We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
193
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedon arrivalperfect hostsb and bother guestssausagecakecomfortable bedlarge bedroombeansamazing breakfastbreakfast tablelovely couplewonderful homehome madelovely housepot of tea
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Fabulous 5 star B&B - nothing is too much trouble for the owners. We keep going back as we love the place. The rooms are luxurious and peaceful - we always feel so relaxed after our break. The breakfasts are a delight....so much choice. We highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildthing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We have just enjoyed a 2-night stay at The Old Manse and it most certainly won't be our last; it is quite possibly the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Christine is the perfect hostess, ably assisted by Tony, and keeps everything immaculate. We were warmly welcomed with a genuine smile and interest in ourselves, a cafetiere of real coffee and some wonderful cake. The room was everything you could hope for, with a myriad of finishing touches that made it feel really very special. If you forget anything, then don't worry because there is probably a substitute near at hand. Breakfast was superb with more than enough to keep even the heartiest eater going until dinner time. The location is perfect for touring this area and is easily accessed from the A1. We cannot recommend The Old Manse highly enough; you will feel completely and utterly at home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Had a delightful week. Wonderful setting. Warm welcome. Delicious cooked breakfasts.

Perfection.

What more can I say ? - Christine was a brilliant hostess and the Old Manse the perfect refuge at the end of long golden days tramping through the Cheviots and along wild Northumberland beaches.

So much to see and do. I loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zephya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Spent 4 wonderfully relaxing nights at The Old Manse, a beautiful guest house in a lovely little village. Christine and Tony are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the breakfast is the best (and biggest) we have had. The rooms can only be described as luxurious and spotlessly clean, everything you could possibly want and need has been thought of.
Chatton is perfectly situated to explore both the Nothumberland coast and the National Park.
We will definitely be booking next year!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lulusmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

I'd read so much about how wonderful this establishment is. And it's reputation is well deserved. The only potential downside is sharing a table with other guests at breakfast as my husband doesn't suffer those he regards as fools gladly or, indeed, at all and at breakfast, "fools" can constitute 100% of humanity so this could have been a bit of a recipe for disaster but we managed to rise above this potential minefield.

Otherwise, just fantastic - relaxing and welcoming - nothing too much trouble and a great bonus is The Percy Arms where dinner can be taken is about 100 yards away. It's not quite Gordon Ramsay but so what, the food is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue-lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews