We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect - a home from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Manse Chatton
Ranked #1 of 4 Chatton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We have just enjoyed a 2-night stay at The Old Manse and it most certainly won't be our last; it is quite possibly the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Christine is the perfect hostess, ably assisted by Tony, and keeps everything immaculate. We were warmly welcomed with a genuine smile and interest in ourselves, a cafetiere of real coffee and some wonderful cake. The room was everything you could hope for, with a myriad of finishing touches that made it feel really very special. If you forget anything, then don't worry because there is probably a substitute near at hand. Breakfast was superb with more than enough to keep even the heartiest eater going until dinner time. The location is perfect for touring this area and is easily accessed from the A1. We cannot recommend The Old Manse highly enough; you will feel completely and utterly at home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2007

Had a delightful week. Wonderful setting. Warm welcome. Delicious cooked breakfasts.

Perfection.

What more can I say ? - Christine was a brilliant hostess and the Old Manse the perfect refuge at the end of long golden days tramping through the Cheviots and along wild Northumberland beaches.

So much to see and do. I loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zephya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Spent 4 wonderfully relaxing nights at The Old Manse, a beautiful guest house in a lovely little village. Christine and Tony are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the breakfast is the best (and biggest) we have had. The rooms can only be described as luxurious and spotlessly clean, everything you could possibly want and need has been thought of.
Chatton is perfectly situated to explore both the Nothumberland coast and the National Park.
We will definitely be booking next year!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lulusmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

I'd read so much about how wonderful this establishment is. And it's reputation is well deserved. The only potential downside is sharing a table with other guests at breakfast as my husband doesn't suffer those he regards as fools gladly or, indeed, at all and at breakfast, "fools" can constitute 100% of humanity so this could have been a bit of a recipe for disaster but we managed to rise above this potential minefield.

Otherwise, just fantastic - relaxing and welcoming - nothing too much trouble and a great bonus is The Percy Arms where dinner can be taken is about 100 yards away. It's not quite Gordon Ramsay but so what, the food is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue-lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

The Old Manse certainly lives up to the previous reviews here. Whilst in the past it only had 2 rooms there are now 3 as a family members bedroom has been turned into another guest room. We stayed in the Rosedale Suite upstairs for 5 nights and everything was as one wished it to be. Plenty of hot water, toiletries, comfortable bed, space to hang up clothes and a welcoming cake on our return in the evening. The only minor criticism was having to think about the Saniflow system together with the warning notice that accompanied it. Breakfast choice was superb and set you up for the rest of the day and Christine was very helpful on things to see, places to go, places to eat and perhaps most important of all sound advice about crossing the causeway to Holy Island.
Don't bother too much with the pub up the road - it's handy enough for a drink but can get very smoky and there are far better places to eat not too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaltR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Manse Chatton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Chatton

Address: The Old Manse New Road, Chatton NE66 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chatton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chatton
Price Range: €84 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Manse Chatton 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded B&B of the Year in the Northumberland Tourism Awards 2017, The Old Manse is a fine Five Star Gold quality Bed and Breakfast. Three en-suite rooms, including a ground floor suite which is suitable for guests with reduced mobility, with TVs, fridges and many complimentary extras in all rooms. Country house traditionally styled, luxuriously appointed with fabulous home cooked food (home made sausages, floddies & even own recipe baked beans - proud to have a Produced in Northumberland accreditation) with an air of peace and tranquility. Centrally located for Northumberland's beaches, hills and castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Manse Chatton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing