We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Manse Chatton
Nearby Hotels
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$543
US$190
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$139
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
187
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedon arrivalb and bperfect hostsother guestssausagefull englishlarge bedroombeansamazing breakfastpot of teacakebreakfast tablefridge with fresh milkwonderful homehome madecomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We spent a long weekend touring Northumberland and this place was the perfect base. Lovely, comfortable rooms, a great welcome and an excellent breakfast. Perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevTom1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We found this place completely by accident in the year of the 'foot and mouth' we got a last minute booking due to a cancellation. So we had not visited for a few years. We found the accommodation every bit as good as we remembered and Christine and Tony are perfect hosts. We had a wonderful break. We felt so well looked after and priviledged to share in Christine and Tony's beautiful home. The bedrooms are beautiful and wonderfully clean and comfortable. Christine has thought of everything to make your stay an outstanding experience. The breakfasts are wondeful and hot food freshly prepared to your liking. Chatton is in the heart of Northumberland and your stay can be as hectic or as peaceful as you desire. The Old Manse is best placed for the tourist attractions of the East Coast with it's wonderful clean and golden sands, or you can make the most of the peace and quiet and enjoy long country walks, or even bike rides on next to traffic free roads. We found our three night stay a real tonic and look forward to a return visit as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Win_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Quite simply the best B&B anyone could ever want. Christine and Tony are the hosts with the mosts and made our stay a superb experience. Positioned in a superb slot, anyone wanting a break away from it all could ask for no more.
We will go back as soon as possible and would recommend it to anyone wanting a superb location, wonderful breakfast and a room to die for with those little extras no normal B&B would think of.
Please go, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This is one of the most pleasant and comfortable B+Bs I have stayed in - and I am VERY fussy! We had a lovely warm welcome from Christine and a nice refreshing cup of tea and some cake on our arrival. The Ground Floor area actually comprises two rooms – a small lounge with two comfy chairs, a TV, DVD player, CD player, fireplace, fridge and plenty of magazines to read – lovely and warm and comfortable. There are also tea and coffee facilities, and Christine keeps the biscuit jar topped up on a daily basis! And of course the fridge means you can chill a bottle of wine or two if you want to.

The bedroom in the lower flat is nice and spacious and has a HUGE bed – just brilliant. The en-suite bathroom has a bath and a walk-in shower, and there are plenty of little extras to make the place feel like home.

Breakfast is served in the big spacious conservatory to a rousing chorus from a gaggle of local song birds. They provide a wonderful spectacle as they arrive for their breakfast on the many food boxes that hang in the garden – we saw a whole range of different birds, which was really interesting. I could have sat and watched them all day. There is even a bird box with a camera in it connected to a TV in the conservatory, so if you’re lucky you’ll see live chicks!

Breakfast itself is really good – all sorts of options, and nice big portions! Christine and Tony are really friendly, and it felt like coming home every evening – I was very sorry to leave at the end of a fabulous few days in Northumberland. Location-wise, Chatton is a great place to base yourself – you are close to Alnwick, Bamburgh, Wooler and the Cheviots, but far enough away to be in some really peaceful and quiet countryside. Superb. There are loads of great places to eat – check out the great Italian restaurant in Wooler, but make sure you reserve your table!

Thanks Christine and Tony for a great stay! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MightBeABitLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Beautiful old house. Family home as well as b&b. Lovely view rom our bedroom window. Comfortable bed. Several types of perfume in the room or you to try . Moulton Brown toiletries .Fridge in room. Wineglasses supplied. Cake in room when you come in in the evening, No moble phone service.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zilWestYoykshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OllysmumAlnwick, Owner at The Old Manse Chatton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2009

Must clarify that we do not offer Moulton Brown toiletries as reported in this review. Our range is Crabtree and Evelyn and L'Occitane, depending on room selected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews