We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$95
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$216
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$146
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
191
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedon arrivalperfect hostsb and bother guestssausagecakecomfortable bedlarge bedroombeansamazing breakfastbreakfast tablelovely couplewonderful homehome madelovely housepot of tea
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Had a delightful week. Wonderful setting. Warm welcome. Delicious cooked breakfasts.

Perfection.

What more can I say ? - Christine was a brilliant hostess and the Old Manse the perfect refuge at the end of long golden days tramping through the Cheviots and along wild Northumberland beaches.

So much to see and do. I loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zephya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Spent 4 wonderfully relaxing nights at The Old Manse, a beautiful guest house in a lovely little village. Christine and Tony are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the breakfast is the best (and biggest) we have had. The rooms can only be described as luxurious and spotlessly clean, everything you could possibly want and need has been thought of.
Chatton is perfectly situated to explore both the Nothumberland coast and the National Park.
We will definitely be booking next year!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lulusmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

I'd read so much about how wonderful this establishment is. And it's reputation is well deserved. The only potential downside is sharing a table with other guests at breakfast as my husband doesn't suffer those he regards as fools gladly or, indeed, at all and at breakfast, "fools" can constitute 100% of humanity so this could have been a bit of a recipe for disaster but we managed to rise above this potential minefield.

Otherwise, just fantastic - relaxing and welcoming - nothing too much trouble and a great bonus is The Percy Arms where dinner can be taken is about 100 yards away. It's not quite Gordon Ramsay but so what, the food is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue-lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

The Old Manse certainly lives up to the previous reviews here. Whilst in the past it only had 2 rooms there are now 3 as a family members bedroom has been turned into another guest room. We stayed in the Rosedale Suite upstairs for 5 nights and everything was as one wished it to be. Plenty of hot water, toiletries, comfortable bed, space to hang up clothes and a welcoming cake on our return in the evening. The only minor criticism was having to think about the Saniflow system together with the warning notice that accompanied it. Breakfast choice was superb and set you up for the rest of the day and Christine was very helpful on things to see, places to go, places to eat and perhaps most important of all sound advice about crossing the causeway to Holy Island.
Don't bother too much with the pub up the road - it's handy enough for a drink but can get very smoky and there are far better places to eat not too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaltR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Southampton
13
Reviewed 6 April 2006

We have just returned from a short 3 night break in Northumberland. The Old Manse lives up to its five diamond rating - spotlessly clean, nothing is too much trouble, and everything you need is there waiting for you. We stayed in the ground floor suite which was really comfortable, with a separate cosy sitting area and direct access to the garden.

Chatton is an excellent location for exploring the National Park and the coast - Lindisfarne and Bamburgh.

Highly recommended - but don't take up all the bookings - we want to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews