea and some cake on our arrival. The Ground Floor area actually comprises two rooms – a small lounge with two comfy chairs, a TV, DVD player, CD player, fireplace, fridge and plenty of magazines to read – lovely and warm and comfortable. There are also tea and coffee facilities, and Christine keeps the biscuit jar topped up on a daily basis! And of course the fridge means you can chill a bottle of wine or two if you want to.

The bedroom in the lower flat is nice and spacious and has a HUGE bed – just brilliant. The en-suite bathroom has a bath and a walk-in shower, and there are plenty of little extras to make the place feel like home.

Breakfast is served in the big spacious conservatory to a rousing chorus from a gaggle of local song birds. They provide a wonderful spectacle as they arrive for their breakfast on the many food boxes that hang in the garden – we saw a whole range of different birds, which was really interesting. I could have sat and watched them all day. There is even a bird box with a camera in it connected to a TV in the conservatory, so if you’re lucky you’ll see live chicks!

Breakfast itself is really good – all sorts of options, and nice big portions! Christine and Tony are really friendly, and it felt like coming home every evening – I was very sorry to leave at the end of a fabulous few days in Northumberland. Location-wise, Chatton is a great place to base yourself – you are close to Alnwick, Bamburgh, Wooler and the Cheviots, but far enough away to be in some really peaceful and quiet countryside. Superb. There are loads of great places to eat – check out the great Italian restaurant in Wooler, but make sure you reserve your table!

Thanks Christine and Tony for a great stay! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MightBeABitLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatton
18.3 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
13.5 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,264 reviews
10.7 km away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
389 reviews
1.1 km away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
164 reviews
0.2 km away
Percy Arms Hotel
Percy Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chatton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Chatton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Chatton

Address: The Old Manse New Road, Chatton NE66 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chatton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chatton
Price Range: €85 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Manse Chatton 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded B&B of the Year in the Northumberland Tourism Awards 2017, The Old Manse is a fine five star quality Bed and Breakfast. Three en-suite rooms, including a ground floor suite which is suitable for guests with reduced mobility, with TVs, fridges and many complimentary extras in all rooms. Country house traditionally styled, luxuriously appointed with fabulous home cooked food (home made sausages, floddies & even own recipe baked beans - proud to have a Produced in Northumberland accreditation) with an air of peace and tranquility. Centrally located for Northumberland's beaches, hills and castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Manse Chatton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing